Sleeping beauty…??

Well hello there friends!!

I must say that Day 1 of 2010 has been wonderful!  I hope the same for all of you too 🙂

For lunch I threw together what turned out to be a most delicious Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chili

Chilis are such a “throw together” type of dish, I love that you can pretty much use whatever you have on hand to make a most wonderful meal!

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can green chilis
  • frozen corn (last minute addition)
  • 1/2 bottle salsa (TJs pineapple salsa)
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 1.5 cups water
  • chili powder, cinnamon, salt and pepper to taste
  • avocado slices to serve

  

I sauteed up the onion in the EVOO for a few minutes, adding a lil’ S&P.

Peeled & sliced up the tater and added it to the pot, letting it continue to cook (covered) over medium for a few minutes.

 

Then pretty much dumped the rest of the ingredients into the pot, covering it and turning down to a simmer, stirring occasionally (about 45 minutes I think did the trick?)

 

After I couldn’t wait any longer it was time to serve up with some perfectly ripe avocado (one of my FAVORITE things!)

 

Mmmm mmmmm!  The Man woke up (at 12:30pm hahaha) stating that the house smelled “great!”  I was not sure if he was referencing the 15 cinnamon candles I had burning 😉 or the simmering pot o’ chili…

Chili it was!  He even had a bowl upon rolling out of bed 🙂   Declared deelish – wish lil’ sis was in working order (love u sis! ) and could make it over for some… seriously right up her foodie alley!

After lunch I ran errands with The Man to get essentials for the cruise… love buying sunscreen in January whoop whoop!  Also got McDonald’s ice cream for the umpteenth time this month haha, can’t help myselfffffffffffff

Then it was workout time…. I ended up doing one of the best workouts I have done yet on ExerciseTV.   New Year, New You 6 Round Slim Down!!  It required me to do 299 lunges and the such with the medicine ball until my arms and legs were jello  use my new medicine ball so I was pumped (thanks lil’ sis, this thing is awesome, love how it’s squishy?!)

Gonna feel that one tomorrow 😛

Tonight we have a steak fajita bowl dinner planned… so I guess it’s time to go wake up Sleeping Beauty (can you believe this haha?!?!) to assist with some kitchen clean up and dinner prep.  I am sure he will be thrilled 😉

We’re taking it easy otherwise and I’m hoping to get a good night’s sleep after slacking in that department last night (thanks for the 7am barking Lucy haha)

Lot’s to do tomorrow!  And of course I’ll be back with some dinner pics too, mmmm fah-gee-tas!!

Have a wonderful first night of the NEW YEAR friends!

4 responses to “Sleeping beauty…??

  1. #1 most favorite thing about this post: fa GEE tas! Bahahahahahahaha. I died.

    If it makes you feel better about your sleeping beauty- I didn’t get out of bed until 2:30 pm. Wow. Happy new yearrrrrr!!!!

  2. sweet potatos and black beans, eh? sounds like an unlikely pair but I trust your culinary tastes, obvi 😉

    fajitaaaas. nom nom nom!

  3. hahahah yes i wish i had been in working order today for sure. trust me 😉 that soup looks gooodd!!! too bad im stuffed from massive quantities of chips to settle my not so happy stomach 🙂

    new years was def not the same without you, but im glad you had a good time and we got to chat once the ball dropped 🙂 love you tonz can not wait until sunday!!!

  4. Pingback: Packing fiesta! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

