Packing fiesta!

Hey hey, stoppin’ to check in with all you wonderful peeps this fine Saturday afternoon! 🙂

We have been busy busy busy getting ready for our departure tomorrow!  So needless to say it’s been quite the productive day….

I got things started off right with some coconut oats – gettin’ my tropical taste buds ready for Mexico 😉

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • splash of milk
  • 1 tblsp shredded coconut
  • squirt of pancake syrup
  • few chia seeds
  • white chocolate pb topper

Served mug style, bc that’s how I rolllllllllll!  So good.

After 908 loads of laundry and other miscellaneous tasks around the house I got a quick lunch together before we headed out to run some more errands. 

Leftover sweet potato and black bean chili mmmm!!  Served with a bit of Goya rice and avocado on top, perfecto 🙂

I also had a minor temper tantrum  politely requested that we swing by the ol’ Mickey D’s for none other than my fave ice cream cone ever… ice cream machine BROKEN.  Major fail McDonald’s.  This makes twice this week (not that I would know…)

Now we are home and packing like crazy… which for me means removing items from my “too pack” piles all over the bed in hopes that my suitcase will (1) zip shut and (2) not weigh over 50lbs.  Good luck Steph.

The Man’s parents are headed over for a bit tonight to hang out and I think we’ll order some pizza or something fun like that!  Plus we need to get them set up since they will be watching Lucy and the house while we are gone 🙂 

So since I will most likely not be back around later for a dinner post, how about I leave you guys with the Mexican Fiesta Bowls from last night – which were oh so festive for our upcoming trip and also super tasty!

  • Goya rice
  • frozen peppers
  • steak (unpic) sliced & marinated in mesquite seasoning + 1 tblsp veg oil
  • pineapple & mango salsa
  • shredded cheese
  • cooking spray

Just marinate the sliced steak for a few hours in the fridge.  Then get started by sautéing the frozen peppers in some cooking spray for a while until cooked how you like them.  Also prep the Goya rice according to directions at this time.  Grab the steaks from the fridge and once the peppers are done, just use the same pan to cook these suckers up!  Then get ready to serve, layer at a time 🙂

  

Ta-da!

Uber-deelish 🙂

Alrighty friends, time to go catch a quick episode of How I Met Your Mother and finish with packing… busy day of traveling tomorrow!  I’ll see you sooooooooooon 😛

7 responses to “Packing fiesta!

  1. I am so excited for you that you get to leave tomorrow, GAHHH!

    Okay, yet another thing we have in common. I LOVE Mc D’s ice cream. Mike and I were just talking about it yesterday that we wanted to leave to get just that, but alas, we were too lazy.

    Good luck packing my dear!

  2. are you trying to make me jealy? ’cause it’s working. Take me with youuuuu.

  3. Oh my goodness I am so jealous that you are leaving me here in Richmond with this blistering cold weather. Even still, I hope you have an absolutely fabulous time. Soak up the sun and bring back some warmer weather!!

  4. Hope you are having a Mexican pizza tonite to continue with your theme. Mexico, here we come!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. i love that show! neil patrick harris is great and i love jason segel so much. have fun in mexico – i’m super jealous!!

  6. If I had a dollar for EVERYtime a McD’s ice cream machine was “broken”….I could buy my own machine!! I’m sad to admit one night I actually tried THREE McD’s in order to get my fix.

  7. Steph – you look great (esp for 7am at the airport) and you sound great. I hope that means you are feeling terrific for your vacation. Can’t wait to hear about all your wonderful food and adventures.

Leave a Reply

