Back on track week begins!

Ahhh Sunday friends, I hope all of you are having a wonderful day! 

We have been busy piecing our lives back together here in the fanatic household and getting ready for a full work week (can’t remember the last time I had one of those?!)  At least the weather is sunny, but a bit chilly I must say brrrr!

This morning I got things started off for Back on Track week with one of my new favorite workouts on Exercise TV 🙂  6 Round Slim Down! 45 minutes of cardio, strength and core incorporating light weights & the medicine ball.  This is seriously one of the best workouts, it felt amazing!  If you have On Demand then check it out peeps, if not then you can always check it out online too 🙂

After a week of crusing, dining and drinking it up it was just what the doctor  fitness instructor ordered 😉 

Oh yea, and if you missed the recap of our cruisin’ adventure then check it out here and here friends!

I also made a much anticipated trip to the grocery store (such. a. nerd.) and got some great stuff for our healthy eats this week!  More to come on that in a bit….

Lunch was a quickie (BOGO @Kroger Richmond friends!)

Ya’ll know I rarely eat frozen meals (scarred from college perhaps… life o’ the frozen meal haha), but in a pinch this was pretty darn good!  I’d def buy it again.

After that fun it was time for my most anticipated moment of the past 2 days  day:  picking up the precious pup from the kennel!!!  Okay so I was seriously almost in tears when I saw here again, I am ridiculous.  8 days apart is too many for this lady… why do I love this dog so much!??!

 

She had a bath and her nails did and was all ready to come home!!!  I was so happy 🙂  I think she was too, back home safe & sound and already taking over the couch…. go fig, such a diva!

A quick snack also had to be had while watching football with The Man too since I have been dying to use my newly purchased Mexican serving bowl!  This thing is made from clay, hand painted and scratch proof – plus gorgeous 🙂  Perfect resting place for some salsa you say?

 

I think so.  Crunch!

After trying to make a dent in our 1000lbs of dirty laundry, it was time to get crackin’ on dinner.

In honor of Back on Track week, I put together this week’s dinner menu with inspiration from this lovely XMas present from fanatic father… he knows whats up!

First up: 

Chipotle Sloppy Joes!!

Of course I ended up changing just a few things with the recipe, but I mean seriously, did you expect anything else?  (I am bad!)

Here was my version of this delicious twist on an old school, quick n’ easy dish 🙂

  • 1.25lb ground sirloin (90/10)
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 2 spoonfuls tomato paste
  • 1 chipotle peppers in adobo, sliced
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • salt/pepper
  • cooking spray
  • hamburger buns, toasted

I was really excited about this dinner bc I finally got to use another XMas gift (from The Man’s fam 🙂 ) to make dinner in as well, check out this beauty!  ❤  This pan is glorious!

Saute the onions (season w/ S&P) in some cooking spray, covered, for about 10 minutes.  Add the chopped green pepper and continue to cook for another 5 or so.

Then remove the veggies from the pan (set aside for later) and cook up the ground sirloin using cooking spray (S&P too!).  Once mostly cooked through, add the chipotle peppers in adobo, tomato paste, tomato sauce and ground cumin and let simmer for a few.

Then add the onion and green pepper mixture back in, cover and set on low while you prep the rest of dinner!  Flavors just get so much better with a lil’ time! 😛

I got the buns a toastin’ (to go with the sloppies) and also made a salad using these familiar friends

A few leaves of romaine, roma tomato, half a cucumber and a half cup of sliced up black olives plus some crumbled feta and black pepper = deelish 🙂

Once the buns were all nice and toasty it was time to eat!  I served mine open-faced style and topped with a few drops of Frank’s hot sauce, obvi 😉

This recipe was awesome!!  And want to know what’s even better?  The calorie content per sammie (per the recipe, but don’t forget I made some minor modifications) rings in at around 275.  I think those are some pretty good stats give or take a few!! 🙂

I hope the other recipes I have planned turn out as good as this one did, that’s for sure!!!

Well friends, I have some mint chocolate chip ice cream calling my name… and a boyfriend that is yelling at the tv screen (yes, it’s football playoff season haha) to amuse myself with 😉

Back to work tomorrow, gonna be a rude awakening for this lady after the holidays and vacation fun!  Ah well, I’m goin’ into with a positive attitude 🙂  See you friends tomorrow and have a great night!

10 responses to “Back on track week begins!

  1. I am so excited you are back in action my friend :).

    Just like you, I love the grocery store. And also, I have tried the Chipotle Sloppy Joe recipe before. SO GOOD. Mike was OBSESSED!

    I hope you have a relaxing evening before the madness begins tomorrow, aka, Monday. haha

  2. so ashamed to say it but i’ve actually never had a sloppy joe… I know I know, I totally haven’t lived. Gotta get on that asap.

    oh my god the pup is a gem!!!

  3. Awww, glad you’re reunited with your pup! 🙂 I cried when we got back from our honeymoon cruise and saw my doggie Ripsey for the first time. Totally understand! 🙂

    Chipotle sloppy joes sound awesome!! Great calorie stats too!!

  4. So good to hear from you! cant wait to read your xmas recaps!

  5. This has me craving some sloppy joes….for real! It’s been WAY too long. Such a yummy, healthy food. And it always makes me thing of the Adam Sandler song I love so much.

  6. Man I am soooo jealous of your fabulous trip!!! Back on track week souns like an awesome idea. Might as well hit the ground running 🙂

  7. Welcome back to the real world! Glad you had a great time. I’m having fun reading your re-caps. Dinner looks delish!

  8. Hey girl! Welcome back!! Looks like you had a great time on the cruise : )

    All your pictures looked great! I sure wish I was out in the sun, instead of freezing in cold weather : ( Looking forward to Spring!!

  9. Highly impressed, found your site on Ask.Happy I finally tested it out. Unsure if its my Chrome browser,but sometimes when I visit your site, the fonts are really small? Anyway, love your post and will be back.See Ya

  10. Pingback: I love springtime… « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

