Cruise inspired dinner from the sea :)

Day 2 of first full week back to work – check!  And it was a lovely, productive day I must say 🙂  Felt great (not as great as gettin’ my tan on though mwhaha)

But we don’t want to talk about work here now do we?  Yea, thought so 😉

How about we talk about ohhh food instead?!  Now that’s more like it…..!

On the menu tonight was round 3 with Mrs. Cooking Light “bible” and also a seafood inspired meal in the spirit of our recent cruise (not that a certain someone has been thinking all day that ‘last week at this time I was laying by the pool, sipping a mojito, not working, etc’… nope a certain someone sure didn’t do that…)

  • Cornmeal Crusted Tilapia
  • Homemade Pierogi w/ Onion Butter
  • Veggie Blend

First up, the fish.  A mix for dipping was made out of these guys:

  • corn meal
  • flour
  • egg
  • water
  • salt
  • chili powder
  • olive oil
  • tilapia filets

Mix together the corn meal, flour, salt and chili powder in a bowl.  Also mix the egg and a spoonful of water in another bowl.  Sprinkle the fish with some more salt and chili powder and get ready to dunk!

 

Egg wash, flour mixture then into a hot pan coated with a tblsp of olive oil – flippin’ half way through until done and a nice crust has formed around the fish just like so… 😛

 

We also had some homemade pierogi from the Christmas Eve dinner that I had frozen (I made like 100 and there was no way all that hard work was goin’ to waste haha) – I figured they would be a great accompaniment to the tilapia.  Of course some green onion butter was in order for a topping as well.  Moderation, right…. 😉

 

 

Plus some veggies to round things out 🙂  Ahhh a delicious meal on the table in mere minutes!

Check out how moist and yummy the fish turned out, oooo lala!

Cooking Light wins again!  This recipe was so fresh and deelish, definite easy weeknight meal and pretty darn tasty at that 🙂

Alright friends, The Man and I have a movie date tonight in front of the fire so I gots to run!  But before I go, remember that you have ’til Friday to enter to win the giveaway & get yo’ exercise-on courtesy of the fabulous:

EXERCISE TV!!!

So give it a shot, can’t wait to hear from ya 😉

Have a lovely night my friends!

9 responses to “Cruise inspired dinner from the sea :)

  1. owwww cornmeal crusted tilapia? Josh would LOVEEEE this. What a great meal. Your husband is a lucky dude

  2. Look at you go with your new cookbook. I love it!

    I had to leave my three new cookbooks behind in TX because my suitcase was a weeeeee bit on the heavy side. I can’t wait to bring them home Monday.

    Have a wonderful date night my dear. 🙂

  3. What a delicious looking dinner! I heart new cookbooks 🙂

  4. I love the cornmeal coating on the tilapia!! Looks so delicious!! Enjoy your night with The Man! 🙂

  5. I love green onion. I know this is weird, but I love to eat it plain and just seeing your picture of it made me want to have some sprinkled with salt 🙂

  6. I loveeee pierogies! Yum yum. Looks like a well rounded meal if you ask me 🙂

  7. your dinners always look great! i love finding good + easy fish dishes.

  8. Yum your dinner looks so great! The fish sounds awesome and those perogies look fantastic!

  9. Dinner looks devine! Great job girl. Glad work is going well.

Leave a Reply

