Slow cookin’ & shreddin’ all the way to scrumptious!

Hey friends!  Has everyone been having a great Saturday or what?!  I sure hope so 🙂

It’s been just lovely here – the temps got up into the mid-50s and the the air had that “warm smell” to it – does anyone else know what I’m talkin’ about?!  Anywho, better enjoy it now bc tomorrow the rain is a’coming 😦

Alright, time for a lil’ story about slow cooker chicken enchiladas, what-do-ya say? 😉  This recipe came from one of my fave recipe sites:  You’ve Got Supper… however I made modifications as usual blah blah blah

The first step was to cook up the chicken in the slow cooker with these amigos:

  • 16 oz. chicken breasts (2 of the breasts shown in the pic,  $7 for 4lbs of chicken from Tom Leonards, a family owned local grocery store, for all this chicken for realz?!?!)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, diced (I had some frozen, they freeze well for cooking!)
  • 1/2 jar salsa
  • 1 tsp cumin

Layer the chicken, onion, jalapeno, salsa and cumin, cover and set it to low for 4 hours….

…. or intend on cooking it that way haha 😛 

You see, when The Man showed up home from work way earlier than planned we decided to do a lil’ movie time switch up and go to the 3:30pm showing… so it was time to get flexible!  I just cranked this sucker up to high and cooked it for 2 hours instead, worked perfectly 🙂

Gave it a shred with the trusty “2 fork” method

And threw this delicious chicken into the fridge while we movied-it-up!

So about Avatar in 3D – I have to admit I was a bit hesitant that this 2.5 hour movie would keep my attention (I have trouble with sitting still just watching a screen for that long – multitasker at heart?) but friends this movie surpassed all expectations!!!!  If you haven’t seen it you should seriously consider going, it was a fabulous must-see 🙂

Once we got home all there was to do was assemble!

  • previously cooked chicken
  • whole wheat tortillas
  • cream cheese!!! (recipe calls for 3 tblsp, ha, yea double triple that if you ❤ cream cheese as much as I do 😉 )
  • shredded cheese
  • other half of salsa

I heated up the chicken for a minute in the microwave, then added the cream cheese and heated some more just so that it was easy to stir.  Spooned into the tortillas

Then rolled them up and placed into a greased (cooking spray) baking dish

Topped with the remaining salsa and the shredded cheese (more for him, less for her :P)

And into a 350F oven for 25-30 minutes, or until you can’t take the smell of this delicious dish all through the kitchen any longer, whichever comes first… 😉

A quick side salad to go with for some veggie action

And a delicious dinner was on the table!

OH yes, this took my love for cream cheese to a whole ‘notha level!  The dish was great, and the creamy chicken filling was soooo plate lickin’  lip smackin’ good 🙂

Please don’t be surprised if you start seeing bowls of cream cheese on the blog, with me eating them straight up by the spoonful 😛  haha, you think I’m kidding 😉

Well, looks like I gotta run, hot date with this lil’ guy is on the agenda

If you’ve seen this and haven’t bought it then shame on you! 😉  Go get it, now, it is for realz one of the best ice creams I’ve had from the grocery store and tastes like some legitimately delicious cake jumped into the ice cream bin and into your bowl… and it’s low fat (yea, I know?!?!)

Have a wonderful night everyone 🙂

7 responses to “Slow cookin’ & shreddin’ all the way to scrumptious!

  1. glad you liked avatar! i expected to not like it too but ended up really enjoying it. your enchiladas look so yummy

  2. Those enchiladas look great!! And I didn’t know they made a slow churned version of that ice cream!!!!!! I scream for b-day cake ice cream!! 🙂

  3. Sooo envious of that slow-cooker! I would love to make pulled pork with it…but your enchiladas look terrific, too!

  4. I love slow cooker recipes. I think this looks extra yummy.

  5. A girl after my own heart! Cream Cheese AND Take the Cake ice cream??! My fave ice cream at Coldstone is Cake Batter, and “Take the Cake” I think MIGHT even be better than that.

    Those enchilladas look amazing, too!

  6. This makes me laugh! I made enchiladas for dinner on Saturday night… and used WAY more cream cheese than was necessary, too!!! YUMMMMMM. Plus, we have leftovers for tonight!

  7. I need to try this shredded chicken! It looks super easy and it would be a nic change from regular grilled chicken!

Leave a Reply

