Seafood extravaganza!

Good morning friends 🙂

Bright n’ early for this lady ya say?!  Well I didn’t want to leave you friends hangin’, and as promised, I’m back with a recap of our fabulous Whole Foods cooking demo with the wonderful chef Jessee last night!

The theme was seafood, and the recipes were not to disappoint…!  And even better, my friends Brittany and Christie were there too so it was definitely a food bloggin’ par-tayyyyyyyy 😉

Since the theme was seafood you know that I was super pumped for this as I am an avid seafood lovah.

My fave dishes of the night were the Thai Mussels, Shrimp Bisque Soup and Calamari Fritti, but here’s a recap of all the action!

Thai Mussels

Fresh mussels, garlic, ginger, shallot, chili garlic paste, lemon grass, coconut milk, seafood stock, fresh basil… and a whole lotta yum!!! 

This dish was absolutely delicious, I was even drinking the “broth” it was THAT good!

Shrimp Bisque Soup

Rock shrimp, butter, garlic, shallot, celery, carrot (I think, not on the recipe list eh hmmm Jessee!! 😛), seafood stock, white wine, tomato sauce, cream, S&P

This shrimp bisque was probably one of the best soups I have ever tasted… I loved that it wasn’t too thick and that the flavor of the wine & shrimp really shined through!  I want to make this and I want to make it sooooooooon 🙂

Seconds were had, you betcha!

Steamed Clams

Fresh clams, butter, shallot, garlic, seafood stock, white wine and parsley served with bread.

Brittany gettin’ her picture on!  Thanks again Jessee for lettin’ us take pics of your fabulous creations 🙂

Crab Wontons

Calamari Fritta

Squid, cornmeal, garlic powder, basil, flour, paprika, onion powder, S&P.

Ate this so fast I forgot to snap a pic *gasp* sorry friends!  The breading on the calamari was superb, so superb in fact that fanatic Mom (the biggest calamari hata there ever was 😉 ) even gave it a try and said it was good!!  Served up with some marinara this would make any seafood lover one happy camper. 

Overall this was probably my favorite class thus far.  I really liked trying some items that I had never had before and also trying familiar faves cooked up in a different way.  Chef Jessee definitely knows his stuff and I can’t wait til our next class for sure! 

Speaking of next class, if you friends have any ideas for a fun February theme for our next class, Chef Jessee says he is open to suggestions!  So if you have any ideas for us, I’d love to hear them, shoot ’em on over  🙂

Alright peeps, off to get this Tuesday started… guess the “real work week” has finally started!  Oh geeze, and I just realized that my birthday is exactly 1 week from today too — woah 28 starin’ me right in the eyes gahhhh 😛  Have a lovely day friends!

11 responses to “Seafood extravaganza!

  1. Everything looks tasty!! I’ve never had half of those things….but I’d love to try them all!

    ooooh – Birthday = gifts and cake! And at least you’ll be an even number….I love being even numbers so I’m excited for my b-day. 🙂

  2. OMG I am a calamari addict. I can’t help but order it whenever I see it on the menu.

  3. Looks like you girls had great time at the class 🙂 Food looks great!

  4. Yay. Great recap Stephanie!!

  5. I had so much fun! Sorry I had to leave early but I wasn’t feeling great and it was getting late.

  6. Looks like fun! I love the seafood dept. at whole foods. Their artichoke crab dip is out of this world!! 🙂

  7. Okay, I just ate, but this is already making me hungry again. SO MUCH FUN! Wish I could have been there! 🙂

  8. I love seafood, everything looks great!

  9. Pingback: Curried Vegetable Samosas with Cilantro-Mint Chutney From Stephanie @ CookinFanatic | Eating Bird Food

Leave a Reply

