Make ahead dinner makes its debut!

I just loved hearing about what all of you were happy for today… nothing spreads a smile like a good happy fest!!  So thanks to ya’ll I was wearing my smile all day long 🙂

So this afternoon I gave this guy a whirl…

Blueberry 0% Greek Yogurt

… whole chunks of blueberries & the most delicious blueberry flavor, yes please!  Chobani strikes again, another winner of a yogurt, myyyyy goodness 🙂  So far the list of faves goes a lil’ something like this:

  1. Pineapple
  2. Raspberry
  3. Blueberry
  4. Pomegranate

I can’t believe Pom is slipping in the ranks, but I gotta go with my gut! (literally?) 😛

So uhhhh, how abouts we get into that make-ahead dinner?!  

It all started this past weekend with an unanticipated trip to Tom Leonard’s, a small family owned market that I’m obsessed with and frequent often  with quality meats (& reasonable prices).  It was there that I stumbled across some ground pork and decided to give it a go!

See, I’ve never cooked with the stuff before but in typical fanatic fashion thought why not?  You know I love me a good experiment in the kitchen 🙂

I also just happened to stumble across a Mexican inspired recipe that I knew may fancy our taste (shocking, I know, I never cook Mexican food 😉 )

Pork & Green Chiles Casserole

Here were the stars of the show, a few modifications to the recipe as usual:

  • ground pork (approx. 1 lb)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • cooking spray
  • S&P
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1.5 cups salsa
  • 1 can chopped green chilis
  • 1 cup rice (uncooked)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • cumin
  • shredded cheese

Last night the prep went as follows: 

I gave the chopped onion a good saute in a large pan using cooking spray, just a few minutes, before adding the ground pork and browning.

The directions said to drain the fat, but to be honest this must have been some quality lean ground pork (just as I suspected Tom!) bc all I had to do was dab up some minimal grease using a paper towel – TL’s knows what’s up!

Then I dumped in the rest of the ingredients (except the shredded cheese) and let it come up to a ‘bubble.’

At this point it was time to transfer to a baking dish and pop in the oven for 30 minutes at 375F

Since I was making this ahead of time, this is where I stopped last night…. covered & put it in the fridge and patted my own back since I just did myself a pretty darn nice favor 😉

When I got home tonight all I had to do was let it warm back up in a 375F oven for 35 minutes, adding a splash of water on top midway through to make sure it didn’t get dry.  Then topped with the shredded cheese and cooked until bubbly!

Cheese overload for The Man, Cheese “minimalism” for The Fanatic

Served with a dallop of plain Chobani (this stuff is sneaking into my diet everywhereeeeeeeee 😉 ) + Mr. Frank and voila!

Plus some steamed veggies on the side, but we’ve all seen those before waa waaaaa 😛

This combo was delicious!  I will definitely be trying ground pork again and this make ahead meal couldn’t have been any better 🙂  I seriously didn’t know what to do with myself after work once my ExerciseTV session with Stephanie V. was over (btw, 6 round slimdown is superb!) since all I had to do was warm this sucker up, it was lovely 🙂

Alright, I think we’ve been sucked into some American Idol watching tonight… plus The Man has a serious cold that we’re tryin’ to take care of (Dr. Steph took him to CVS earlier, don’t worry!)

Who’s excited for Thursday?!  Me me me!!!  The weekend is near… 😛 

Have a lovely evening friends!

6 responses to “Make ahead dinner makes its debut!

  1. It is AI for me tonite too. Blueberry Chobani is one my favorites by the way. Can’t wait to make the birthday dinner this week end for two of my favorite people… and I have a plan for dessert!

    • I am so excited to come over too! You have to tell me what your plan for dessert is…. I am in suspense!!!!!! I know it will be delicious whatever it is though 🙂

      • It will be simple, basic, and good…and no, not a Ukrops cake. Although, I would love one of those!

  2. What a nice nurse you are 🙂 We did some exercise TV action tonight as well. Did a bunch of different things, it was great!!!

  3. Blueberry Chobani is high up there on my list too! Love, love, love!!

    That casserole looks great. We always have “his” and “her” sides of it in our house too, haha! 😉

  4. Pineapple is my favorite Chobani too! I wasn’t a fan of the crunchy seeds in the pomegranate flavor. Your dinner casserole looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

