Hi-dee-ho neighbors!

Hi-dee-ho neighbors friends!Β  Happy Sunday to ya πŸ™‚

I’ve had a great morning thus far – lil’ food network, lil’ yoga, lil’ lunch – you know, the usual Sunday suspects!

I started the day with my favorite Yoga session on ExerciseTV… I’ll let you take a wild guess since I’m a broken yoga record, but I just love this workout so much!

And okay, I’m lying, I really started my day with leftover blueberry pancakes slathered in cream cheese and topped with banana slices, warmed up for a few seconds in the microwave…. then did yoga πŸ˜‰Β  You caught me.

After a quick shower it was time for us to run out and get my Dad a birthday present (his bday is tomorrow, mine on tuesday!) so of course I saw the perfect opportunity to talk The Man into going to World Market with me the second day in a row bc I have a problem pick up a fun present that I hope he will enjoy πŸ™‚

Since it was nearing lunch time when we were heading out we debated over eating out or making something here and that’s when the idea of a homemade pizza came up!.Β  So before leaving I whipped up a quick dough, refusing to follow any recipe or measurements, but what’s new 😦

Worked like a charm though, this was the best pizza dough batch that has come out of our kitchen… must had my magic pizza hands workin’ today (modesty Steph)?Β  Here are some rough measurements, sorry I suck at following any sort of plan sometimes…

  • 1.5 cups wheat flour
  • 1 cup?? water — started with 1/2 cup and kept adding as needed
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • salt
  • olive oil (maybe 1.5 tblsp?)
  • honey — the magic trick!

Okay that is quite possibly the ‘worst, hardest to follow, not-recipe’ recipe that I have ever written…. but I promise you that this dough was deelish!Β  The honey really sweetened it up, just lovely πŸ™‚

I let the dough rest in a nice ball (put in bowl, touch of olive oil spread on the outside to coat, top bowl with wet paper towel to keep moist) while we were out and about.

When we got home all we had to do was give it a quick roll out, rustic style

Top with some tomato sauce…. all we had on hand was tomato paste so I made a “make shift sauce” that was easy and totally yummy.Β  A few spoonfuls of tomato paste, 1 clove of garlic chopped, dried basil, oregano, S&P plus some water to thin out then just pop in the microwave for 30 seconds to blend flavors and voila!

Tomato sauce shortage, solved.

Then it was time to assemble the toppings, his and hers style!Β  Take a wild guess at that one….. πŸ˜‰

His = sliced colby-jack cheese, grated Parm, oregano, red pepper flakes

Hers = frozen pepper blend, broccoli, sliced colby-jack cheese, grated Parm, oregano, red pepper flakes

After a quick 10 minutes at 400F followed by a 2 minute broil, it was ready for a chow down!

This. Pizza. Was. So. Good.

Love an easy, economical, healthful make at home version of “junk food” – does it really get any better?

Oh yes, and don’t forget the peas… apparently I am on a pea kick this weekend for whatever reason.

Alright, well this afternoon is going to be a back and forth between football with The ManΒ & the kitchen for a dish that I am very excited about… it needs some serious simmer timeΒ though and here’s a hint *we’re keepin’ the Italian theme goin’!*

Any guesses?!?!

Hope I make The Man’s Grandma proud πŸ™‚

See ya’ll back for more later, have a wonderful afternoon!

3 responses to “Hi-dee-ho neighbors!

  1. Oh man, homemade pizza is the BEST. And I love that the man was a good sport and went to World Market with you for the second day in a row. I totally would do the same thing, or, go to three grocery stores in one day.. lol. Than goodness we have great guys. πŸ™‚

    I have no idea what you could be cookin up! Maybe some sort of sauce??

  2. Girl you know what’s up. Pancakes + cream cheese are amazing!

  3. That was totally a Home Improvement reference wasn’t it πŸ™‚ Haha I am such a dork.

    We are going to sit you down and have an intervention for your World Market addiction lady.

Leave a Reply

