Birthday Dinner w/ The Fam!

Hello friends!  Well the birthday dinner tonight with fanatic fam was a complete success… after what was a pretty rough day for this gal it was the best way I could have thought to spend a Monday night 🙂 

So a few weeks ago I got an intense craving for roasted chicken, and no one makes a better roasted chicken than my Mom, so I knew just what I was requesting for birthday dinner!  Fanatic Mom vs. Barefoot Contessa, I’d like to see that match 😉

When we arrived the house smelled amazing, I knew this was gonna be a good night!

There were some appetizers to start, including crackers & hummus plus some unpictured fresh veggies

And some delicious wine to enjoy too, both the Chardonnay and the Sauv Blanc were fantastic… hey, “it’s my birthday and I’ll drink both wines if I want toooooooo” 😉

Then came the real star of the show.  I don’t know how she does it, but this is seriously the most moist and flavorful chicken that you’ll ever have.  Stuffed with lemon, onions, a perfect blend of herbs and coated with olive oil then cooked to absolute perfection!

This delicious bird was served with homemade mashed potatoes — and p.s. my mom has the best trick for making the most fluffy mashers on the block, lady always has tricks up her sleeve I tell ya! 😛

Topped with some gravy and black pepper of course (we are all pepper addicts… forget salt!)

And don’t forget the salad – oh the salad – fresh pear, blue cheese, dried cherries and toasted walnuts holyyyyy yummmm 🙂

Even this lil’ lady had her fair share of table scraps, but who could resist such a polite request haha 😉

And yes, that would be the “paws crossed” position… she’s such a “lady” right?!

This dinner was seriously the perfect home cooked meal, and on a Monday night after a long day I couldn’t have asked for more…  oh but there was def more, did someone say dessert?! 😛

Oh yes, your eyes have not deceived you 😉  That would be Ghirardelli chocolate brownies topped with cookie dough ice cream, fudge sauce AND whipped cream… ahhhh my mouth was-a-soooo-happy! 

And as if it couldn’t get any better…  I got a sweet new kitchen gadget from the parents for my birthday — can’t wait to show you friends when I make up my first dish with it!!!

I think fanatic father liked his gifts too, we shall see once he gives them a taste (hint hint:  beer and chocolate 🙂 )

What a great night, erased all the Monday woes from earlier in the day 🙂  There’s no place like home as they say, “they” are definitely right….

Time to sign off for an early bedtime – goodnight from the fanatic household and when I see you tomorrow I’ll be the ripe age of 28!

Lucy Dog says woof woof to that!

We’ll see if I agree come morning 😉  G’night friends!

7 responses to “Birthday Dinner w/ The Fam!

  1. That desert looks like heaven! Looks like so much more than than it took to make it!

  2. I want that b-day dessert for my next b-day!! WOW!! 🙂

  3. Fanatic Mom seems to be a wonderful chef- that brownie looks fantastic.

    Hope you and I both sleep better tonight – I don’t think rain is in the forecast. 🙂

  4. What a fabulous birthday dinner.

    That dessert looks so yummy..I am craving a brownie sundae now ; )

    Glad you a great night with your parents!!

  5. I heart Lucy Dog! Daisy’s twinnie!

  6. That dinner looks amazing – there is nothing like a good roasted chicken and mashed potatoes.

    Love how lady-like your dog is.

    Looks like you had a great night!

  7. I’m so glad you enjoyed your family b-day dinner! That’s so fun your b-day is “next door” to your dad’s. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what your gadget is – Happy Birthday (officially!)

Leave a Reply

