Presents and dinner in a wok – my kinda birthday night!

Hello friends!!  So pretty much a huge thank you to all of you for the wonderful birthday wishes I received all day, ya’ll rock obvi 🙂

Well after work I hammered out a most wonderful 6 Round Slim Down workout and 10 minute ab routine on ExerciseTV 🙂  I figured, what better birthday present to give myself then a great sweat session, right?!

Dinner tonight was a ‘stay-at-home’ birthday kinda night featuring a sizzlin’ stir fry made easy thanks to the help of a few “convenience” products (hey, sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do!) and the help of a certain Man in my life 😉

But before dinner even got started, I was surprised by not only gifts from my fanatic Mom but also from The Man!

The kitchen gadget that my parents had gotten me arrived at their house today and my fave lady was sweet enough to drop it off for me tonight! but I was apparently exercising with my headphones too loud and didn’t hear Lucy Dog barking nor her knocking 15 times? fail!

Oh yes, that would be a mandolin and I am so excited for this!!!  One of the first recipes I want to try is Raw Lasagna ala my fave twin homegirls evah! 🙂

Then The Man surprised me with even more kitchen gadgets that I am uber-pumped about ahhhh I can’t wait to try all this fun stuff!

One being a pasta machine oh.em.gee.  I will tell you that I almost cried when I opened this bc I may have seriously mentioned this once or twice (but have secretly always wanted one, just thought it was a bit extravagant) and The Man took some serious notes.  Who cries over a pasta machine haha?!  This girl.  Ahhhh geeeeeze 😛

There was also a most beautiful ring and bracelet to complete my pearl set ❤ ❤ pearls!

So thankful for these and all my birthday gifts!!!  I have the best family, friends and boyfriend that a girl could ask for, seriously 🙂

So after all the present excitement we decided to get started on the quick wok dinner and The Man was back in the kitchen helpin’ me out again!

Easy Peasy.

Got out the trusty wok and added 1 tblsp veg oil before dumping in the frozen veg.

Then decided that some fresh sliced onion was definitely necessary!

After a few minutes they got nice and purty…

Remove the veggies from the wok and find a handsome hunk that will stir fry the meat for you (TWSS… couldn’t resist haha sorry) 😛 

Add the veggies back to the wok and also half of the Ginger Terryaki sauce for a few minutes.  Remove all this deliciousness from the pan and you are almost done!

Last but not least, prep the stir-fry noodles per the directions and then add to the hot wok with the remainder of the sauce.

These noodles were great to mix it up from the same ol’ same ol’ rice with ye stir fry!

Then combine everything together and add some of your new bff 😉

Love this stuff!  But if you don’t watch your back, this stuff will bite ya in the ars – whoa spicy – lil’ goes a long way 😛

Serve it all up and relish in the fact that your healthy Asian dinner only took about 20 minutes and cost about $5 total for 2 generousssssss portions (this sauce was on sale for 94cents at Whole Foods!)

I have a hard time finding sauces from the grocery store that really taste great, but this quick fix was fanatastic and not to mention made with some pretty great ingredients so def a winner in my book!

Well I must say that I have had the most wonderful birthday this year 🙂  From the lovely dinner last night with my parents to a most fabulous night with my man tonight plus the sweet and kind comments from all of you — I sure feel like one lucky girl.  So thank you for making turning 28 quite possibly one of the best birthdays I’ve had!!

Time for some American Idol and that’s a wrap 🙂  Night friends!

10 responses to “Presents and dinner in a wok – my kinda birthday night!

  1. I will never forget the day we were walking after a nap you took (by the way, you loved them!) It was warm and sunny, and you were holding my hand (age 3 or so) and you told me you loved me all the way to the sky…that says it all for our family! Happy birthday…and many more.

  2. Happy happy birthday–looks like you had a great day! I am not sure which I am more jealous of—the ring or mandolin!

    And that comment from your mom just warmed my heart a little, so sweet.

  3. Look at the fun kitchen tools you get to play around with in the kitchen. We used to have a pasta making, so much fun!! Glad you had a wonderful birthday ; ) Let us know if you have any questions about the mandoline. xoxo

  4. Aww – make me girl #2 that would cry (happily) at getting a pasta machine. The ring looks gorgeous! I’m glad you had such a wonderful birthday 😀

  5. Something about Asian cooked in a wok tastes so much better!

    Those are some thoughtful presents!!! You are so lucky to have so many great people in your life 🙂

  6. louisianagrown

    I definitely missed your birthday, but it looks like you had a great one!

  7. It sounds like you had an absolutely perfect birthday!! LOL I got SO many cooking things for Christmas, but hey – it’s what I wanted! All of your new gadgets look SO fun. I’ll live through you since my b-day is a few months away yet. 🙂

  8. Jewelry AND kitchen tools?!?! KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    🙂 Glad you had a wonderful b-day!

    PS- Fanatic Mom, I totally choked up at your comment. I used to tell my mom that I loved her with all my hearts & flowers ❤

  9. I’m late but Happy Birthday! Love the ring!!

  10. Pingback: How’s that for a monday? « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

