Love in a saucepan

Hello hello friends!  Well we are officially in the final stretch of the week… only 2 days left and then it’s sweet sweet weekend freedom 🙂  Ahhhh I can’t complain though, I really don’t mind my job and work with some pretty great peeps!

Anywho, after work today since it was my “day off” exercise and the such, I decided to stop off at none other than Tom Leonards after work.  Their meat selection is just so fresh and their fruits/veggies top notch… not to mention the massive gourmet cheese selection too! (do I work for TL marketing, sheesh, haha?!)

I ended up making friends with the “meat guy” (that just sounds weird haha) who gave me a great idea for cooking the huge, gorgeous Delmonico steaks I picked up, which had just been freshly cut and only cost $7 total! 

There was also a bleu cheese chunk purchased (ummm this puts crumbled bleu cheese from the grocery store to shame and cost a slim $3.40 – yes please!) which I enjoyed with a fresh pear after work…

…and some Chardonnay too of course 😉  The rest of this fabulous cheese has a date with the Delmonico’s tomorrow night, so pumped, sometimes my body just really craves iron/red meat and I think that’s where it’s at!

Dinner plans were goin’ with the frugal theme and using up some items we had in the freezer, Polish style!

  • Apple chicken sausages w/ sauerkraut/cabbage/onions
  • Pierogi w/ onion butter

I was also itchin’ to try the new mandolin from the fanatic fam…  you knew it was only a matter of time 😛

So, want to know how long it took me to cut up this onion?

4.36 seconds FLAT.  Holy chop-oley I’m in lurveeeeeeeeee!!!!!

I used some of these onions to whip up a quick sauerkraut dish – which we had leftover from the Christmas Eve dinner and which freezes beautifully fyi!

  • 1 tblsp butter
  • 3/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1/2 package sauerkraut
  • 1/2 cup sliced cabbage
  • black pepper

Saute onions in butter for a few minutes, add pepper.  Then add in sauerkraut (mine was frozen), cover til warmed through.  Also throw in some sliced steamed cabbage leaves (microwave in some water for a few minutes to quick steam) for a lil’ extra umph if ya want!

Keeping on the Christmas Eve freezer stash, I cooked up the last of our homemade pierogi using some cooking spray to go with… I need to make a new stash soon!

And served with some more of the super-fast-snappy-quick fire-chopped onions melted into 2 tblsp butter (apparently there is a butter theme tonight? ah well, moderation, we rarely use the stuff 🙂 )

Oh yes, if there was ever ‘love in a saucepan’…. this is it 😛

We also had some TJs Apple Chicken Sausages that I sliced in half and seared up using cooking spray – these are probably my fave flava from Mr. TJoe’s!

It was gettin’ pretty busy in the fanatic kitchen tonight! 

Nah, just playin’ friends, this was seriously such a fast and easy dinner – 4o minutes from start to finish…?

Got a lil’ crazy with the sauerkraut there 😉 however this meal was a delicious way to incorporate something fun into the week’s menu.  I loved the combo of the sauerkraut with the sweet apple sausage, perfect compliments to each other!

Well friends, I’m off to watch some tv with The Man and call it an early night, I am t-i-r-e-d tonight!  See you tomorrow (for Delmonico night in our house!) and enjoy the rest of your nights 🙂

2 responses to “Love in a saucepan

  1. That looks delish! Do you have a pierogie recipe?? I am Polish but my mom never made them and I would love to be able to make my own (instead of buying the frozen kind). I haven’t had sauerkraut in forever, I will need to pick some up this wknd.

  2. I hate hate hate cutting up onions. 😦 I need one of those!!

Leave a Reply

