Dinner Date Night-In!

Hey friends!  I hope that ya’ll are having as wonderful of a Thursday night as we are having here 🙂

I must admit that I was a bad “fitness fanatic” today after work and instead of a potential workout I went to the grocery store to “stock up” on a few last minute items… of course what I really mean by this is that I bought enough Chardonnay, Sparkling Wine and Chocolate to survive a frat party?  last through the looming winter snow-in this weekend 😉

So yea, those priorities were definitely straight today haha but hey, you only live once right!  And there’s always tomorrow 😛  ExerciseTV, here I come!

Tonight was also “fancy dinner date night” in our house, and for a mere $10 or so we had a restaurant quality meal based around the beautiful Delmonico steaks I found at Tom Leonards yesterday (bc I apparently have a grocery store problem, as is becoming quite apparent….)

So here goes it friends: 

Delmonico Steaks topped w/ Caramelized Onions & Bleu Cheese Sauce

WARNING:  This is definitely a decadent not-your-everyday type of meal.  However, when meals like this are enjoyed in moderation they can make an appearance in any healthy diet, at least that’s what I say!

First I started off by making some caramelized onions (hello mandolin, thanks for making this seriously the easiest thing evah)

  • sliced onion
  • balsamic vinegar
  • white wine
  • 1 tsp butter
  • black pepper
  • cooking spray

Just add the onions to a pan with some cooking spray, drizzle with balsamic, white wine & black pepper.  Then cover and let cook for a good while (45 min?) until they get tender and sweet – finish off with the pat of butter and voila!

I’ve never made these before and oh.em.gee. were they fabulous!!!

Then it was steak time!  A simple salt, pepper & oil rub was all the beautiful Delmonicos needed, then a quick sear in a hot pan followed by a covered low cook until cooked to about medium.

Not your low-fat steak friends, but holy yum the flavor of these freshly cut steaks was incredible…..

To finish off the steaks I also made a bleu cheese sauce using these guys, I mean seriously, can you go wrong with this?

Minced a garlic clove, dropped it into a small saucepan with some white wine and let it come to a simmer… then added the most delicious bleu cheese to the mix, stirring to incorporate (I used about half the wedge).

 

This Saga Bleu Cheese and is actually a Danish brie cheese (think soft & creamy) that is classified as a bleu cheese as it contains a delicate bleu mold that may not appear in other bleu cheeses – learn something new everyday huh?

Served with some fresh Italian bread too, such a treat!

All served up I present:  Delmonico steaks topped w/ caramelized onions and bleu cheese sauce, veggies and fresh bread 🙂

The Man made the following statement, I kid you not:  “Babe, this steak is better than any steak I’ve had at any restaurant, and you can put that on the blog!”

He had his steak with a side of pasta, veggies and bread — and I ended up trading him some of my steak for his veggies, that was alot of meat! (not going there haha….) 🙂

So all in all, date night-in was a super success!  I tackled my first Delmonico and I think came out a winner 🙂  Must say that this was by far one of my fave meals we’ve had, not gonna lie!

Alright friends, I’m outta here – you better have a great night and I’ll see you tomorrow for Friday (can I get a fist pump for old times sake?!) 😛

9 responses to “Dinner Date Night-In!

  1. A+ for my girlie. What a fabulous meal that you made for your date night!

    I would die for that blue cheese sauce. Mike HATES blue cheese, will not even go near it. But he would absolutely die and go to heaven with the rest of the meal you prepared. So I can just about imagine how much your man loved his dinner.

    Enjoy the rest of your evening. 🙂

  2. What a fancy dinner date night-in!! Glad yall had a lovely evening!! 🙂

  3. Caramelized onions… such a thing of beauty 😛

  4. YUM! Looks so good. I totally agree, everything in moderation. Its great that you mix up your diet and eat a bit of everything! Congrats on conquering the steak!

  5. Oh my dad’s steak is better than any I’ve had in a restaurant. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a steak though…

    Looks like a perfect date night!

  6. Wow now THAT’S a great dinner! Caramalized onions are like crack to me! Mmmmm!

  7. Great dinner in! Why ever go out??

  8. louisianagrown

    Ahh my stomach is growling and I’m craving a steak now!

  9. awwwww….fist pump!! 😦 What will I do on Thursday nights now?!

    The Man is so sweet!! Mmmm – I haven’t had steak in YEARS. That looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

