Snow & an upcoming giveaway?!

Well friends, the snow is here!Β  Went to bed & by the time I woke up this morning this is what things were lookin’ like πŸ™‚

Β 

And it’s still coming down (2″ per hour!)… I think we are at close to 7″ so far?!Β  I seriously can’t remember the last time Richmond got not 1, but 2 snow storms of this nature in one winter season.Β  I think probably never in my 28 years, seriously what is going on?!

But let’s rewind to last night, which was spent enjoying a few of these πŸ˜‰

Oh yes, that would be vodka, sprite with a few frozen blueberres floatin’ around for good measure – this was deelish! πŸ™‚

Well, this time around I was prepared for this mega-snow-a-thon and had some activities lined up since I knew we’d be stuck indoors.Β  And I must say that it was really refreshing to wake up this morning and have no obligations to run errands, etc. and just spend the morning doing whatever I wanted!!!

And there are like 87 accidents everywhere around town, so needless to say venturing out = not an option for this fanatic household!

So I started things off today with a some coconut oats & a side of Food Network πŸ˜›

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 tblsp shredded coconut
  • 1 tblsp cream cheese
  • 1/2 tsp coconut oil (!!!!!)
  • drizzle maple syrup

I got “adventurous” and decided to try the beloved coconut oil in my oats and holy coconut-oly this was fabulous!Β  Just a small amount gave the most beautiful coconut flavor to the whole batch, not to mention this stuff is so good for you it’s insane.Β 

Did I mention that I’ve been using it as a facial cleanser a few nights a week too?Β  Thanks to my fave twins who introduced me to it πŸ™‚Β  It makes my skin feel amazing and I find that on nights when I don’t use it my face feels so icky in the morning… I’m in lurveeeeee!

After my tropical breakfast (hey, gotta warm up somehow πŸ™‚ ) I let Miss Thang run around outside for a while in the snow, she really likes it for about 10 minutes then gets too cold I think haha.

Snow-face?Β  Woof?

Then it was time to get started on the first cooking adventure of the day!!Β 

Remember this guy from birthdayΒ dinner with Fanatic Fam a few days back?

Well of course I not only left their house with some fabulous bday presents, but also what was left of Mr. Chicken (sorry vegetarian friends, may be a bit much for you?)

As many of us know, leftover chicken “bones” make the most wonderful Chicken Stock that beats any canned version times a million.Β  Well, not that I would know from making it, but only from tasting… so you know what had to be done πŸ™‚

Homemade Chicken Stock!

So easy, just gathered up

  • 3 carrots
  • 3 ribs of celery
  • 4 small onions

Did I mention I got this whole bag of cute lil’ onions for 88 cents — just pattin’ myself on the back for that deal πŸ™‚

Anywho, just add the chicken “bone” (we all know the real word, just sounds so iiiiiicky hahaha, maturity Steph) and the veggies then enough water to cover (took about 8 pints) and bring up to a boil.

Simmer for 20 minutes, skimming off the top a few times.Β  Then just lower the heat, cover with a small crack left to vent and let cook away for 2 hours!Β  Your house will smell amazingggggggg too btw πŸ™‚Β  And since the chicken was so well seasoned the first time around, no additional herbs necessary in making the stock.

It’s still simmering away and getting close to being ready to taste/strain… I can’t wait!Β  There may be some homemade chicken noodle soup in our future.

So what’s up next for today?!Β  Well here goes it friends:

  • waffle breakfast for The Man, who just arose at the fine hour of 12:30pm πŸ˜‰
  • homemade pasta using the new pasta machine!

And finally,Β a GIVEAWAY for all you friends!!!Β  Want a hint?Β  Give a lil’ clickΒ  πŸ˜‰

Well, guess you know where I’ll be all day!Β  Whoa things are crazy out there πŸ˜›

Β 

Latest report of 40 cars stuck on a local bridge heading to the south side of town… glad I wasn’t one of those folks who decided to venture out, those people make me very frustrated!Β  Anyways, of course I hope they get home safely :/

Stay warm & safe wherever you are friends and see you back soon!!!

17 responses to “Snow & an upcoming giveaway?!

  1. Stay warm and safe!! I love your doggie’s snow outfit, haha!! Is that a hoodie??? I want one for Ripsey!! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh yes, Lucy has her own hoodie! It keeps her dry and I secretly think she likes it πŸ˜‰ Now if only my Dad would see it my way – he thinks I’m ridiculous for putting her in it hahaha!

  3. I use coconut oil for facial cleanser and moisturizer as well… definitely love it.

    Isaac and I made it to the gym this morning early and now I’m snowed it and he’s out sledding. πŸ™‚ Have fun with all the snow.

    We’ve gotten a ton of snow- I’m almost worried that there’s going to be sow accumulation than the last storm.

    • I just read on nbc12 that someone measured 17″ of snow in the Fan (Harvie @Main)!!! That’s more than we have holy crap, I think we have about 10-11″ so far? Stay warm girlie, I’m so impressed that ya’ll hit the gym before the storm rolled through too – now go enjoy a cocktail (or 3?)! Hey, we just mightttttt be πŸ˜‰

  4. Wow. So many typos! I think you will be able to figure out what I meant though. πŸ™‚

    I promise I’m not drunk.

  5. Be still my heart. I want some Chobani!

  6. Stay warmmmmmmmm doll πŸ™‚

    I saw on twitter that you were enjoying mimosas awhile ago. Can I come over and join the drinking and cooking fest?

  7. stay warm! we’re inside for the rest of the night (except for puppy bathroom breaks) – it’s so cold!

  8. It sounds so fun to be snowed in! I miss the anticipation of a snow storm. I’m so impressed that you are making your own chicken stock!

  9. I know this snow is crazy!!! So glad you are loving the coconut oil at night…our face loves it too!!

  10. ack, so much white stuff! (twss πŸ™‚ te he he.. i’m so mature).

    p.s. love the new blog header — makes me drool on myself a lot

    • Thanks girlllll, the header pic is actually fresh guac & chips consumed in Mexico ala XMas cruise and they were toooo dieeeee forrrrrrr!!!

      I’m always up for a good TWSS joke haha, ❀

  11. I love the lil hoodie, my dog wears one out t in the cold too. lol Homemade chicken noodle soup sounds so good. We have no snow, but it’s pretty chilly around here.

  12. I CAN’T believe I’m saying this, but I’m actually jealous of all that snow! πŸ™‚ We’ve only had one “storm” this winter, but it was just about 5-6 inches. I want to get snowed in (at HOME, being at work is no good!) so badly.

    Where did you get that coconut oil? I want to try it as a facial cleanser! I’m always lookin’ for new face goodies.

  13. OMG so I have to try that coctail! I am a blueberry vodka lover…that would be amazing with bluberry vodka/diet sprite/frozen blubs! I think I’ve found my drink for our super bowl partay πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: 93% « CookinFanatic

  15. Don’t forget, all you soup stock-makers, to strain the veggies and “bones” out after cooking, then put stock in fridge until fat hardens in a nice solid piece that can be lifted off and tossed out (you might want to leave just a teaspoon of fat in the stock for flavor, if its chicken stock). Add the veggies back (some cooks puree them first), then use however.

Leave a Reply

