Dunzo!

Hey hey hey!

Phew what a day friends!  I don’t know about ya’ll, but I was beat after a super busy today and I must say that once I got home from work I was dunzo 😛

So uhhhh oops, that ‘planned workout’ was postponed until tomorrow, which meant that dinner plans were going to have to change up… mixin’ it up a bit eh?

The original plan tonight was for a fun BFD using one of my new bday presents since I needed something fast post-workout, however since said workout was postponed ’til tomorrow so was this dinner idea….

In lieu of BFD I decided to do tomorrow’s dinner, tonight!!!  See how easy a lil’ switch can be – and tomorrow I know I’ll have more energy for my workout and overall it will pay off in the end 🙂

So what was tomorrow’s (now tonight’s) dinner plan?

Hide the Veggies Lasagna!

Yep, you got it friends, I had a butternut squash that needed usin’ so I figured what better way than to hide it in some delicious lasagna so The Man would never know 😉

First on the to-do was to roast up the butternut, which I peeled and sliced then brushed with some EVOO and sprinkled with S&P…

20 minutes at 375F w/ a quick flip in between and these guys were all nice & ready!

Then I got out the rest of the ingredients for what was seriously the easiest lasagna I have ever made.  Well, I’ve only made lasagna a handful of times so take that as you will haha 😛

  • Whole wheat lasagna noodles
  • Part skim ricotta
  • Fresh Parm
  • Homemade sauce from this lil’ adventure, thawed

Yes, that’s right.  5 ingredients total – booyah!!  Take that food network 😉

While the butternut was roasting I also boiled up the lasagna noodles so they were ready for assembly.  Then it was time to build!

Lil’ sauce + 3 cooked lasagna noodles

Roasted butternut slices

Half the container of ricotta cheese — so uh btw I used to “claim” I hated ricotta but after 1 spoonful of it tonight I already have it on the next grocery list haha, what was I thinkingggggggg?!?!

Throw (grate) some grated Parm on there too for good measure.

About half of “the sauce” — which keeps beautifully in the freezer & which I will be making another batch of veryyyy soon!

Another layer of 3 cooked noodles, the rest of the heavenly ricotta and the remainder of “the sauce” plus more grated Parm to finish it up and the building is finito!

What’s that, you want a side angle view?  Okay okay, twist my arm 😉

Then it was into a 350F oven, uncovered for 20 minutes.  After that I covered this bad johnny up and continued too cook another 15 minutes or so.  Then I got all crazy and uncovered it again, cranked up the temp to 400F for another 5 minutes til it was all bubbly and deelish

All served up!  A lil’ squashie got loose 😛

Want an inside peek too?  Okayyyy!

With some cabbage on the side – yea I don’t know, I’m a woman, I crave random things hahaha

So I have to tell you that as I was roasting up the butternut squashies, The Man politely asked “what the heck are those things and where are they going” hahaha… so I def wasn’t sure if he was going to like them in the lasagna (although I kindly reminded him last time I snuch them in pasta that he adored).

Well friends, I got the first bite, eyes closed, “mmmm” sound outta him tonight!!!  I love that, when I don’t even have to ask if he likes or not – bc that reaction says enough 🙂

Yea, this was deelish.  And so easy at that.  The butternut paired with “the sauce” which does have sausage in it made the perfect combo, and paired with the part-skim ricotta it was just fantabulous!

So now I have some American Idol to watch, I have some Google Reader to catch up on then it’s time to hit the sack.

We may get some frozen “precip” (haha, always makes me giggle) tonight so hopefully roads are a-okay in the morning.  Especially considering Lady BMW basically slid 16 different directions before settling into her spot in the driveway today – what is up with the no-plow-neighborhood philosophy around here hmph?!?! 

Either way, I’m looking forward to a great day at work followed by a rebound 6 Round Slim Down whoop whoop!

So that’s that friends, I hope all of you have a wonderful Tuesday night and guess what – tomorrow is hump day – take that work week, you’re halfway ovah 🙂

Speaking of halfway over, how about that Chobani Giveaway 😉  Go for it!!!

9 responses to “Dunzo!

  1. I love your veggie hiding technique. It reminds me of when my mom used to sneak cough medicine in to my ice cream 🙂

  2. Seriously…you need to write one of those cookbooks (like Jessica Seinfeld’s for kids) about sneaking veggies into meals! This LOOKS and sounds amazing. I’ve made acorn squash lasagna before, but I like butternut squash more, so….I need to try this!

  3. You make the kind of meals that I only make on the weekends!! You are a cookin’ rockstar for making such incredible meals on the weekdays!! 🙂 Looks so delicious!!

  4. Oh yum… you seriously make the best meals. I love lasagna and it’s usually so complicated. But that recipe looks simple, and delicious! I’ve never had squash in lasagna before. And ricotta is incredible…!!!

  5. Your butternut squash lasagna looks great. I love ricotta cheese.

  6. Love the “hide the veggies” lasagna. Fortunately, my bf’s mom is a health nut too, so he’s used to my veggie antics, but he still would rather have a steak.

    Sorry to hear about “Lady BMW”…reminds me of how my dad always calls my car the “Saab story” when it’s having problems.

  7. Oh the only way I would be able to get the hubs to eat that is if I didn’t tell him what was in it. He didn’t even want to know what was in the frittata until after he was finished lol.

    You got an “mmmm” I got a belch. Hey success comes in many forms!

  8. I used to say that I didn’t like ricotta either, but now I buy it all the time. I like to mix it with cacao powder, vanilla, and stevia and make a yummy after dinner treat.

Leave a Reply

