Whoa what a crowd!

Well well friends, here we are.  Thursday night… which is only my second fave night compared to Friday night 😛

So remember that lil’ trip to Whole Foods I had planned after work?  Well I think that the rest of Richmond decided to treat themselves to the same adventure tonight too, my goodness I’ve never seen such a crowd there!  The snow panic begins…. 😉

Original plans were to grab a few things there and head over to Kroger for more basics however plans changed once I realized (a) how crowded Kroger would be if WF looked this way (b) how tired I was as it was fast approaching 6pm and (c) that Lucy Dog probably would’ve killed me if I didn’t get home and let that poor thing out!

Let’s face it, it’s not like I was really thattttt upset about having to shop for everything at the mecca of grocery stores 😉 

And you know what I realized, I really didn’t end up spending a considerable amount more if you exclude the 3 bottles of wine & specialty beer for Mr. Man there for what we needed and I feel so good about all of my purchases!  Lesson learned:  shop smart at Whole Foods and you shall be rewarded!

Once I got home it was time to get started on dinner, which I knew was going to involve:

  • sweet potatoes
  • pork
  • TJs apple cranberry chutney
  • bleu cheese

Right when I got home I threw the s.taters into a 375F oven before I got myself in order and settled in, they need some time to bake and I really prefer baked vs. microwaved so let them do their thang while I did mine 🙂

Then it was time to start putting some things together…. here’s what I came up with!

Pork w/ Apples, Onions & Apple Cranberry Chutney

We picked up some boneless pork chops from Tom Leonards last weekend that I knew I wanted to pair with the TJs Apple Cranberry Chutney that fanatic Mom (my bff-f) was nice enough to stock up for me – this stuff is legit!

I also thought might as well throw in some onion & apple to go with, using my beloved Coconut Oil for cooking since we were going with a sweet/savory mix (ahhh can’t tell you enough how much I adore this stuff!)

  • 4 bonless pork chops
  • 1 tblsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 apple, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • Trader Joe’s Apple Cranberry Chutney (1/2 jar)
  • H2O
  • S&P

 First I gave the onion & apple a quick saute in the coconut oil

 Then I removed them from the pan, sprayed with some cooking spray and threw in the pork (which I had seasoned w/ S&P on both sides) just until it browned on the outside

Then I spooned on some of the chutney and topped with the set aside apples & onions, dropping in a lil’ bit of water and covering to cook until the pork was dunzo!

At that point, I removed the pork from the pan and left it uncovered for a few minutes so the “sauce” could reduce down a bit before making it’s way onto the plate 🙂

  

Pork, the other white meat?

Baked Sweet Potatoes w/ Bleu Cheese & Hazelnuts

To go along with I decided to do a fun twist on classic sweet potatoes, one that I thought would compliment the pork nicely…. so I scrounged up these friends for some help!

After the sweet potaters were done baking (375F for about an hour total) I topped with a small amount of Saga Bleu Cheese (<3 this stuff, little goes a long way!) and some chopped hazelnuts!  Popped them back in the oven for 5 to melt up and voila!

Oh friends, if you like bleu cheese, this is the dish for you!  I really was skeptical at how this would go over, however we both declared this one of our favorite side dishes ever!!!!  The Man claimed this twist on the traditional baked sweet potato to be one his fave flavor combos – booyah 😛

I think he inflates my cooking ego a bit too much sometimes, no 😉

Spring Mix w/ Apple, Onion & Hazelnuts

To carry on with the apple & hazelnut theme and tie the meal together I made up a quick salad with these guys

  • spring mix
  • apple
  • onion
  • hazelnuts

Perfect dinner to end round out the week 🙂  I really liked how all the flavors somehow related to each other too!

Well things are lookin’ a lil’ “iffy” for tomorrow.  The “wintery precip” is scheduled to begin falling in the morning on our side of town so I’m playing the work thing by ear I think… but we are all prepared to get cozied up for another snowy weekend that’s for sure (hello food hoarders, here I come haha) 😉

Here’s to a fabulous Thursday night for all you friends and see you tomorrow from a potentially winter wonderland?!

And you know what’s up for tomorrow right?  Chobani Giveaway WINNER!!!!  Last night to get those entries in my lovelies 🙂

10 responses to “Whoa what a crowd!

  1. This is the second time this week I’ve seen apples + onions. I guess it’s better than it sounds! And the TJ’s chutney sounds AMAZING. Is there any TJ’s product that isn’t?

  2. Oh yum girl, I don’t even eat pork and that looks out of this world!!!
    Apples and onions rock… as I found out last night 🙂

    And I feel you on the weather thing. People go NUTS when there is even a thread of snowflake haha

  3. I agree 100% about the Whole Foods thing. I often choose Whole Foods over Kroger because I know that I can actually get better quality food at about the same price. This is especially true if you buy a lot of organic food anyway, which we do. The problem for me is getting sucked in and purchasing more items than I intended.

  4. I hear about WHF madness…we went yesterday and people are loading up : ) Stay safe!!
    I love hazelnuts, have not them in awhile…ummm…I see them in my future!

  5. Hi There! I’m a new reader and I just love your blog. I live in Arlington and you should see the snow craziness going on here. I ran out to Harris Teeter at 10:15 last night – no produce, bread, or milk left! Stay safe this weekend and enjoy – are we ever going to get a break with these winter storms!?!

    • Hey! I’m so glad you stopped by! Oh I heard about the snow up in NoVa (my best friend lives in Arlington too!) and ya’ll are in for some serious stuff today phew. You stay warm and safe as well – and we’ll just have to pray to the warm weather gods that this wintery weather ends soon! 🙂

  6. Hey hey! How are you doing? I cannot believe how much snow ya’ll are going to get! Pretty much the whole team I work with is up in McLean area, so I’ve been hearing a lot about the madness. We’re supposed to just get drowned in rain down here. Charleston is def going to flood over! Ah! Love WFs. I just enjoy walking around that store. Can I just say- your dinners always look amazing. Your husband should feel lucky that you put time into making up healthy & delicious meals. I agree- baked sweet tatoes are wayyyyyy better than microwaved. Have a good one- stay warm

    • Thanks so much for this sweet comment girl! I think The Man is grateful for the meals I prepare, he is really good about telling me all the time how much he loves my cooking and appreciates it 🙂 You stay safe in all this rain and I’ll try to keep the snow under control :/ Happy Friday dear!

  7. Um ok if ever I was going to drive straight down there for dinner it would be for this one. Holy yum!!!!

  8. Pingback: Chilly Rainy Night Dinner « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

