Glowingly blue

Hey hey hey friends!!Β  Well we had quite the eventful day with that lil’ storm that made it’s way up the east coast πŸ˜›

The cars were buried!!

Towards the end of it the sun tried to peak outta the clouds & as night was falling there was this gorgeous blue “glow” all around (no tricks with the camera here, I promise, this was an auto flash setting!)

Β 

Purty-lic-ious πŸ™‚

Well dinner tonight was a last minute decision since I could not seem to come up with a final plan until late in the day!Β  So I went with a comforting dish after a suggestion of sloppy joes fromΒ  Mr. Man.

After perusing a few sloppy joe recipes & taking into account that we had no ground meat,Β I came up with my own take on this classic:

Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joes

  • 4 small chicken breasts (unpic)
  • 2 small onions
  • 3-4 stalk celery
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 tblsp tomato paste
  • 3 tblsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tblsp brown sugar
  • 1 tblsp worcestershire
  • 1/8 cup Frank’s hot sauce
  • EVOO
  • S&P

1. Boil chicken breasts in enough water to cover, about 15 minutes until cooked.Β  Remove from water & shred using 2 fork method.Β  Save boiling water.

2. Chop onions & celery, adding to 1 tblsp EVOO and sauteing until tender.Β  Mince garlic and add towards end, plus S&P.

3. Then lower temp to med-low and stir in tomato paste, vinegar, brown sugar, worcestershire, Frank’s hot sauce and 1 3/4 cups of reserved cooking water.

4. Let warm through before adding shredded chicken breast and some more S&P.

At this point just turn it down to warm and get the rest of dinner ready, flavors get better w/ time πŸ™‚ (at a safe temp of course – food safety police this girl I tell ya!)

To go with our sloppy chicken joes I made some pepper jack potatoes using this cheesy lurve

Β 

Plus some sunshine yellow corn πŸ™‚

Served them all up, sloppy joes on some whole wheat toast (no buns +Β snowy roads = make do with what ya got!)

I really enjoyed this random recipe and The Man did too!Β  Can’t wait for leftovers, this kinda stuff only gets even better with time πŸ˜›

Alright, I’m off to watch a movie (story of my life these snowy days?)Β  I hope that you friends have a wonderful night & see ya’ll tomorrow!

15 responses to “Glowingly blue

  1. Didn’t see the blue tonight, but have seen the pink many times….pink in the morning, sailors’warning, pink at night sailors’ delight. Always proves true from my observations.

  2. BTW dinner looked delish!

  3. Just came across you blog! Your Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joe sounds absolutely divine.

  4. Those sloppy joes look so good – Andrew and I would love those!! Maybe add a little crumbled blue cheese too?!! πŸ˜‰ Mmmmmm!!

    • Yes, bleu cheese on top would be soooo good! We actually had the bottle of bleu cheese dressing out for use but neither of us went for it tonight, not sure why? But I def think it would be fabulous on top for sure!

  5. Those sloppy joes sound awesome!

  6. Can you believe I’ve never had a sloppy joe? I hate being messy! These do look good, though πŸ™‚ That’s so much snow! Hope you’re staying warm!

  7. I LOVE sloppy joes. Haven’t met one I didn’t like yet! πŸ˜‰

    I HOPE it’s stopped snowing there by now! Do you think you’ll be able to get out for work tomorrow? (It’d be kind of nice if not…right?!)

    • They have actually gotten pretty good at this street clearing thing here after all these storms – our roads are fine (?!) – exception: neighborhood. So if I can get out of the neighborhood then I think I’ll be okay, unfortunately πŸ˜‰

  8. That looks good!! You come up with the best recipes, amazing.

  9. Snow, snow and more snow. Are we ever going to be able to get out?

  10. mother nature is screwing you over big time this weekend. I just want to hibernate for the rest of the winter!

  11. I remember sloppy joes as a kid. My mom always use to make it…YUM!!

  12. Those pictures are so pretty of the snow! And the sloppy joes sound incredible. It might even be good on a salad….

Leave a Reply

