Back to basics

Well hello there friends!  It’s been quite the day here at the fanatic house (housebound day 4 in a row…. not that I’m counting?)

After many uncomfortable hours in bed, my temperature decided to take a trip up to 102 land for most of the day… yea, that was fun.  But after that things started to finally get better.

Anyways, I’m not one to sit back & complain excessively, so I called the ENT and have an appointment first thing in the morning.  They had a random cancellation that I scooped up bc otherwise it was gonna by March before I could get seen.  Meant to be perhaps?

And I have to tell you how wonderful all of your sweet & supportive comments were for me today.  I think that sometimes the blog world really just amazes me, people you have never “met” that feel like great friends 🙂

Fom Erica telling me about her experiences and making me feel better to Jenna offering to send me bloggie goodies (watch out, I know you live near PBLoco girl 😉 ), I seriously appreciate all the kind words that ya’ll had for me.  Maybe it’s fever delerium, or I’m just a sap, but it brings tears to my eyes.  Seriously friends.

Well since I really didn’t eat much all day (which NEVER happens) once dinner rolled around I was ready for something in my tummy needless to say.  Quick and simple was the name of the game tonight, and quite honestly I needed some “basic” flavors thanks to my crazy tastebuds which are still a bit off!

  • Half package Laura’s lean ground beef
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 1 can Italian diced tomatoes
  • ½ block Mozzarella, shredded
  • Whole wheat penne, cooked & drained
  • EVOO, S&P, Oregano

While the pasta cooks give the chopped onion a quick sauté in EVOO.

Then add the ground beef and some S&P, cooking until done.

At this point dump in the can of tomatoes & some dried oregano

Then find some crazy man-cook that will shred yo’ cheese & make funny faces while doing it haha 😛

Add in the cooked, drained pasta

Top with cheese, put a lid on it and let the cheese melt up nice and purty.

Voila!

Plus a side salad to go with and dinner is served 🙂

After not having an appetite all day it was nice to get some real food in my stomach!  Even if it was just a lil’ bit.

Well friends, I’m off to get some rest (16 hours of sleep not yet enough?) and get ready for my appointment with the ENT tomorrow bright and early.  Guess I’ll have some more news by then.   Oh yes, and we are getting more snow tomorrow, not even phased at this point I think haha.

Have a wonderful night! 🙂

8 responses to “Back to basics

  1. You poor thing!! Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling icky today!! 😦 Take care of yourself. Your dinner looks so comforting and delicious!!

  2. Hey, you let yourself sleep all you need to. Cute picture of the man shredding cheese – he looks very focused! 🙂

  3. Glad to see that you are feeling better 🙂 Good luck with your appointment tomorrow. We will have you in our thoughts! Love your kitchen helper 😉

  4. Glad you got an appt. Hope he can help you out, ASAP!

    Feel better!

  5. Haaa! That’s a hilarious pic of JC shreddin.

    I had the SAME tonsil problems for YEARS! I got my tonsils out FINALLY about 2 years ago. I will say it was NOT a fun recovery…HOWEVER…since the surgery…i have yet to get really sick! IT totally did the trick. I would recommend getting them out if they’ll let you! Get well soon!

  6. Hope your appointment goes well tomorrow! I heard about the snow from my parents…stay safe and warm!

  7. I hope your appt. with the Ears Nose and Throat Doc goes well. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been in so much pain lately! Hopefully he has good news!

  8. Pingback: Coconut head « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

