Brussels & tonsils?

Hello friends!  How are ya’ll doing today? 🙂

Well I had my visit with the ENT – who is super cool btw and we were talking food/cooking and he wants to check out the blog! – and looks like these tonsils are coming out.  I’m scheduled for next Friday and it’s going to be a 10 day recovery, so have to make arrangements at work and for Mommy dearest to babysit me during the day since apparently I shouldn’t be left alone on all the pain meds :/

And no friends, it is NOT going to be fun, believe me I am NOT excited.  But I know it’s necessary and in the end will be worth it.

Oh and doc dropped the exercise bomb on me too – no workouts for 3 weeks while I heal!!!!  I think that was the hardest to hear, I haven’t taken that much time off exercise in over 3 years 😦   So I’m a bit “grouchy” about that news I’m not gonna sugarcoat it for you… I guess that starting tomorrow I will have to get a week’s worth of the best workouts ever in to prepare.

But we’re here for food, right?  Which I can finally eat again and have a week to enjoy until d-day, when “smooth and slippy” foods will be all I can depend on 😛 

Lunch eats included a new yogurt I picked up using a coupon I had:

YoPlus w/ antioxidants, probiotics, fiber, calcium & vitamin D

Brussels Sprouts served Valentine’s Day style 🙂

Turkey & Cheese sammie w/ the best mustard ever

 

Nice to eat normally again, sheesh I don’t know how I’m gonna do this 10 day thing?!

Well I think I’m on the up from this recent illness, I had quite the fever again last night but am definitely feeling better today vs. yesterday.  I am at home yet again today due to the fever I was running upon waking up this morning too, but hoping that I can get to some work by this afternoon/this evening.  I hate missing this much time!

And before I go, check out this amazinggggg giveaway from my girls @Pure2Raw who make some of the most fabulous desserts (did I mention they are also raw & healthy) that I have ever had! 🙂

Hope all you lovelies have a wonderful day and I’ll see you tonight for dinner!

15 responses to “Brussels & tonsils?

  1. Sorry to hear about your tonsils. I’m sure your sweet mom with take good care of you, though 😀

  2. Ahh, I’m sorry girl. 😦 My bro had his tonsils out last year and it was rough, but he is so much better now – he never gets sick! You will pull thru. 🙂

  3. only 10 days?? brace yourself for longer, my love. my friend too almost 6 weeks to completely heal! ouch!!!! let me know if you need anything!

    • I hope that was just a one-time case bc this doctor has done alot of these surgeries and that definitely was never mentioned… they said to prepare to take 10 days off work and sometimes a little more/less depending on the person. Don’t scare me like this!!!! I can’t take 6 weeks off work either, I’ll never get my Black Belt!

  4. Awwwwwww sweetie, I’m sorry. But just think, after this, you won’t have to worry about throat issues!!!!!

    Btw, did the doc go over what you will be able to eat at all? Just in case I need to make a special package and all. 🙂

    • Hey girl! I think I’ll be limited to liquids only for a few days, then into jello, custard, mashed potatoes, scrambled eggs and the such… should make for an interesting week or 2 of blogging hahaha 😛 You are so sweet to offer to send a special package, if I can’t eat it post-surgery then I know I will eventually be able to soon after! You rock girl, thanks for being so supportive 🙂

  5. Sorry about the tonsils, that’s a bummer, but you’re right, worth it in the end! Just think positive, you can’t work out, but you won’t feel like eating much either…so you should be fine!

  6. Yikes that does not sound like fun. No lie I would have had the same reaction as you about the no exericise rule. Just think how refreshed you are gonna be when you hit it again though 🙂 Trying to find the silver lining here…

  7. Sorry to hear about the diagnosis 😦 I had mine out when I was 10 and all I remember is eating TONS of water ice. 3 weeks will pass pretty quickly- just keep in mind that this is the last time you’ll ever be dealing with tonsillitis! Feel better 🙂

  8. louisianagrown

    I know I would also be really upset if I had to take three weeks off from exercise, but you’ve gotta look on the bright side at times like this. You’re going to be SO motivated and excited when you can finally work out again!

  9. aw i’m so sorry girl — hang in thre.. tonsils are totally overrated any way 😉 Keeping you in my thoughts!

  10. Oh no, so sorry to hear this. I couldn’t work out for a week after getting my wisdom teeth out and that sucked. But, I’m sure the time will go by fast and before you know it you’ll be back to your normal self sans tonsils!! 🙂

  11. Oh, no! I’m so sorry to hear that, girl…but you are such a positive person, you can get through this. I know three weeks seems like forever, but at least it’s during winter (it’s so hard to be inactive during the summer, for me at least!) AND think about all of the sick days this will save you in the long run. My friend had hers out and she was “back to herself” in 2-3 weeks. Can you eat ice cream during recovery? 😉

  12. That doesn’t sound like fun! I think you better stock up on your Chobani…because it really is the best!

  13. Good luck. It definitely took me two weeks to get back to work, and three weeks to feel almost 100%.

    The doctor told my mom to let me eat WHATEVER I wanted. However, I could only eat in the 1-2 hours AFTER taking the percoset. Stay away from extreme cold or hot food, or acidic food (like tomato soup). They will not be your friend.

    Anecdote: a week after the surgery, it took me an hour and a half to eat a PB&J!!

Leave a Reply

