Comfort classic wins again!

Good evening my friends!

Well, I think the fever has left the proverbial building and only a less than terrible throatache remains… I’ll take it. 

Tastebuds = still a bit off 😉  Plus it still isn’t 100% fun to eat quite yet – I forgot to mention that I scalded the roof of my mouth (never felt such pain) on a microwaved egg white (never doing this again! gets dangerously hot!) this weekend which is brutal when I swallow…. I’m my own worst enemy?! hahaha I tell ya

All I wanted tonight was something easy to chew/swallow  a basic, home cooked meal – so sue me 😛

Tonight’s plans included chicken that I had defrosted, and here’s how it came together:

  • 2 chicken breasts, chopped
  • 2 small onions, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 package frozen broccoli
  • 1 can Health Valley Organic Cream of Mushroom (obsessed?)
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • EVOO, S&P

This recipe is a breeze, even with medicine head & fever delerium – trust me 😉

First get started with the brown rice, cook according to directions which takes about 40 minutes.

Then prep the veggies:

  1. chop onions
  2. mince garlic
  3. microwave frozen broc in a touch of H2O for about 3 minutes to partially cook
  4. chop chicken

Then just put it all together, 1 layer at a time!

Saute onions in EVOO for a few minutes until translucent, throw in garlic for another minute and then finish with the broccoli.  Lil’ S&P never hurts either!

Add the chicken, which I do by pushing the veg to the outer edges of the pan and throwing the meat in the middle to brown up – less pans to wash, yes please 🙂

Once the chicken is browned a lil’ then give it a good stir and add the can of cream of mushroom soup.

Now all you have to do is cover this bad boy ’til the rice is done and you are ready to assemble!

Rice

 

Broc Veg mixture

Shredded cheese

About 10 minutes in a 375F oven (or until cheese is melted) and you got yourself 1 cheesy delicious, comforting meal!

 

Works like a charm every time… even if I did have to chew it to a mush before it went down the hatch hahaha (tmi?!) 😛

Dessert shall be my new bff ricotta, topped with syrup & pumpkin pie spice ❤

Since I don’t have my buddy here to watch American Idol with me 😦  He has his first basketball game, came home with some snazzy new kicks and was off…!

Alright ya’ll, time to snuggle up with Lucy before an early bedtime.  I really want to make it to work tomorrow (hear that impending snowy weather + throat?!)

And thanks again for ALL YOUR SUPPORT these past few days with the tonsil/throat issues, you guys are seriously a huge part of the support system that keeps me going during these ‘less than stellar” times, if you will – and that is something I can never thank you for enough!

Have a lovely night everyone 🙂

8 responses to “Comfort classic wins again!

  1. dooooooooood – microwave egg whites are a BEOTCH! I swear, they take 10 minutes to cool. Not ideal when I’m ravenous! Needless to say i’ve had many tongue burning incidents!

  2. GAH! Burnt mouth of any sorts is NOT fun. I’m sorry 😦 But the cool and creamy ricotta had to help. Smart girl!

    I am hoping that you are feeling mucho better tomorrow dear! Oh, and that the snow misses you too, of course.

  3. Gosh that sounds goood and so comforting!!

  4. Glad to hear you’re feeling better! I love the idea of ricotta with syrup for dessert!

  5. Glad to hear your are doing better. I hate when my taste buds are off. And especially hate when I burn my mouth on hot cocoa ; )

  6. Yikes lady this is just not your week! Idol was so good last night…I love Hollywood week!

  7. I burn my mouth almost every morning. I get to anxious for my coffee 🙂

    Love nights home with my poochies! Best R&R ever!

  8. Girl, you are my HERO(ine!) for continuing to cook even when you’re sick! That casserole dish looks SO good, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

