Back to the positivity!

Well hello there all you wonderful friends 🙂

I’ve decided from here on out I am back to the positivity & my love for all things food (uhhh exercise may have to wait til I get better, sorry body 😉 )… but I must say it felt good to get all the throat frustrations out and to be the recipient of such kindness from all of you!

This morning started out with a lovely smoothie, which was delicious I must say! 

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup chocolate milk (hey, I’m sick alright :P)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • ice
  • 1/2 packet Amazing Grass wheatgrass
  • 1 tsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp Tropical Traditions coconut oil

Speaking of the last ingredient on that list, last night Mr. UPS delivered a most glorious package that may have brightened my day just a lil’ bit more (who am I kidding, I was uber-excited!)

I think ya’ll are in the loop on the fact that I have become minorly obsessed with the fabulous Coconut Oil thanks to my fave girls introducing me to it 🙂  

The kind friends over at Tropical Traditions were nice enough to send me some of their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil to try out *squeals with excitement*  If you have a minute definitely check out all the wonderful things about this specific product, I think you will be impressed 😉

  • USDA certified organic
  • No hydrogenation or trans fats
  • Hand-made, not machine-made… and more!

Check out their sweet referral program too!

So back to the smoothie!!  All blended together it was the most beautiful shade of uhhhh brown… but looks can be deceiving, right?

This was delicious!  I could really taste the coconut flavor throughout (and luckily not the wheatgrass mwuhaha) and the smoothie really hit the spot.  Friends, if you haven’t read about the benefits of coconut oil before I really encourage you do so… this stuff is fascinating!

I can’t wait to use the product in some of my cooking adventures very soon, so far I have been very impressed! 🙂 

Oh yes, and if ya’ll are curious to try some of this great stuff, then stay tuned… you know what that means?!?!?! 😉

For lunch I whipped up a culinary special, scrambled eggs!  Yep, you’re lookin’ at the only “solid food” I’ve been able to eat in 2 days – eggie, I love you, let’s get married.

“What, she is putting cream cheese in her eggs?!?!!”

Yes.  I am.  And I did.  And it’s delicious.  Don’t hate 😛

Of course I had to let them cool off completely (can’t eat any hot/warm foods with this throat – ouch!) but I was okay with that.

Well since I seem to be somewhat ‘with the program’ today I have been tackling some work from home which feels so goooood.  Hey, you try staying in the house for 6 days straight, then you let me know how you feel hahaha 🙂

So that’s pretty much all for now, The Man is at work and then headed to his parents for dinner so looks like it’s me and the pup for the long haul. 

What. A. Diva.

Looks like someone lost their razor – Mountain Man 😛

I’m definitely getting a bit lonely, not gonna lie.  Oh well, it’s only temporary! 

Not sure what’s on the agenda for dinner, if my throat continues to improve then maybe I’ll ease back into some chewables.  Ahhh life would be good 🙂

Have a lovely Thursday friends, and just think, Friday is right around the corner!

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product.

11 responses to “Back to the positivity!

  1. First of all, I could eat the food on your header every single day and not get sick of it! 😀

    And a question – is coconut oil sweet? I’ve heard of coconut milk, but not oil, so a bit confused.

    And your lab is adorable – we have a black lab too – his name is Ed 😀

    • Thanks so much! 🙂

      The coconut oil smells/taste just like coconut does, so a bit different than coconut milk I think. It adds a lovely flavor to smoothies, but is also great to cook with in certain dishes. I made a butternut squash/chicken/onion saute with it and served with pasta and the flavor was incredible – not really “coconutty” but just darn good. The coconut oil is actually in solid form until warmed, so it’s great for baking as well. I adore this stuff, I even use it to wash my face every night after reading about it on the Pure2Raw girls site!

  2. Glad you spirits are up!

    If you like the amazing grass, check out the giveaway on my blog!

  3. Alright, my next smoothie is definitely going to have some coconut oil. I’m convinced 🙂

  4. Hey lady. I wanted to tell you that yes, my protein powder is indeed from GNC. Give it a whirl, it is tasty. 🙂

    I am so glad your spirits are up. Oh, and you KNOW I would never hate on you for adding in the cream cheese to your eggs. You know I would do the same, muahaha.

  5. I just bought coconut oil myself reading about how good it was for you. And I noticed you used organic eggs. I just watched Food Inc, and now I’m going to be buying organic all the time.

  6. I plan to try coconut oil in my smoothie next time.

  7. coconut oil has been dominating blogworld as of late.. I gotta jump on that.

  8. louisianagrown

    Glad to see you’re feeling better, and I totally don’t judge you for putting cream cheese in your scrambled eggs. I put some in my egg sandwich this morning!

  9. mmm coconut oil = LOVE… that smoothie sounds delish!

  10. I’m looking for coconut oil (for my skin, not for food…unfortunately I don’t like the taste of coconut – I’m weird!) this weekend at Whole Foods! That smoothie probably hit the spot. And you def. deserve some chocolate milk, girl!!

Leave a Reply

