Missin’ the crunch!

Well happy Thursday night to ya friends! 

Lucy Dog and I have had quite the productive day here on the homefront since I have gotten rid of this fever and only really dealing with the eating/swallowing pain now.  And yes, apparently I talk to dogs… bc I just may be certifiable after 7 straight days in this house 😉  Just sayin’…

Got some work done from home, laundry put away and I even made a quick trip to Whole Foods & Trader Joe’s for some smoothie making essentials – since I don’t think eating ice cream & eggs is gonna cut it in the nutrient department until my throat heals.

Frozen blueberries, mangoes & strawberries – yum!  So there is a very limited amount of fruit I can eat right now considering my throat can’t handle anything acidic (think of getting lemon juice on a cut, stings right? yea, same effect on the ol’ throat…. no thanks.)  Stawberries may be stretching it haha 😛

Kefir which I’ve read about on a few blogs so far & have been curious to try.  It’s kinda like a more liquid version of yogurt, plus probiotics are my friend right now considering I’m still on antibiotics – got it ladies?

Brown Rice Protein since I know that I am going to need to make sure I get enough protein as I won’t be eating my usual sources, this will supplement the massive quantity of eggs that I have been consuming

Coconut Milk just ’cause 😉

So first up was a smoothie creation using these guys:

Oh, I guess I forgot to mention that I grabbed some spinach too!  This is my first time adding it to a smoothie, and although I was a bit skeptical, you seriously don’t even notice it’s there bc of all the other wonderful flavors 🙂 

I’m going to try to trick The Man soon, since he has already stated that he will “most definitely NOT like spinach in a smoothie, ewww gross!” haha I’ll take this one into my ownnnnnn hands for fixin’ 😉

I also added in a bit of the infamous coconut oil!

Plus a lil’ touch of this old friend that the kind folks at XAgave sent me a while back & that I love 🙂

After a smoothhhhhh ride in the blender, check it out!

Mmmm mmmm good… although I could taste the brown rice protein powder a bit, but I’m sure I’ll get used to that.

Dinner tonight was a lil’ bit more of “un-cooking” if you will….

  • Hard boiled egg whites (I hate hard boiled yolks?)
  • Avocado (which in fact must be slightly acidic, as my throat so kindly reminded me)
  • Blueberry/Banana Oats (first try with oats since being sick!)

And don’t worry friends, I am just itchin’ to get back in the kitchen and cook so I will definitely be doing so very soon.  It may not be for me, but I gots a 6’4″ man to feed!  He just happens to be having dinner with his parents tonight so tomorrow it is 😉

Before I go get ready for Grey’s & my OC Ladies, how about a lil’ game of “want to know what I miss?”

I miss the “crunch” of foods!  I have a real thing with textural satisfaction, as in I normally have cravings based on not only taste but also textures of foods…. needless to say my “crunch” craving is not liking me right now haha!

Oh yea, and Steph without caffeine since Saturday is quite amusing too haha… maybe this will be a good time to quit?!

Alright ya’ll, get your Friday party hats on bc it’s that time again!  And get this, only minimal snow on the forecast for us this weekend – scoreeeeee!!!!!!!!  It’s been a while….  Happy Thursday night friends 🙂

9 responses to “Missin’ the crunch!

  1. Haha, happy Steph IS back, I love the Friday party hats! At first when I read it, I thought it said pants. I’ll just say I have my Friday party hat and pants on, lol.

    What do you mean ice cream isn’t going to cut it until you are better??? Doesn’t ice cream fix anything? J/k, for reals, your doing a great job with the limited eats you are able to consume. 🙂

    Nighty night!

  2. That smoothie looks amazing! I remember when I used to get tonsillitis as a kid and all I could eat was watermelon water ice…not fun. Hope it keeps getting better!

  3. Love spinach with smoothies! I have to drink a smoothie with it now no matter what and it just makes it a gorgeous green color!

    Is it wrong that I am contemplating driving two hours just to go to Whole Foods? I didn’t think so either 🙂

  4. Ya brown rice has a funny taste, well we think so. But welcome to the land of smoothies, there are so many options. We will send you some ideas!! And I look forward to see how you like coconut kefir. We love it over here ; )

  5. Oh I love smoothies… so versatile and so delicious! Hope you feel better soon!

  6. love smooothies! that looks great!

  7. louisianagrown

    You guys must have sent all of your snow down here. It’s nuts!

  8. girl howd you like grey’s last night!??! is it just me or does McSteamy get sexier every episode. dannnnnng.

Leave a Reply

