His & Hers Dinners

Hey hey hey!

Well I’m backkkkk, and just spent some time in the kitchen since my ‘cooking soul’ felt like it was dyingggggg…. revived!  Well, in that sense at least 😉

Tonight was a his & hers dinner kinda night, since “he” prefers meattttt and since “she” can swallow or eat hot, solid foods quite yet…. yea yea yea.

HIS:  Homemade tacos!

From the tortilla to the guac (I was feelin’ ambitious, it had been a while 🙂 )

HERS:  ????

For the sake of not making this the longest.post.ever. how abouts I highlight The Man’s dinner tonight, then meet ya back here tomorrow for some more about mine 🙂  Kapeesh?

Tortillas

Who ever knew that making tortillas from scratch is seriously so easy for such a “sounds intimidating” ordeal!

Just knead the dough until incorporated, roll into a ball and divide into 8 equal pieces.

I would also recommend warming up the coconut oil (put in small container, run warm water over it) so that it is easier to mix into the dough evenly.  Coconut oil, at room temp, is in a solid state.

 

Then take each piece, roll into a ball and flatten into whatever thickness suits you.  Layer using some towels to avoid stickage and let ’em rest for 30 minutes or so, covered.

Then get a skillet nice n’ hot (about medium-high) and drop the tortillas on to cook, 1 by 1.  They need about 1 minute on each side, or until the golden spots appear!

Voila… bet you can’t guess how badly I wanted to taste these fresh and warm off the stove, I was seriously contemplating if the pain of swallowing this carby treat was worth it hahaha.  So I compromised with myself, definitely did the chew and spit, so ‘Hollywood’, no? 😛

I am ridiculous.

Guacamole

  • 1 avocado
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • few spoonfuls chopped onion
  • salt

Wished we had a lime, but alas we did not, as I am deathly afraid of this citrus fruit’s pain potential to my throat right now.  Who am I kidding, I couldn’t even eat the tomatoes, stupid tonsils 😉

Meat

  • 1/2lb natural ground beef
  • 1/4 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 chipotle in adobo (not 1 can, unless you really hate your tongue)
  • chili powder
  • S&P
  • salsa

First saute up the onions for a few, then add the garlic and the ground beef and cook until browned.  Then add the chipotle, chili powder, S&P and a spoonful of salsa to finish it off.  Did I mention I hate taco seasoning packets?  Bleh….

Let’s review the final product, shall we?

I want one.  Now.  Too bad Steph, not this time….  The Man sure did enjoy though!  So mission accomplished 🙂

And I’ll be back tomorrow to let you in on what I made for “Her” part of the dinner. 

Hint:  A lil’ loaner gift from fanatic Mom was involved!

Booyah – that thing is suuuu-weeeeet!!!  Is it too early to put it on the Christmas list?  Just sayin…

Alright, we’re off to rent a movie and get some ice cream, it’s a low key kinda night here following nicely in this week’s footsteps haha. 

Happy Friday friends, have a wonderful night 🙂

7 responses to “His & Hers Dinners

  1. I love that you made your own guac- I’m obsessed with the stuff but have never made it! Looks yummy!

  2. that guac sounds GREAT!! and love the dinners-i feel like when i get married im gona have to make seperate dinners sometimes..ahh!

  3. It’s that easy to make tortillas, are you kidding?? Bring. It. On. I have a feeling if I start making my own, I will make them every night!

  4. Those homemade tortillas look delicious! You rock!

  5. Pingback: “Hers” dinner « CookinFanatic

  6. Homemade tortilla?? Truly amazing girl…and love the guac!! Looks yummy ; )

  7. hey!
    i just came across your blog and i can’t wait to keep reading!
    i would love it if you could check out mine and follow 🙂
    jenna

Leave a Reply

