Mashin’ fool!

Well well well, how’s it going friends?!

Hasn’t this weekend has just flown by?  I’m loving that it’s gorgeous, warm & sunny out too!

I’ve been doing surprisingly well since the surgery, even running some errands with Mom and having no trouble eating the suggested foods too 🙂  I really hope it continues to go this well, bc this is nothing like what I expected!  The virus I had 2 weeks ago that sent me to the ER was worse than this, pretty crazy huh?

I’ve been ‘eating’ all kinds of smoothies which feel so good on the throat.  No dairy allowed yet though, thank God for almond milk & coconut milk!

Mom took me to get tons of smoothie staples yesterday too, so I’m pretty stacked.  Bloggies, meet my new friends 😛

I am also loving this new-to-me fabulous treat!  Coconut milk ice cream is heaven…. for real.

Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream

For lunch today I decided that I needed a break from all the smoothie action however.  Working with limited options here I decided to whip up some mashed taters, in 2 forms!

Sweet Potato, Coconut & PB ‘Mash’

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled & chopped into large chunks
  • 1/2 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 tblsp peanut butter

Peeled, boiled & drained the sweet taters.  Added in the coconut milk and got the immersion blender ready for a spin!

Makes life so easy, seriously?  I also added about 1/2 cup water to thin out a bit more.

Then did a lil’ something that I’ve been seeing in blog land – peanut buttah on the sweet tater puree !

Just give it a swirl right into the pot 🙂

Up next…

Potato, Corn & Coconut ‘Soup’

Rounded up the 3 basic ingredients

  • 4 small potatoes, peeled & chopped
  • half bag frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup light coconut milk

Boiled up the potatoes until almost done, adding in the frozen corn to heat up before draining.

Then poured in the coconut milk and about 1/2 cup water and let the immersion blender work its magic 🙂

All together now – diet o’ mush!

But for real, the sweet potato/pb/coconut mash was seriously sooooooooo good

SWEET POTATO + PEANUT BUTTER + COCONUT = MATCH MADE IN HEAVEN

I could definitely see myself making this post-mush diet as a yummy side dish one night 🙂  It would pair beautifully with a number of main dishes that are already swirling around in my solid-food-deprived head 😉

The potato mash hit the spot too, however it definitely was not superior to the sweet taters!

Well not much on the agenda today, getting lots of rest and watching more tv.  It’s been a pretty funny past few days around here too, considering I  haven’t spoken a word since Friday morning!  Mom, The Man and I have been playing some major games of charades – supplemented with the paper/pen method. 

Let’s just say that charades is not my strong suit, and if you knew how much I usually ran my mouth you would realize how eerily quiet it is around here 😛  But I think that staying quiet is really aiding in my healing, so quiet I shall stay!

Hope all of you have a wonderful day and I’ll see you back tonight! 

P.S. I’m making The Man a fun & delicious dinner so I hope to see you later for that 🙂

3 MORE DAYS UNTIL THE GIVEAWAY WINNER IS ANNOUNCED!  KEEP THOSE ENTRIES COMING!

6 responses to “Mashin’ fool!

  1. That immersion blender is the best invention ever! Note to immersion blender: Will I ever see you again? Have you left me for another cook who makes better use of you than I did?

  2. Oh the soup looks yummy! I’m glad you are feeling okay. Not to scare you but tomorrow could be the real test….3 days after ‘surgery’ is sometimes the worst, but hopefully I am wrong!

  3. So happy to hear your recovery is going so well!! 🙂 Your mush all looks quite yummy!! 😉

  4. Glad to hear you’re healing well! That sweet potato mash looks and sounds delicious. I just tried nut butter on sweet taters and it was amazing! Keep feeling better!

  5. Your mashes look delicious! I have never thought about adding coconut milk to sweet potatoes but now that you mention it, I think it’s pure geniius. I love the Light Coconut milk from TJ’s too, I used to use it in my smoothies and it tasted like I was sipping a pina colada on the beach. Yummm. Glad to hear your recovering well!

  6. Both of your mashes look amazing 🙂 YUM! So glad that you are finding great eats and that the smoothies are working out for you!!! You know we love anything with coconut!

Leave a Reply

