A milkshake that had fallen from the heavens

Well hey there friends!  Happy Monday to ya 🙂

I am thrilled to report that things are still going smoothly on the post-surgery front.  I slept through the entire night (8 solid hours!) without waking up or needing meds.  Mom spoke with the nurse today about my progress and she indicated that I am really a rare case as far as my recovery going so well thus far!!

Of course it’s not over yet, however the past three days after surgery were far better than that virus I had just 2 weeks back, seriously.  The throat pain is nothing like what they told me it would be?  I’m not even taking the full dose of medicine!

Needless to say, I am so grateful that things are going this way & praying they continue like this 😀

I really have faith that the foods I am eating are supercharging me through this recovery… but of course that’s just my opinion, I am no doctor 😉   I have been drinking plenty of liquids and also to really aiming to amp up my healthy eats!

Such as this smoothie that I started today out with:

Not so purty blended up, so I’ll spare you the pic, however the taste is fantastic!!

Nurse Mom came over a bit later and we ran some errands together including stopping at Whole Foods to pick up some more recovery essentials:

Well the Pure2Raw girls have done it again…. got me hooked on Kefir and now trying Coconut Kefir.  I love this stuff!  Since I’m on antibiotics we all know that probiotics are essential, however not being able to consume dairy for a few days makes this coconut kefir a blessing!

And not to mention that this So Delicious Coconut Milk chocolate ice cream is the best frozen dessert I have had in a long time.  I am not kidding, I swirled a scoop around with the Coconut Kefir and it was like a milkshake that had fallen from the heavens… 😉

I also had some leftover potato & corn ‘soup’ from yesterday and plan to make up another batch of that sweet potato/peanut butter/coconut lurve tonight as well (I am obsessed & ate it ALL yesterday, so good!)

Mid-afternoon snackage included another… you guessed it… smoothie!

Although I made this one thicker almost like an “ice cream” consistency and ate with a spoon.  It was fab 🙂

Smoothie by candle light???

So fruity & deelish!

Alright well time to catch up on some TV and wait for Nurse Mom to get back from her errands.  I still haven’t spoken aloud since the surgery and I think Lucy Dog is getting really confused by it…. she is really apprehensive to come around me, I think she thinks aliens took over my body or something? 😛

Oh and 1 last little funny for ya – so I can’t bend over to do anything for 2 weeks bc of the surgery & it’s been quite amusing trying to pick things up off floor/in low drawers/etc haha… let’s just say my thighs are burnin’ bc I think I’ve done 780 squats! 😛

I’ll see you tonight for whatever may end up on the agenda, which as long as I’m still feeling okay then I’m cool with whatever that ends up being!

Until then, remember that there’s only 2 more days until the coconut oil giveaway is OV-AH!  Get to it friends 😉

Happy Monday to all of you!

10 responses to “A milkshake that had fallen from the heavens

  1. I am so glad it is going smoothly girl. I didn’t want to scare you, but my brother was out for almost 2 months after surgery he was in so much pain. Glad you are doing well enough to blog!!! 🙂

    • Yea I heard alot of stories like that and I was petrified with the ‘aftermath’ but unless I still haven’t hit the worst of the pain, I really don’t think it’s been that bad? I could just be extremely lucky though? I was able to eat within an hour of being home from hospital and even chowing down on mac n’ cheese last night too…!

      And btw, I’m so glad to see you back in blogland girl 🙂

  2. So glad to hear your having a speedy recovery!! Those are some tasty smoothies you’re having 🙂

  3. glad the recovery is going well so far!

    coconut milk kefir?!? that sounds amazing!

  4. You must be recovering so well since you are so healthy!! 🙂

  5. I am so happy to hear you are doing so well 🙂 I seriously wish I could see how you are getting around these days, I think it would be quite funny!

    And thank goodness for the Fanatic Mom, she’s the best!

  6. That milkshake sounds tasty! Where on earth did you find the coconut kefir?! I’ve been dying to try it but can’t find it anywhere!!

    Glad to hear your recovery is going well- hang in there girl! Have a great week!

  7. Girl look at you and your smoothies! They sound great. I love that So Delicious icecream. To me it tastes just like regular icecream… 🙂

  8. How wonderful that you discovered So Delicious coconut milk kefir. I love it,too, and the healthy probiotics really do promote healing, so it’s great for speeding up your post-surgery recovery time. And yes, you’re right! Purely Decadent chocolate coconut milk ice cream is amazing. I love the way you described mixing the kefir with the ice cream.

Leave a Reply

