Whoomp! There it is

Happy Monday night friends!

Well I made it through most the workday, and I can’t even explain to you how great it felt πŸ™‚

Something to be said about accomplishing productive tasks throughout one’s day that really soothes the soul, at least for me!

When I got home I whipped up my long lost friend….

Strawberries, bananas, almond milk, coconut kefir & coconut oil make for one deelish spoonin’ adventure!

After some rest I got the items together for dinner tonight, takin’ it back to the old school (“cause I’m an old fool who’s so cool”… anyone? haha)

Meatloaf

Yes friends, my first meat eating experience in 11 days….

And as usual, all measurements were just a bit of this plus a bit of that… so I’ll approximate for ya πŸ™‚Β  And ignore the dried basil, I didn’t end up adding it (I’m so all over the place aren’t I?!?!)

  • 1lb ground beef
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 2 tblsp dijon
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tblsp Worcestershire
  • 1 tblsp dried oregano
  • S&P

Mix using the squish and smoosh method – and yes, this is a messy adventure with the hands πŸ˜‰

Then place into a small loaf pan, sprayed with cooking spray.

And now for the secret ingredient… Jessica would be so proud!

After 20 minutes in the oven at 425F and another 30 minutes at 375F, here you have it!

To go alongside this meaty adventure we kept things light with a salad

Β I ended up topping mine with hummus since me & vinegar based salad dressing are at war right now (throat hates anything acidic!) plus I just really don’t “do” creamy most of the time, something about it I don’t love.Β  The hummus was great though!Β  I had to pick off the tomatoes too haha, little buggers hurt πŸ˜›

Served up with some corn for good measure…

This stuff rocked!Β  I haven’t had meatloaf since I don’t know when, it was sooo gooood πŸ™‚

Alright, time to run!Β  Our fave shows are on tonight competing with The Bachelor for attention… somehow I must manage to squeeze them both in (channel flippin’ like whoa? πŸ˜‰ )

See you tomorrow and have a great night!

8 responses to “Whoomp! There it is

  1. Your Man is one lucky, lucky man!! That meatloaf looks like something Andrew would LOVE, esp with the bacon on top!!

  2. dare I say this looks better than my mama’s meatloaf! (do me a favor and don’t tell her I said that, k? thanks).

  3. Haha, I love that you brought up a Meatloaf song…perfect for this post! Have a great night!

  4. Strawberries and bananas are a great pairing πŸ™‚

  5. I just drooled looking at a loaf topped with bacon—that sounds dirty lol

    And the Bachelor–wow!! Good stuff. However if I hear “On The Wings of Love” again, I will be on a rooftop with an AK!

    Happy March!

  6. I love meatloaf and your’s looks great. The bacon on top makes it THAT much better. Keeping the recipe πŸ™‚

  7. oh my….bacon on meatloaf?! That sounds AMAZING. I do love my bacon!! I’m actually going to attempt meatloaf for the first time next week I think. I’m scurred. πŸ™‚

    • you’ll do great! i hadn’t made it before either, it’s really not too hard and i think you could throw just about anything in the mix and make it taste good πŸ™‚ i highly recommend a splash of worcestershire if that’s your thing, it really amped up the loaf (well, that and the bacon haha)

Leave a Reply

