2 minute dinner?

Hey friends! 😀

Well it’s snowing/sleeting/freezing rain or whatever it wants to do here again grrrr.  And I was supposed to go see The Man’s basketball game however he had to work late so no ride for me (plus he called to report that the roads are baddddd) & homegirl will not drive lady BMW in freezing anything after this “little accident” (shall we call it….?)

Anywho, I had a plan for a fast & easy dinner in case I needed to head out the door anyways!  It’s so weird, we are so used to eating around 8 or 8:30pm that this 6:30 meal felt WEIRD?!  I like my late dinners now!  Hasn’t always been that way though haha, guess our bodies get used to our habits?  What time do you friends normally eat dinner? Do you prefer earlier or later? 🙂

Onto the dinner!

I have to tell you that this ended up being one of THE BEST packaged products I’ve ever had.  Hands down.

Seriously.

And you know it’s not often that you catch the Cookinfanatic tearing open boxed food, however I saw this at an ‘undisclosed location’ the other day and was more than intrigued….

A lil’ background for you friends:

I really haven’t had much experience with Indian food.  It’s actually a cuisine I would say that I am probably pretty uninformed about.  After reading Mara’s post today too, I felt better in knowing that I am not alone!

I also have a “chickpea thing” 😛  What the heck, right?  Well a lil’ over a year ago I made a big batch of one of my fave “go to” meals when I was a single lady (i.e. not living with The Man) which happened to be garbanzo beans, frozen veggies, TJs tomato chutney and some spices all served over Israeli couscous

Well, one sad night after eating this fave meal of mine I came down with a horrible case of, you guessed it, tonsillitis (shocking, right?!) and ever since then have had a big mental block towards these innocent little beans when served whole 😦

Okay after writing that I just realized that I am an official weirdo haha 😉

So anyways, you can see there were some barriers to cross before this lady was gonna give this dinner the thumbs up!

 

Holy crap!  That’s all I can say…  This was freaking delicious! I couldn’t believe it came out of a plastic bag that took 2 minutes to cook?!  I think it’s time I go out for Indian food now, bc I can only imagine how good that is too!

I added some s’ghetti squash to go with, which freezes beautifully by the way!  I had some extra from this adventure and just popped it into the freezer for a quick dinner night… ahhh sometimes I’m my own best friend 😛

Plus an small unpictured side salad, my B 😉

To finish things off right I had a quick lil’ “slushie” with these friends.

Really not sure how I lived my life without this carton of So Delicious Coconut Milk before now, seriously amazing.

Well looks like Lucy Dog and I are goin’ to have to give The Man an American Idol rundown when he gets home, until then we are snuggled up by the fire watching some s-s-s-singin’!

And figuring out what Mr. BBall himself is having for dinner… hmmmm 😉

Enjoy your night!

9 responses to “2 minute dinner?

  1. this dinner has “college student” written all over it… this is faboosh!

  2. Dinner at 8 or 830P? That is super late for me–I usually chow down at 6 or 630 and it’s any later than that I need to have a snack to hold me over!

  3. I’m definitely an early eater- I start to get hungry at 5 and am usually eating by 6! Tomato chutney sounds delicious!!

  4. Yum. I love Indian food so much but haven’t tried the Tasty Bite Channa Masala. I foresee a bloggie meet up to get Indian food in the near future, are you game?

    I typically eat dinner around 6-7, depending on if I go to the gym after work!

  5. So the coconut milk sounds fabulous.. I haven’t seen that in my grocery store!! I will be on the lookout.
    I do not have any experience with Indian food. Nada. Oh wait… is curry Indian? (just goes to show my no experience) ha. If so, I have had curry but I was not a fan. I need to branch out a bit..

    Glad you tried chickpeas again!!! I am the same way with strawberry ice cream and spaghetti. Weird? Yeah. I had spaghetti for dinner one night and then had some strawberry ice cream later… woke up with a stomach virus. Without going into detail.. those two things together – not pleasant. Let’s just say I didn’t eat either one for oh… probably a year haha

    I generally eat between 6-7.

  6. I know we were out and about in the rain/sleet…no fun. But we made it home safely.

    In terms of eating dinner late or early, I prefer early, but my schedule does always allow for it.

  7. Do not take that baby beemer into dangerous weather!

    I actually prefer to eat dinner at like 5:30 or 6, but I guess that’s why your meals are always more intricate than mine…more time!

  8. The funny thing is that lately I’m the opposite….I used to eat around 7 or 7:30, but now if I’m home by 5:00 or 5:30, I have to eat right then!!

    I’ve only had frozen indian food, too. I wanna try the fresh stuff!!

Leave a Reply

