“Cream?” sauce gone green!

Hey friends! 

Well happy to report that things are going better here on the homefront, throat is under control once again and I don’t feel like I want to curl up in bed… I’m thinking these are good things 😉

Andddddd I got the go ahead from my eye doc to wear my contacts again too whoop-eeeee!  I haven’t been able to wear them in almost a month, which has been uber-weird for me considering I never wear my glasses.  P.S. Don’t wear your contacts when you are sick, ever.  Lesson learned!

Oh check out this fabulous-delicious-wanted-to-eat-100-tons-of-it snack I had this afternoon too… holy yum why didn’t I do this sooner?

 

Vanilla Chobani, sliced banana, shredded coconut & a drizzle of maple syrup! 

So before I get into my dinner adventure with the much-beloved tofu, I have to tell you guys about a lil’ sumthin sumthin first – kapeesh?

A new blog has launched called Fruit Not Fat that I am very excited to be a part of! 😀

Fruit Not Fat, a blog written by the CEOs of Galaxy Granola , is dedicated to eating and living healthy and having fun while doing it (hello, yes, I believe I agree with all of the above! 🙂 )

Fruit Not Fat encourages you to eat, live and feel healthier, happier and more confident.  It’s not another diet, it’s a way of life. 

So why don’t you go check out their site, and while you’re at it follow them on Twitter and maybe even fan them on Facebook…. 

Oh yes, and maybe I forgot to mention that you can check out my 100 calorie Carrot/Pear/Raisin Bread recipe featured on their site too while you’re at it 😉

Carrot/Pear/Raisin Bread

The company has also sent me some granola which I can’t wait to give a try!

 

You know I’ll let you know how it goes once I give it a whirl 🙂

Alright, onto the dinner adventure!

I’m sure you friends know that you’ve never seen me eat/make/look at tofu haha.  Well, look who just may have an open mind tonight 😛

I purchased some random tofu last weekend on a whim, not knowing what the heck I had gotten myself into I did a bit of “research” on what to do with the stuff.

From what I learned, this silken tofu is best utilized in cream sauces and desserts – something that doesn’t need to hold it’s shape (learn something new everyday?)

So I concocted up a recipe idea in my head using these guys… it’s time for a “cream” sauce ladies & gents!

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 small can mushrooms, drained
  • handful spinach
  • 1 tblsp (heaping) artichoke pesto
  • 1 package Mori Nu silken tofu
  • Parm cheese (unpic)
  • S&P (unpic)

First things first, saute the onions in some EVOO over medium until translucent (add water if they start to stick, best trick evah).  Then add the garlic for 1 minute then the mushrooms.  Plus S&P (we’ve reunited!)

Then it was time to play with the blender 🙂

Add the tofu, spinach and artichoke pesto and blend up until creamy, I added 1/3 cup H2O to help things out.  I gave it a taste and then did some baddddd… added the only Parm cheese we had in the house (cut me a break, The Man likes this stuff 😉 )

Oh and while I’m at it, this artichoke pesto is legit!  Picked it up at ohhhhh World Market the other day LOL 😛

 

Oh yea, dump this bad boy into the pan with the veg and get ready to start seein’ green!!

I made some “lasagna rags” as a serving mechanism for this green sauce of lurve… simply whole wheat lasagna noodles broken up into rugged pieces & boiled.  So fun! 🙂

Verdict?  Heck yea!  I really liked this ALOT.  I think some “better quality” Parm cheese would make it even that much better too 😛

And btw, this whole batch of “cream sauce” had about 390 calories… and makes 3 servings.  You do the math 😉  Oh yea, and a decent amount of protein I might add…!

So I have to say that tofu round #1 was a complete success, whoop whoop!

Alright, and I’m off.  Major tv night for this housewives!  See you tomorrow for some Friday Fun 🙂

8 responses to ““Cream?” sauce gone green!

  1. Okay, my mouth is watering at your snack. That’d be a wonderful dessert as well!

    I also have to admit, I love that parm too. Guilty as charged. Oops, lol.

    And amazing looking dinner with that tofu lady. Props to you!

  2. Where do I start?!! Everything looks awesome!! That dinner is so intriguing. I bet it’s amazing, great nutritional stats too!! 🙂

  3. Congrats on the tofu success! I’ve never used silken tofu as a cream sauce…normally I just buy it and then bake it, ’cause I’m lazy. Definitely something to keep in mind, though, thanks for the recipe!

  4. oh congrats on being featured on the fruit not fat site! you’re kind of a big deal 😉

  5. You are so creative! I never would’ve thought to eat it like that but it looks and sounds delish. Love the idea of lasagna rags, too. I always end up with a ton of those leftover because of breakage. 🙂

  6. I have some leftover coconut from our shrimp…I think I can put it to good use now!

    The hubs wouldn’t touch that cream sauce but I think it looks yummy!

  7. Hey, I loved that parm when I was little and still enjoy it on occasion 🙂

    The sauce looks great! Yay for tofu victory!

  8. Congrats on the eye doctor and wearing contacts again 🙂 Green cream sauce looks delicious. Love artichokes!! And congrats on that new site, that is great!

Leave a Reply

