Mexican fiesta take 2!

Hola friends!

Sorry for going MIA all day, but it was a busy one 😀  In a good way of course!  Went to the eye doctor, stopped into Ulta for some beautification (obsessed with this store), got my hair did at my fave Aveda salon and hit up Whole Foods!

Ulta loot:  Is there anything coconut I don’t love?  I can’t stop putting this lotion on, it smells SO AMAZING!  Coconut and lime are a match made in heaven… and “heaven” is currently located on my arm right now LOL 😛 

Plus they were calling for rain all day and what-da-ya-know, it was perfectly sunny when I walked out of the hair salon with my new ‘do!  Such a fabulous afternoon in central VA 🙂

I was ecstatic.  Feelin’ all purty-like in the gorgeous weather just felt so nice after such a long week at work 🙂

Once I met The Man back at the house we decided that Mexican night was in order again (and by “we” I mean “me”). 

 I will let you friends know that during the warmer months I tend to change heritage from Polish to Latino.  Don’t ask why, I can’t answer that.  I am seriously fascinated with the cuisine in general, so fresh and fabulous, which just screams warm weather dinners to me 😛

Margaritas & Chicken Quesadillas!

I started out by prepping the chicken, which I knew I wanted shredded.

  • 1 large chicken breast
  • 1 onion, chopped in half
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped in half
  • S&P

Just boil the chicken breast in some H20 with the rest of the ingredients for about 13 minutes until it’s done.

Then give a good shred with the 2 fork approach 🙂  I also added some S&P, Key Lime seasoning and Mesquite too. Obvi.

I also set aside the onions to layer into the quesadilla as well, couldn’t waste that yumminess & all that flava!

Then I got out the other key players:

  • tortillas
  • Colby Jack cheese
  • salsa(s)
  • fresh lime!

And got to assemblin’

  

 

Cooked up using some cooking spray until crisp, melty, gooey & delicious 😀

To balance things out I whipped up a fiesta inspired salad to go alongside!

  • lettuce
  • corn
  • black beans
  • cucumber
  • onion
  • salsa
  • fresh squirt o’ lime juice

Oh you knew it was making a comeback haha, as my bff at work says “sheesh, you with that salsa on your salad haha” 😛

Yea, so I like it.  Like, a lot.

This dinner rocked my world.  The fresh lime juice seriously kicked up the quesadilla all sorts a notches, plus this Colby Jack cheese from Whole Foods is so flavorful!  The chicken soaked up the flavors of the onion/garlic and the onion did the same with the chicken/garlic… The Man and I both decided that this was a fiesta for the mouf!

(He is watching a movie yelling to me “Babe, those were AWESOMEEEEEEEEE” hahaha.  Love that man 🙂 )

Oh yes, and of course there were some “sips” of this to be had 😉

Love how this beast has led to almost daily margs in our house…. ooops!

Hey, you only live once 😉  A marg here and there (and everywhere?) never hurt anyone now did it?  Hey… I’m no doctor… I can’t answer that haha 😛

Well time to go continue relaxing, it was a busy & wonderful day and nothing sounds better than some cocktails with my man! 

And there may or may not be more coconut goodies as my night progresses haha.  I have no shame 😛

Have a fantastic night ya’ll & see you tomorrow for a slow cooker surprise 😀

11 responses to “Mexican fiesta take 2!

  1. You sure do look purty!! As always!! 😉

    Your mexican fiesta looks very tasty. I love how you put slices of cheese inside instead of shredded. I bet that was awesome!!

  2. Your hair looks goooorgeous girl!! Getting your hair done + Whole Foods + Quesadillas = perfect day!!

  3. Oh my gosh girl you are sooo pretty! Like you have the face that Heidi Montag is trying to create via surgery.

    And I love Ulta too!

  4. Oh my gosh, you look so much like my cousin it’s scary! I’ve never seen a pic of you that close up before, and I thought it was her for a second! Too funny!

    Mmmm Mexican food….I could eat salsa by the jar! Have a great Sunday!!

  5. Very cute picture of you! And oh margaritas… when we have supplies for them in the house I have no control. But it’s cheaper than ordering 2 from a restaurant 😛

  6. It’s so funny that we crossed paths so many times yesterday but never ran into one another!?!?

    I love the new haircut lady!! So glam. Perhaps I should check hair theater out!

    Mexican is always a good choice! Only you’re missing my favorite part, THE Guacamole!

    PS I need to chat with you about what type of clothes are you bringing to Fitbloggin. 🙂

    • I was thinking about adding some avocado to the mix, however with chicken + cheese + black beans it just seemed too heavy for my taste buds to also have that going on? To each their own I guess! 🙂

      And yes, we def need to discuss our upcoming weekend adventure!! Getting so excited 😀

  7. Your hair looks beautiful, girl!

    I just made enchiladas today (that I’m eating tomorrow) – I’m been CRAVING Mexican food like mad lately! And yes, a margie would suit me pretty nicely right now, too. 🙂

  8. Ulta is a great store 🙂 Mexican fiesta looks amazing. My dad would love this meal and the drinks 😉

  9. Your hair looks sooo pretty!!! I love the light feel of a fresh cut.

    OMG I am drooling over that melty colby jack cheese.

  10. oh jillian for yoga, that’s interesting

Leave a Reply

