Coming home to surprises!

Well hello there friends!

It was back to reality today upon packing up and leaving Baltimore after a fabulous weekend at FitBloggin 🙂

Oh and in case you want proof of our post-dinner/bar-outing-Whole Foods-pitstop… here it is!

IMG_4005.JPG IMG_4006.JPG

I seriously had the. best. time.  And met some many wonderful bloggers!  I feel so grateful that I got to have this experience & look forward to more events like this in the future 🙂

At least I have some “souveneirs” too to remember everything too…

Maybe you’ll have your chance at trying something from FitBloggin soon?  Hint:  It’s not pictured 😛

After an uneventful train ride home (yessss! vs. train ride drama on the way up there haha) I was greeted at the Richmond train station by The Man!

With the most gorgeous flowers 😀

And then we went to the car, and he surprised me with Lucy Dog in the back seat!!!  I started crying, I was so freaking happy and I just couldn’t control it (who does that?! the crying of course…)

And to top it all off, look what he had in the front seat for me…

I felt like the luckiest girl in the world!!

Sometimes men can really surprise you, no? 😉

This weekend really made me realize how many wonderful things I have in my life with the blog, with my family & friends and with my love.  I am so thankful 🙂

After a quick stop at Subway (don’t ask, I had been craving this since 8:30am and my body wasn’t having it any other way haha – so bossy!) we finally settled in at home.

Not for long though, bc there was groceries to be gotten!  So I did that.  Good times, saved $24.  Booyah 🙂

On the dinner horizon was a thought of shrimp stir-fry.  Guess that sushi dinner really got my Asian tastebuds flowin’?

I decided that a pre-packaged sauce wasn’t in the cards tonight, it was gonna be a homemade kinda night!  So I picked up some fun new things at the store too that I was dyin’ to try out.

The Sauce

Stirred together to get to know each other for a while a few minutes while the rest of din was prepared 😉

The smell was INTOXICATING.  Why have I never tried this ginger paste before? or this type of soy sauce? or this blend of flavors?

I got to chopping up the veggies needed for the remainder of the dish

And got to stir-fryin’!

  • 2 onions, chopped into larger pieces
  • 1 package frozen broccoli pieces
  • shrimp (I used 1/2 package frozen)
  • black pepper
  • 1.5 tblsp veg oil

Add 1 tblsp oil to the hot wok, then the chopped onions for a few minutes until they begin to turn golden.  Then drop in the broccoli & some fresh cracked pepper and cover, stirring occasionally, until the veggies turn deliciously “stir-fried” in appearance.

Remove from wok.

Stir fry the shrimpies in the remainder of veg oil for just a quick minute or two (don’t cook all the way, but get some pretty color on them!)

Then add the veggies back into the wok along with the prepared sauce.  Let this warm through, covered, for a few minutes to finish cooking the shrimp & allow the flavors to blend.

Cooked up some Uncle Ben’s brown rice (quickie style) to serve with

And dinner was served right on up!

Plus a small taste of Sriracha to kick it up a notch!

So how was it?

  1. Loved loved loved the sauce.  So clean & simple, the flavors were amazing.
  2. The quick cook Uncle Ben’s rice was plump & delicious, really turned out nicely.
  3. Ginger paste is nothing to be wary of, it’s fabulous!  In fact, here’s how it looks 🙂

Pretty cool, huh?

Alright, well I guess you know what’s in my immediate future 😉  New Moon, hello!

Time for some QT with my handsomest.  I hope all of you had a wonderful weekend & to my homegirls from FitBloggin – I am so happy that I met all of you, hopefully we’ll see each other again soon!!!

Night friends 🙂

13 responses to “Coming home to surprises!

  1. Yayy for FitBloggin’. I hope to go next year and tear it up with you! 🙂

    Okay, I have been craving Subway like MAD this weekend and decided I was going to let myself have it for lunch tomorrow. Twins we are, no?

    Lastly, tell the man he did WELL! Have a wonderful evening. xoxo

  2. It was so nice to meet you last night, I had a great time at dinner! Your stir fry looks amazing. I bought some stuff for a stir fry today on my way home. Have a good night!

  3. lowandbhold

    How sweet of your hubby 🙂 It was nice to meet you girl! Wish we could have hung out a bit more though. You are absolutely stunning! Get some rest dear!

  4. Awwwwwwww, what a good man!! 🙂 That is so sweet of him to surprise you!! I can totally relate to crying after being away from my dog. After our weeklong honeymoon I cried like a baby when I was reunited with my furdaughter!!

  5. Your man is the sweetest. Flowers, your doggie and a DVD!! So cute.

    Thanks for being a lovely roomie this weekend lady. I had a blast.

  6. it was SO wonderful to meet you this weekend, and i had a such a blast hanging out with you last night! 🙂 glad you got home safely (and come home to gifts! he really is the best boy ever!) 🙂

  7. Awww I need a man like that! The stir-fry looks fab, as do all your meals. How was New Moon?

    • New Moon was pretty good – it made me want to start reading the series to know what happens next! I would recommend seeing it – esp for some washboard abs (aka Jacob) 😉

  8. I wish I could have been there this weekend – what an awesome time! Sweet swag, too – I can’t believe you got shoes?!

    Um, The Man had me at “New Moon.” Seriously, I love flowers but the images of Jacob and Edward last forever LOL. My sister just bought it and I can’t wait to see it again!! You are certainly one lucky girl – and you deserve it!

    • hahaha this comment is classic, images of jacob and edward do in fact last forever 😉 jacob is more my style, runner up to my seksi man of course 😛 hope you had an awesome weekend girlie!

  9. OMG that is the sweetest thing ever! Plus 3 points for the MAN!

    Shrimp stir fry sounds like the perfect meal back after a weekend away!

    So jealous of all your sweet swag too.

  10. Glad you had a blasty at Fitbloggin! And how sweet of your husband! He really knows how to treat you well 🙂 And you, him! Look at that din din! Hope your Monday is treating you well

  11. I love that you guys hit up whole foods! I wish I went to Fitbloggin! There’s always next year!

Leave a Reply

