Spring season style!

Hello friends!

Well I just got home from yet another successful Whole Foods cooking demo with my fave home-chef Jessee 🙂

Per usual, he went with a seasonal theme and focused on dishes that would fit the spring time of year!

A few things were a bit outta my “comfort zone” if you will, but leave it to Jessee to get me to try it and actually like it…

Plus who could ask for a better Tuesday with an evening like this 😉

Alright already, I’ll quit babbling and get to the food… sound good?! 😛

Grilled Onion, Asparagus & Tomato Salad

This refreshing salad featured not only green asparagus, but also it’s white counterpart – which I learned is just green asparagus that has piles of dirt mounded around it as it grows so that it never turns green.  Interesting, no?

This salad featured a new to me dressing too, which was phenomenal!

The asparagus & onion were grilled/cooled, the tomato chopped and the vinaigrette added…

Voila!  What could be easier?  What an impressive salad to serve during the warm summer months, I loved it! 🙂

Here’s where we start getting out of the “Steph-zone”…

Goat Cheese Fiddlehead Fern & Morel Mushroom Quiche

Fanatic Momma and I just don’t dig goat cheese… not sure why, but really not my thing.

Howeverrrrrrrrr… I wasn’t passing up the opportunity to try a dish made with these lil’ beauties!

Ever tried a fiddlehead fern?  How freakin’ cute is that?!?! 😛

Made into a lovely quiche with the morels, eggs, half/half and goat cheese…

I must say that I did enjoy this dish!  I won’t say that I’m a goat cheese lovah or anything now, but mixed with these flavors it was pretty good.

Plus I really want to experiment with the fiddlehead ferns in my kitchen and hope they don’t cost an arm and a leg 🙂

Okay, so now here’s where we really get into “sticky” territory with ol’ Steph’s taste buds!

Mediterranean Lamb Stew

Now I’m not a huge meat junkie, and lamb is definitely something I never ate growing up.  In fact, I’ve had it once.  And hated it.

So this was going to be a “big kinda deal” for me, but I was trusting Jessee this time around!

Plus with a whole bottle of French wine could it really be that wrong 😉

This had been cooked for hours with herbs de provence, capers, garlic, sun dried tomatoes, red wine, olives…

And then served over a pine nut couscous

So what happened next?

Welllll, I ate all around the meat and devoured the sun dried tomatoes & olives in the lovely sauce, which was so freaking good along with the couscous… And then I finally took a bite of the lamb… duh duh duh duh!

I thought it was pretty darn good!  Not something I’d cook regularly, however the flavoring was on point and it was as moist as moist can be. 

Jessee, huge accomplishment with that one… for realz 😛

Then home-chef had a surprise for us “followers”!

Pound Cake w/ Mascarpone & Mixed Fruit

When I heard the word “mascarpone” I litterly jumped for joy!!  Why?  I’ve never had mascarpone however Giada always makes me swoon with it on tv and I’ve been dying to try it 😀

Plus it’s like my bff cream cheese’s Italian partner in crime, but on a whole ‘notha level!  Booyah, cream cheese on steroids perhaps? 😉

This brand was fabulous, well from my “inexperienced mascarpone tastebuds”  point of view at least 😛

Spread atop a slice of poundcake then topped with a mixture of strawberries, plum, blueberries & kiwi… ummm yea.

No words.

OUT. OF. CONTROL.

Want to impress a date/guests/yourself?  Use mascarpone.  And use it now 😛

What a fabulous night!  Thanks to Jessee for all the delicious food & wonderful ideas… this guy knows his stuff & I never walk away from a cooking demo without taking something away 🙂

And guess what the next theme is going to be?  Cinco de Mayo!!!!  And we all know Cookinfanatic’s obsession with all things Mexican cuisine… (*squeal!*)

Well if you’ll excuse me now, I’ve got some American Idol to watch until Mr. Man gets home from basketball!

Hope you have a wonderful night friends, and see you tomorrow for humpday (hooray!) 🙂

10 responses to “Spring season style!

  1. Once again Chef Jesse did not disappoint. I just can’t believe we get to try some of the foods/ingredients I have never liked/or thought I would like, and he makes them taste wonderful. Thank you Whole Foods and Jesse for such a wonderful learning and tasting experience!!!

  2. So fun! I need to go to one of those demos. I think the Grilled Onion, Asparagus & Tomato Salad looks the best! Right up my alley. White asparagus are awesome, but they’re super expensive- blah! I love all things Mexican too 🙂 We’re actually having friends over for a little mexican fiesta this weekend!

  3. Wow Jesse’s demo looks awesome this week!! The fig and walnut dressing looks right up my alley and the dessert with mascarpone cheese… YUM!!! Plus, I’ve never even heard of fiddlehead ferns.. crazy.

    I’d love to see the recipe for the asparagus salad if you’re willing to share.

    Hopefully I can make it to the next one as I’m a huge Cinco De Mayo fan!

  4. Cooking class looks like it was a lot of fun. Before we gave up dairy Michelle like mascarphone cheese!

  5. I am so jealous – I had no idea WF did cooking demo’s, def going to check this out in my area! Were the morel’s dried or fresh? Hard to find this time of year, but most definitely my favorite mushroom ever!!

  6. DROOOOOOOOL. Marscapone cheese is the bomb. I heart eggs forever so that quische also looks amazing…throw in that goat cheese and I would be one happy laday! What a fun class!

  7. This all looks SO GOOD!! I wish my WF had the demonstrations, but I can’t find any online. Cinco de Mayo food sounds great, it’s so cool you get to learn all these new recipes!!

  8. hahaha when I saw Mascarpone cheese I IMMEDIATELY thought of Giada! I’ve never had it, either, but I LOVE me some cheese. I just know I’d be a fan. 🙂

    Everything looks SO tasty! I’d love to try white asaparagus sometime.

  9. lowandbhold

    I LOVE mascarpone! So rich and yummy! My SIL is Greek and tries to feed me lamb once a week, but I just can’t get into it. I agree that that recipe sounds great though!

Leave a Reply

