Time to veg-ify!

Friday night, you are my first true love 😉  No?

So want to see how my week of Gruvin’ played out?  And yes, I’m obsessed.

This shows calories burned in excess of my resting metabolic rate, obvi Friday was a more sedentary day for this gal!

They are actually going to reset the Gruve so that we can have an assessment week (as they would if you purchased new) and gauge our individual activity level and set the red/yellow/blue/green goals from there.

So now I’ll really get to see what this thing can do!

Movin’ and gruvin’ right into dinner, how ’bout it?

Well I knew I was on my own tonight after receiving a 2pm text from The Man that stated only “owwy” — apparently those pain meds send him into lala loopy land too 😉

With that, it was time to veg-ify!  And no, I don’t mean lay on my bum on the couch (that comes later :P) but instead I mean to get to eatin’ my veggies!

First let’s start with the sweet tater, which was where I was going to use the fun new tool I got at FitBloggin!

Am I the only one who’s ever wondered what “size” their sweet potato is when looking at nutrition charts?  Please tell me what ‘small, medium and large’ really means CalorieKing… kapeesh?

Naw, forget it, I’ll use my new EatSmart Digital Pro Scale to figure this lil’ mystery out!

 

You can change the measurement to use g, kg, oz or lbs – booyah!

This sucker clocked in at approx. 215g, which according to Calorieking has 185 cals… solved that mystery 😛

So I guess this begs the question:  Does CookinFanatic count calories?

And my answer would be yes & no. 

I don’t count them neurotically “to the penny” however I usually have a somewhat general sense of my daily intake give or take a few depending on the day.  It just works for me – plus I’m an accountant – it’s hard to get outta the “counting habit” with the way my brain works 😉

Alright, back to dinner!

After about 40 minutes in a 375F oven (speaking of, what’s up 30 degrees outside, heat is back on!) I sliced this tater open and topped with some of these 2 loverlies:

I prefer fresh salsa for dipping, however for cooking purposes I lean towards a fabulous jarred version – and this one did NOT disappoint!  It had hints of smokey flavor throughout… oh yeaaaa

The sweetness of the tater with the smokiness & spiciness of the salsa plus the creamy thick Greek yogurt was mouth watering good I tell ya!  I always forget how great savory sweet potato dishes are 🙂

To go alongside, it was time for some sauteed spinach – garlic style!

  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • few handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 tsp olive oil

1. Saute garlic in olive oil until fragrant

2. Add massive quantity of spinach (1.25lbs down! 😉 )

3.  After a few minutes the spinach disappears before your very eyes!

Minced garlic, olive oil and mountains of spinach is obviously where it’s at 😛

Delectable dinner indeed!

As far as McToothy himself, I feel so bad for him 😦  At first I may not have haha, as he was a royal grump when I got home!  But nothing a handspun chocolate milkshake from Nurse Fanatic couldn’t fix… thank God. 

But in all seriousness, poor thing’s mouth is so swollen and he is in so much pain.  So my night is going to be spent doing what I do for my love – taking care of him and trying to make him feel better 🙂

So with that, I’m off…

Enjoy your night bloggies! 😀

8 responses to “Time to veg-ify!

  1. Sorry to hear about your man, hope he feels better!!!

    Baked sweet potato – one of life’s most simple pleasures 🙂

  2. I’m so mad I didn’t sign up for a gruve. I don’t know what I was thinking!

  3. Sweet and Fit

    i am completely obsessed with the gruve, i love this thing!

    so sorry about your man, just tell him not to drink out of a straw – let me know if you need any other advice!

  4. I’m always confused about fruit/veggie sizes, too. I usually count a single fruit/veggie as a serving, but it’s so confusing because sometimes my apple is twice as big as other days!! The scale looks really nifty 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  5. That sweet potato combo looks SO GOOD! I’ll definately try it next time I eat one 🙂

  6. That is one of my fave ways to eat spinach. Andrew makes it the same way and tops it with a little parm. cheese. Sooo good!!

    Hope The Man feels better soon!!

  7. Wow – I would have never thought to make spinach like that – it looks amazing!! I’ve definitely learned that I like cooked spinach over raw. I’m trying that!

    I hope The Man feels better. 😦 He is in good hands!

  8. Wilted spinach with garlic is the best, I just feel healthy eating it! I’m with you on the food scale, I use mine for measuring purposes and curiosity, but don’t rely on it for tracking cals.
    Get that boy better! I’m sure he appreciates you taking good care of him 🙂

Leave a Reply

