Coconut has stolen my heart

What a busy day!  Well… not intially 😉

After a delicious breakfast of eggs, spinach, cream cheese and salsa…

Hey, don’t knock it til you try it, it was pretty fantabulous 😛

…we dropped off my car for state inspection.  So I decided to use this “car-less time” as a good opportunity to do some things around the house and veg for a while plus work on some other exciting stuff *to be revealed* 😀

Once that was done The Man and I spent some time outside deciding what to do with our outdoor space this year and also where to plant the garden!  That led us on a trip straight to Strange’s to check out all their fabulous plants & garden gear…

Took this pic with my phone, seriously impressive!

I ended up with cilantro & mint plants (fresh mojitos, my summer dream 😉 ) to grow in the kitchen to supplement the tomatoes, peppers, cucumber, lettuce & basil outside… we shall see how it goes!

We also made a trip over to Whole Foods which was seriously the most pleasurably grocery shopping experience I have had with ol’ grocery store hater (aka Mr. Man).  He is an “in and out” kinda shopper, me – a browser (obvi)… however I found him swinging to my side of things in Whole Foods!

He was loving all the fresh cheeses and other goodies, I couldn’t believe it actually.  I think we found a new date spot haha 😛

While we were at Whole Foods I decided to pick up some things for a recipe I had been wanting to try using a new product featuringgggg —> my beloved coconut.

I present:  Split Red Lentils

Are these not absolutely gorgeous?!

And since the kind folks over at Tropical Traditions were kind enough to send a jar of Organic Coconut Cream Concentrate my way and I had been waiting for the perfect opportunity to give it a go!

There is a little bit of work involved in getting the coconut cream concentrate ready to use, which involved placing the jar in some boiling hot water so that the oils & the ‘meat’ could be stirred back together (if you notice in the pic above, the oils rise to the top while being shipped from a very warm climate to cooler Virginia 😉 )

Ummm it was so creamy & coco-nutty I seriously wanted to drink it!  I couldn’t stop stirring it around and admiring how beautifully delicious it was (embarrassingggggg) hahaha.

Why do I love you so, coconut?

Onto the recipe!!!

Coconut Cream Red Lentil Soup

When I saw this recipe in Tropical Traditions fabulous archive online I just knew it had stolen my heart from the start 😉

Insert blogger fail – would you believe that I lined up all the ingredients & FORGOT to take a picture? Well, that happened. I’d rather not talk about it haha….

My version, of course, had a few changes based on what was on hand & what my mouth was feelin’ like!

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1.5 cups organic split red lentils
  • 2 cups organic chicken broth 
  • 2.5 cups water
  • 3 tblsp coconut cream concentrate
  • 1 tblsp organic curry seasoning
  • 1 tblsp organic cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste

First up, give the onions and garlic a chop.

Then start by sauteeing the onion over medium heat for about 2 minutes.  Add garlic, cook another minute.

Add in the chicken broth, water and lentils at this point.  Bring to a boil.  Then drop in the cream coconut goodness plus the spices.

And let simmer for 40 minutes or until the lentils are soft & it’s the consistency that you like…

Served up in this cute lil’ bowl I scored at FitBloggin!

Oh. Em. Gee.  Freaking delicious and then some!

I absolutely loved the flavor of this!  Ahhh coconut, you never fail me 😛

I also had the infamous side salad to go alongside (peppers are almost gone noooooooo)

Fabulous fabulous fabulous dinner!

The Man was commenting on how great it smelled too, uhhh felt kinda bad about that as he enjoyed some cottage cheese with a side of swiss cheese (???) 😦

But speaking of The Man, I guess I’ll wrap things up with a pretty exciting moment as far as I’m concerned!

Today The Man had his nurse make him a smoothie (solid foods not goin’ too well still) with banana, almond milk, peanut butter, coconut oil AND maca.

Andddd it gets better, he says to me as I’m making it “you can put some of that maca stuff in there if you want”

So proud.  I almost cried 😛

Well I’m off, we have The Blindside to watch tonight (last copy they had double whoop!!!)

See you tomorrow and enjoy your evening friends 🙂

Oh and p.s. there may be a chance to score some coconut cream concentrate headed your way soon!  Stay tuned 😉

5 responses to “Coconut has stolen my heart

  1. Yay for coconut love and maca love! 🙂 I still need to see Blindside.

  2. Love coconut, reminds me so much of my childhood.

    and Lol at his Maca request. My Husband is loving green monsters, when he gave me so much hell for them for a while.

  3. Smoothies with coconut and maca?!? You are the best nurse ever – if I’m ever sick I know who to call!

    And, wow – that lentil soup looks dee-licious!! Yum.

  4. We have totally been working/planning our garden too- I’m super excited! Hopefully everything will actually grow 🙂 The soup looks fabulous. I’ve been obsessed with dried lentils and beans lately. I made homemade pintos last night- amazing! Have a great sunday

  5. I’m not knocking that breakfast. I love cream cheese and eggs!

    That soup looks phenomenal.

Leave a Reply

