Impromptu His & Her’s Dinner

Impromptu his & her’s dinner night!

We both got home a bit late from work and decided that it was a great night to take Lucy Dog for a walk around the hood – the rain is on its way O-U-T friends πŸ˜€

After that I wasn’t up for much cooking, plus The Man wasn’t up for much chewing since his mouf is still pretty sore.

So I looked to my freshly stocked fridge for some inspiration for me, and to the freezer for him!

What-da-know, some leftover frozen penne a’la vodka – which instantly came back to life with the addition of sausage patties & freshly grated Parm…

FOR HIM πŸ˜‰

And for her?

All the makings of a fresh salad were within a vegetable drawer’s reach πŸ™‚

Ginormous salad beast featuring:Β  spinach, tomato, cucumber, onion & Drew’s raspberry dressing (lurveeee)!

And remember those lentils I prepped for last night’s curry samosas?Β  Ahhh yes, those lentils.Β  Well there were leftovers and my mind got to work…

In went 3/4 cup cooked lentils, 1 small chopped onion, 1 chopped tomato & a handful of fresh spinach.

Of course I didn’t forget the spices?!Β  Curry powder, cumin, salt & pepper πŸ™‚

All served up over some leftover mashed taters (w/ some accompanying Sriracha) πŸ˜›

So freaking good.Β  I am definitely Indian food obsessed, it’s official.Β 

Last night The Man commented “well I thought the Mexican food phase was gonna last longer, but it appears it has been overtaken for the time being” LOL.Β  Not to worry, plenty of fresh salsa & fiesta goodies coming to a summer near you – but for now, I’m loving me some Indian cuisine!

Alright, I have a hot date tonight so I better run… πŸ˜‰

Enjoy your night friends!

8 responses to “Impromptu His & Her’s Dinner

  1. I have yet to try Indian food. WHO AM I???

    Enjoy your walk lady, so glad to hear the rain is outta there!

  2. Fanatic Mom

    Very clever…using the sausage patties from brunch yesterday…you’re good!!! All of the food looks great.

  3. Salad looks so simple yet satisfying!!

    Love cumin and curry ; )

  4. Jealous your rain is over, it’s still like a hurricane here!! If you’re on the hunt for good healthy Indian recipes, Eat Drink and Be Vegan has some awesome ones that don’t taste “blah” at all without the meat!!

  5. I need to give lentils another shot. I love the idea of “Indianfying” them!

  6. lowandbhold

    Yum! Those lentils look awesome. I love that you paired them with taters πŸ™‚

  7. We do his and hers dinners a couple of nights a week. It really doesn’t take that much more effort and why can’t we both have what we want?

    Although the man’s meal looks pretty darn tasty πŸ˜‰

  8. Pingback: Curried Vegetable Samosas with Cilantro-Mint Chutney From Stephanie @ CookinFanatic | Eating Bird Food

Leave a Reply

