Chicken ‘Non-Cacciatore’?

Ahhh Tuesday night, you are the humpday to my shortened work week  (Friday holiday anyone?) 😀

And ExerciseTV, you can do me no wrong…  YogaWorks Body Slim is fabulous every time!

This round left my arms tremblin’ – guess it had been a while 😉

In food news, guess who learned something new today?! 

While reviewing some ideas for a quick Chicken Cacciatore tonight, I found out some startling news about my beloved friend the tomato!

Traditional chicken cacciatore is a combination of chicken, mushrooms and spices (commonly thyme, parsley, and oregano, S&P). The dish also receives flavor from the addition of garlic and onions.

As the chicken stews the result is a brown gravy. Many mistakenly think they are preparing chicken cacciatore by adding tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes. These do not make up part of the original version of chicken cacciatore, and result more in a meat sauce with chicken that might be a topping for pasta.

What, no tomatoes?!?! 

Call me a non-traditionalist but tomatoes are goin’ in there tonight people! 😛

I picked up a jar of this Bertolli Vineyard Premium sauce at the store on a whim, which is odd, bc I normally don’t prefer sauce in o’ jar but thought I’d give it a whirl… !

Chicken Non-Cacciatore!

  • all natural, hormone free chicken breasts (half package)
  • Bertolli marinara w/ burgundy wine (half jar)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 package pre-sliced mushrooms
  • 2 tblsp olive oil (unpic)
  • splash red wine (1/4 cup)
  • dried oregano, dried basil, salt & black pepper to taste (unpic)
  • grated Parm
  • your favorite pasta

First I sliced the onion & green pepper

Got to sautéing in a skillet with 1 tblsp olive oil over medium heat for just a few minutes, prob about 5, adding the garlic about half way through.

Then I reached for my handy pre-sliced mushrooms, which essentially cost the same as the unsliced so you know the easy answer there 😉

Added them into the mix.  At this point I also shook on some of the seasonings (approximately 1 tblsp oregano, 1 tblsp basil, 1 tsp pepper)

Let these cook away for about 10 minutes, covered, until the veggies get nice & tender.  Remove from pan.

Next up was the chicken, which I sliced into thin strips and seasoned with S&P before adding to a hot pan (medium high) coated with 1 tblsp olive oil. 

At this point give the chicken a flip once it gets a bit browned on one side, repeat.

Now it’s time for everyone to be friends!

Into the saucepan goes the marinara sauce and the veggies too over medium-low heat, covered.  Let this simmer away until the chicken is dunzo and the flavors have combined 🙂

To serve, you may choose to enjoy this with your favorite pasta, topped w/ freshly grated Parm….

Or all by itself with a savory side salad!

Either way I’m sure you won’t be disappointed at the flavors achieved in such a short time!  (another non-traditional part of this “non-cacciatore” fyi) 😉

P.S. This Bertolli sauce was legit for a jarred sauce!

P.S.S. The Whole Foods Parm took this dish up another notch, loved it!

Want to know what dressing I used this time?  The fabulous Allison over at Eat Clean Live Green gave me this glorious idea for a vinaigrette made with PomWonderful pomegranate juice.. which I had a bottle of from FitBloggin that needed using! 

  • 1 tblsp POM
  • 1 tblsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • S&P

This dressing was luscious!  I absolutely loved it 😀  How great of an idea is this, seriously!?  Thanks Allison!

Alright friends, before I go we have two quick items of business here!

Have you checked out my Tropical Traditions GIVEAWAY yet… why not?  😛

Anddddd there is some exciting blog news coming soon to a CookinFanatic near you!

…stay tuned.

Enjoy your Tuesday night! 🙂

11 responses to “Chicken ‘Non-Cacciatore’?

  1. Mike has Friday off, too! I am so jealous of you both. Hopefully you are able to relax and do something fun!

  2. Sweet and Fit

    you are so cute! i never knew cacciatore doesnt actually have tomatoes in it. i’m also loving that unique pom salad dressing, need to make that!

  3. I’ve been seeing chicken cacciatore recipes floatin around everywhere lately and they all look sooo good!! I’m gonna have to make this sometime soon!! 🙂

  4. Call me an un-traditionalist too but I can’t imagine chicken cacciatore without tomatoes. No thank you!!!
    Bertoli actually makes really good sauce!!! I will go for jarred sauce when I have to but if you pick a good quality, like Bertoli, it can be really great!

  5. Glad the tomato dish turned out well tomato-less!! The last time I bought pasta sauce, I was amazed by the amount of sugar in most brands, but I remember Bertolli had a solid ingredient list!! Have a great hump day 🙂

  6. I’m glad you liked the salad dressing! 🙂

    That chicken sounds awesome.

  7. I never knew that about chicken cacciatore, either! (which, by the way, I SHOULD be able to spell correctly by now….but I still have to cheat, LOL). Well, I like your version better! And that is genius to use the POM to make dressing. I do have some bottles in my fridge yet…

  8. Salad dressing does sound good! Oh my BF would love this chicken cacciatore 🙂 Great job!

  9. lowandbhold

    I used to love when my Mom made chicken cacciatore when I was little, and she def made it with tomatoes. Looks awesome!

  10. Bah who cares if it’s not completely traditional! If you both like the dish than that’s all that matters 🙂 Your blog and you can call your food whatcha want to lol.

Leave a Reply

