Why has it taken me so long?!

Indian round 3… here. we. go!

Indian-Style Tofu with Cauliflower & Chutney

Fanatic-Style!

When I got home from work I got started on prepping the tofu (a whole new world for me…)

I picked up this Nasoya Organic Extra Firm Tofu on my “fridge makeover” adventure this past weekend.

FYI Richmonders, Whole Foods has $1.50 off 2 Nasoya products in their flyer! 

I used some paper towels & a “heavy object” as directed to press the tofu for about 30 minutes (in the fridge).

Meanwhile it was time to get to work on the rest of the meal!

Here were most of the ingredients based on this Cooking Light recipe, with a few modifications as noted:

  • 1 onion, chopped finely
  • 1 tblsp Tropical Traditions virgin coconut oil
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 3 tsp Muchi curry powder
  • 1 tblsp cumin
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 tblsp S&B prepared ginger paste
  • 1 big a$$ cauliflower 😉 chopped into large pieces
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup water
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • sprinkle salt
  • brown basmati rice
  • frozen green peas (1/2 cup)
  • plain yogurt
  • fresh cilantro

So this recipe called for a food processor, which I don’t have (I know, the horror!) so don’t be worried about a thang if you don’t either 🙂

There’s always another way!

First up were the onions, which I used one of my favorite kitchen tools to chop up ever so finely.

SwissMar V-Prep, you are my hero 😉

Next it was time to get to cooking!  Add the spices (cumin, curry & mustard powder) to a pan over medium and let them get “toasty” for a minute or two… you’ll know from the fabulous smells that they begin to release into your kitchen!

After a quick minute or two it was time to drop in the coconut oil & the onions…

Check out the amazing color!  We won’t even go there with the smell of this… holy crap outta control freaking yum 😛

After about 10 minutes over medium heat, covered, the onions should be golden & tender.  Now add the ginger & garlic!

No food processor, no problem!  Just smash the garlic with the flat side of your knife and give it a rough chop, voila 🙂

Add to the pan with the spices/onions and let cook for about another 2 minutes…

Wait for it.  Wait for it.

The smells continue to get BETTER!!  Unbelievable.

At this point add in the tomatoes, salt and cauliflower (ummm yea, this whole “thing” of cauliflower was a first purchase for me… still need some chopping practice on this one LOL 😛 )

Then our new friend Mr. Tofu, which after pressing for 30 minutes I cut into 1/2 inch blocks 😀

Pop the lid on, turn down to a lil’ below medium heat and let everything cook up!  I let this go longer than the recipe called for so that the cauliflower would be a bit tender, probably about 25 minutes.

I also added in some frozen green peas towards the end for some additional nutrients & “color pop”!

To go alongside this beauty, I cooked up some brown basmati rice according the directions…

Alright, let’s get ready for the GRAND FINALE!!

Serving time 🙂

Top a scoop of the brown basmati rice with a few spoonfuls of the curry mixture… then add a dallop of plain yogurt and a sprinkling of fresh cilantro!

 My first response:  Why has it taken me so long to eat Indian food?!?!?

This was absolutely incredible & easily my favorite Indian creation yet.  The tofu curry was phenomenal, add in some creamy cool yogurt and the “zing” of fresh cilantro (both essential for this dish I think) I can’t even put in words what my mouth was experiencing?!  “Ahhh I just want to share this flavor with the world” kinda thing!!

I may or may not have been mumbling “mmmm omg mmmm” while eating, uhhhh yea, embarrasing 😛

I was texting with Brittany telling her I wished she didn’t live downtown so I could have her come over and taste this creation asap, it was sooo gooood!

Basmati brown rice = ah-may-zinggggg too btw 😉

Alright, well there you have it.  I am learning my way around a tofu kitchen and this recipe may have really sealed the deal for me.  Fabulous, I couldn’t be happier right now…

Time to get ready for American Idol and make something for The Man to eat after he gets home from basketball playoffs, think I can convince him to try tofu? 😉

2 MORE DAYS TO ENTER GIVEAWAY TOO FRIENDS!

Enjoy your evening and see you for Friday Thursday 😛

10 responses to “Why has it taken me so long?!

  1. I bought that very same tofu over the weekend and fried some up for dinner last night. It was oh so good!! Your indian dish looks sooooooo fabulous!! 🙂 You are such a talented cook!!

  2. Gah, and I wish I didn’t live HOURS away. 😦 I totally would have come over, that meal looks FAB!

  3. I am so digging brown basmati rice – had some for tonight too and it is seriously so good 😀

  4. Round of applause Chef Stephanie, this looks great. 🙂

  5. Oh man Steph this dish looks amazing!! After reading this description, I totally wish I could have come over and tasted it. Maybe I’ll just have recreate it myself. Was the recipe online or in a recent Cooking Light mag?

  6. You just made me want to give Indian food another try. Didn’t like it the few times I tried it but your dish looks so good.

  7. Yayyy, I’m so glad you had success with the Indian food!! You’re definitely one of the most adventurous cooks in the blogworld, I love it!! Have a great Tuesday 🙂

  8. I have never made tofu before because I am so intimidated! You made it look easy though!

  9. That looks phenom! I like tofu, but sometimes when I make it it’s great and other times not so much. That dish though.. seriously top notch.

Leave a Reply

