Always laugh when you can…

Hey friends!  Another glorious day is on the agenda here today in sunny central VA 😀

Woke up to the sun shining, wonderful temps and the sound of birds chirping  and Lucy Dog pacing around whining bc she wanted to go outside 😛

Whipped up a delicious bowl of recovery oat bran and enjoyed it with the doors & windows wide open in the house!

  • 1/3 cup oat bran
  • 1/3 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 2 tsp coconut peanut butter (1 stirred, 1 on top)
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • sliced strawberries to top

So good!  I am really on an oat bran kick lately for some reason?

But enough about oats… let’s rewind to last night shall we.

We both decided that we were in the mood for something light & ‘summery’ for dinner.  And nothing fits that request like sushi as far as I’m concerned!

Kenji Hibachi & Sushi Bar

We have been here once before and thought it was fabulous, the interior is so simplistically and beautifully decorated and I love the ambiance 🙂  The sweet waterfall wall isn’t too shabby either!

 

We started off with some adult beverages, Friday celebrations in order!  Wine for her, hot sake for him…

Lookin’ like a creeper haha?!

Then we got to perusing the menu, so many choices!  This one threw us for a loop…

Love Boat for 3 anyone?  Not even gonna go there… haha 😉

After much discussion and decision making we had to make some choices!

 

  • Kenji spicy volcano roll
  • California roll
  • Eel & cucumber roll
  • Sweet potato roll
  • Tuna sushi

Everything was phenomenal.  This place never disappoints and we will definitely be back soon!

After dinner it was time for some Funny Bone 😀

The Man got free tix to see this homeboy, I was pretty excited since he has been on Comedy Central!!

He was fantastic!! I was in tears laughing at points of the show, seriously.  We were also in the FRONT ROW so he definitely picked on us a lil’ bit too – but I’m not shy so don’t worry, it was fun 😛

As the sign says…

Always laugh when you can… it’s the cheapest medicine!

There may or may not have been some more of this too 😉 hence the recovery oats

Let’s just say that a good time was had by all!

It was a late night getting home though, but nothing a lil’ snack of Galaxy Granola and vanilla almond milk couldn’t wrap up before some snooze time 😉

And here we are at today – Saturday – sunny and beautiful!

I’m off to hang out with Fanatic mom & sista and I couldn’t be happier 😀  Adventures at the Indian grocery to come soon!

Enjoy your day friends!

8 responses to “Always laugh when you can…

  1. What a fun night! Josh loves that comedian. And dinner looks fantastic. I don’t eat sushi, but think it is such a pretty meal. Enjoy your Saturday.

  2. Sweet potato roll…yum!!!! This is like the 3rd time i’ve seen sushi on blogs this morning and now I have a SERIOUS craving for some. Yum! I might have to have sushi for dinner..
    I had oat bran just like that this morning! Can’t beat it!
    Have a great day!

  3. I had sushi for dinner last night too!! Definitely one my favorite “summery” dinners as well, my only regret is that most sushi places don’t have outside tables! I’m loving the looks of the sweet tater roll though, I’ve never tried that. Glad you had a good night and hope you have another great Saturday!

  4. Ah, I was wondering what you were recovering from at the beginning of the post with the recovery oats comment 😉

  5. I love going to comedy clubs. Comedy plus sushi sounds like the perfect night!

  6. What a fine time!! Love comedy clubs and yes laughter is the best medicine!!

    Have a great Easter!

  7. I saw Birbigs a few years ago – he is HILARIOUS! I just remember him acting out some part of a dream he had or something – I almost peed my pants from laughing (I didn’t though, no worries). 🙂 So glad you had a great time with the Man!

  8. i love that restaurant!!!
    good choice, and your night sounds wonderful.
    – rebekah

Leave a Reply

