Adventures in tamarind land

Happy Easter friends!

Well I’m back with last night’s dinner recap, but first up, cocktail hour (obvi ;))

 

Dare I say that this was the best tropical cocktail I have had outside of Mexico?!  Holy yum. I know where I’ll be going back to for our Cinco de Mayo party! 😛

Alright enough with the shannigans, onto dinner…

The ingredient I was just dying to try was, you guessed it, tamarind!

Now this meal uses the ingredient in a bit of an unconventional way, but one that fit my cravings last night and one that I must say will be done again.

Burgers, Two Ways

  1. Tamarind Honey Ginger for her
  2. Savory Onion Parsley for him

I used a 1lb package of antibiotic & hormone free ground beef from Whole Foods for this recipe, split in half for each flavor combo.

First up, let’s play with the tamarind! 

  • 1 tblsp Tamarind concentrate
  • 1 tblsp honey
  • 1 tsp ginger paste

Look how thick and syrup-y delicious this mixture turns out!

Plus

  • 1/4 cup diced onion (unpic)
  • S&P (unpic)
  • 1 tblsp bread crumbs (unpic)

Then simply mix the tamarind sauce and other ingredients in with the ground beef, forming 2 patties.  Place in pan over medium heat and cook until done.

As a serving vehicle it was time to dig into the goods from yesterday again…

 

Loved it!  The burger was so moist and flavorful, kinda sweet and tangy from the various flavors used…

You will be seeing more tamarind veryyyy soon my friends 😉

To go with my burger I had a summery side salad

Spring mix, tomato, strawberries, onion, black pepper and PomWonderful vinaigrette

Refreshing and deelish, the perfect side dish to go with the sweet & savory burger (love the theme here!)

For The Man’s burgers I got out these guys:

  • 1 tblsp San-J soy sauce
  • 1 tblsp worcestsershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup diced onion
  • 1 tsp fresh chopped Italian parsley (unpic)
  • S&P (unpic)
  • 1 tblsp bread crumb (unpic)

Mixed these ingredients in with the other half of the ground beef and got to cookin’, same method as above.

Served atop a bun with melted colby jack and saga bleu cheese (don’t ask, but it worked haha)

I told Mr. Man to get the condiments he would want to add for the burger out himself.  He took a taste test bite and rejoiced that this burger, in fact, needed nothing.  I cried.

Well not really, but on the inside, from happiness.

Both burgers = success.

Both eaters = happy and full.

Well I’ve been doing some kitchen thangs this morning already with the patio door open to let the morning’s cool breeze in, so freaking wonderful!

This afternoon we are headed to The Man’s parents for a big Easter Dinner, Fanatic Fam will be there too 🙂

Does your family (friends) have a big Easter celebration?

I’ll report back later, enjoy your day!

P.S.  My best friend is being induced to have her twin boys today, ahhhh I’m so excited for her and my prayers are with her and her family 🙂

7 responses to “Adventures in tamarind land

  1. Fanatic Mom

    The mango I got yesterday was soooooo good. It is the perfect ripeness, so use yours soon! I will definitely want to go back to get more.

  2. Happy Easter Steph.

    Looks awesome as always. Oh to have just half your adventurism.

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever had tamarind? Now I’m intrigued. 🙂

    Hoping all goes well with your friend and the babies – so exciting!

  4. Happy Easter lady, hope you eat lots of fantastic food!

    Yayyy for your best friend. 🙂

  5. Yummm that sounds like a delicious cocktail!! Happy Easter girl!

  6. Hey hey! How are you? Great job on the his and hers burgers. Glad the man was a big fan of his (kitchen success!!!). Enjoy the rest of the day. We just got back from a big Easter late lunch at my parents 🙂

  7. Love the burgers and salad, perfect spring meal! We don’t have a big Easter celebration, but do go to brunch, it’s a fun tradition cause we always try somewhere new.

Leave a Reply

