Simple Title: Delicious Dinner

Hey everyone!

Thanks so much for all your congrats on the exciting OpenSky news 🙂

Ya’ll are my biggest fans (well maybe except for Fanatic Momma, but she’s my mom so that’s her job 😉 ) and your support and kindess means more to me than I can ever express in words!

I loved hearing about your “wish list” kitchen tools too —>  maybe some new ideas for the shop?

Anywho, in a nutshell, ya’ll rock and much love to all of you from this girl!

So with that, how about we eat?

Okay, well not really eat (grab a snack if you so wish? :P) but instead talk about eating, and cooking, and food… bc that’s we do on this blog right?!

Dinner tonight was another Indian food inspiration, this time featuring:

  • tamarind
  • mint chutney

I decided to make a chicken marinade of sorts out of the tamarind concentrate.  Here were the starters, but some fill-ins came in late in the game as I taste tested my way through!

  • 1 tblsp tamarind concentrate
  • 1 tblsp San-J soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp coriander
  • 1/2 tsp ginger paste
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • small squirt Sriracha
  • 1 tblsp agave (unpic)
  • 1 tsp coconut oil, warmed (unpic)

All stirred up and ready for marinating 🙂

Simply let the chicken take a bath for 30 minutes or so in this delicious mixture, then cook on the stovetop over medium until done, turning once.

To go with our chicken I made up some Curry Coconut Sweet Potato fries!

  • 2 sweet potatoes, sliced into “fry” strips
  • 1 tblsp coconut oil, warmed to liquid
  • curry powder, to taste

Let the sliced sweet potatoes roll around in the melted coconut oil and give a sprinkle of curry powder…

… before popping into a 400F oven for about 45 minutes, crankin’ it up to 425F for the last few minutes to crisp.

Guess you may be wondering what that green dipping sauce is huh?

That would be another of my purchases from our recent trip to the Indian grocery!

Mint Chutney! And it comes in individual serving packs too… fabulous 🙂

My boss at work who I’ve been talking with about Indian cuisine and the such said that this was some of the best you could find, and with him being from India I definitely trust it!  He also said that their coconut chutney was amazing… what’s that you say, coconut?!  SOLD!  Put it on the list….

To round out the meal we had a cool & refreshing salad

Romaine, cucumber, tomato, onion & bleu cheese…. topped with The Man’s salad dressing request:  PomWonderful vinaigrette!  I was so proud 🙂

So here are my thoughts on tonight’s dinner:

  • Tamarind marinade was a winner!  Both The Man and I thought the flavors were beautifully fresh & complex, with none of them overpowering the other.
  • Mint chutney was fabulous, such a cool and refreshing (w/ a hint of spice) way to balance out the sweet curry fries, loved it!

What a great way to end a Monday 😛

Oh yes, and for those of you who were curious about last night’s pumpkin crisp… just wanted to let you know that it was probably one of the best desserts I have ever had.  Kind of like an iced pumpkin sugar cookie but warm and smooth, so good. I’m trying to get my hands on the recipe ASAP!

You know I’ll share 😉

Have a great night everyone and I have some more exciting news for you tomorrow p.s.!

12 responses to “Simple Title: Delicious Dinner

  1. That chicken looks great!! I’m such a chicken gal but I always eat it plain.. this would be perfect to switch it up!

  2. Pumpkin crisp…um YUM!!!! Please please please share the recipe if you get it!
    Those sweet potato fries look the BOMB!

  3. yum! I love the coconut curry sweet potato fries sound insanely good!

  4. I would have no idea what to do in an Indian store! I’ve never eaten Indian food, but no doubt would love it. I’m going to try the sweet taters with coconut oil and curry!

  5. More exciting news? I can’t wait! Congrats on the new store- hope it does well. Great dinner- especially the fries…they look divine! Have a good one 🙂

  6. HELLO curry coconut fries!
    getttttt in my belly.
    – r

  7. I love the sweet taters + mint chutney combo…sounds delish!! All your Indian recipes are so creative, it always reminds me to start experimenting in the kitchen more often!! Have a great Tuesday!

  8. Looks like another delicious meal! The sweet potato fries look so yummy.

  9. lovin those fries! I have a sweet potato at home just WAITING for this recipe 😉

  10. I’m truly loving all your Indian eats. So amazing. I want to come over every night for dinner 🙂

  11. We both must have had coconut curry on our minds last night. Your fries look phenomenal! I can’t wait to hear the news today. 🙂

  12. Yeaaaaa; welcome to OpenSky…now we are Shopkeeper buddies on OpenSky, hehe…Congrats darling..
    I am drooooling over your dinner…O my gosh…it looks amazing and I honestly need to make this tonight…Miss you and hope you are well…have a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

