“Burgers” and Hot Dogs

Phew what a day… I must say that I was exhausted today and couldn’t have been happier to get home from work tonight!

I even took a 20 minutes power nap, which I never do?

Guess my body just said “stop!” —> so I did 😉

But not for too long, as there was dinner fun to be had, his and hers style!

One or two nights a week (usually basketball nights that need quick meals for The Man) I like to make this type of dinner. 

Why?  Because it gives me the chance to experiment with a meal that I know he would not be that excited about, while also allowing him to have some eats that I probably wouldn’t want a part of 😛

Win for everyone!  Keeps us happy, what can I say?

Fiesta Black Bean Burgers

Over the past weekend I decided to prepare some of the dried black beans I had purchased at Whole Foods, getting them prepped for use during the week.

Folks, canned beans are overrated!  If you have some down time around the house, preparing the dried version is so super simple and cheap.  My girl Allison did a post on it today actually!

After a quick pick through & rinse and Saturday overnight stay in a bath of water in my fridge they were ready to cook Sunday morning. 

Bring to a boil in a big pot (in enough water to cover) then turn down to medium for about 2 hours, covered.  I did this Sunday morning while I cleaned the house & what not, so easy!

After that I stashed them away in the fridge for later use, and some in the freezer for later too!  Multiple cans of beans essentially for the cost of one bag of dried, hello $bling$ 😛

Time to make the “burgers!”

  • 1 1/4 cup black beans (these were cooked as discussed above)
  • 3/4 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup salsa (I used roasted green chile salsa)
  • 1 tblsp fresh cilantro, chopped
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder

Just mix together all of the ingredients in a bowl until well blended.  Then form into patties, I ended up making three.

I let them firm up a bit in the fridge while getting the rest of dinner ready, then just cooked them up in some cooking spray over medium heat until the outside was “crisp”!  Of course some melted cheese on tonight’s burger too 😉

To go with our meal I made up a simple side salad

and some mac n’ cheese!

All served up, here was her dinner!

And let’s not forget his…

All Wellshire all natural hot dogs that is, but shhhh, he doesn’t need to know they’re the “healthy version” 😉

I really enjoyed the black bean burgers, they had both a great flavor and texture, which I think is super important to a successful bean burger!

Well I better run, I’m getting to bed super early tonight and hoping for a rested day tomorrow.  Especially since I have 843 meetings, or so it seems 😛   For some reason Thursdays tend to be my busiesr days at work, what’s up with that?!  Do you find that a certain day of the week tends to be busier than others at your job?

Alright friends, have a great night! 😀

11 responses to ““Burgers” and Hot Dogs

  1. savoringsarah

    Bomb cookout menu tonight, girl!! I NEED to try making my own bean burgers, and yours sound RIGHT up my alley!

    Mondays are hands down my busiest day of the week. Unless I have mutiple clinics, then my busiest day is Friday because, naturally, I wait until last minute possible to catch up on emails, phone calls & paperwork 🙂

  2. I love black bean burgers!! Those look great! 🙂

  3. Those burgers sound really great!!!! I have only made bean burgers one time and they weren’t that great :/

  4. Wow….I didn’t realize preparing your own black beans was so easy? I might have to give this a shot. I LOVE black beans and could eat them every.single.day. Those burgers look perfect!

  5. Only 20 minutes? You have so much nap self control!!! Jealous 😉

  6. I have been meaning to try using dried beans. I steer away from buying canned beans anymore because the sodium content is just so stinkin high!

    Those burgers look great!

  7. I love black bean burgers. Those look great!

  8. Baseball season will be starting in my household soon and I kind of like those meals where you can each make your own thing!

  9. I totally agree about dried beans being better than canned! I only keep a few cans of beans for emergencies. I have had trouble cooking dried kidney beans though- they always seem to lose their shape and turn to mush. Have you cooked that type? Suggestions?

    • This was my first try with dried beans actually! I’m not sure about the kidney beans though? If I try them I will let you know how it goes for sure 🙂

  10. Pingback: Fresh & Fast Fajitas « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

