I love springtime…

Hey hey hey 🙂

Dinner time you say?  Alright alright, twist my arm…

So on our Sunday trek back from Wilmington I gave the trusty Cooking Light book a flip through in search of meal ideas for the week! 

I had picked up some ground beef at Whole Foods before we left (on special) and couldn’t quite think of exactly what I wanted to do with it… CL to the rescue!

Did I mention that weekly meal planning if one of my favorite things to do?! 

Do you like planning meals too?  Would you have any interest in seeing how I plan for and get our homemade meals on the table while also managing a full time work schedule? Just curious 🙂

CHIPOTLE SLOPPY JOES

While flipping through the pages of ol’ C.L. I came across this recipe, which I actually made a while back and which was a huge hit. 

And since The Man always comments that we “never have the same meal twice,” I of course, am always here to prove him wrong haha 😛  jk guys aight

I made some changes from (1) the ingredients & method/order of cooking and (2) from last time around — even I change my own changes on recipes?!!?

So here goes it, my take on C.L.’s Chipotle Sloppy Joes!

  • 1lb ground beef (antibiotic & hormone free, 90/10)
  • 2 onions, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 15 oz. can tomato sauce
  • 2 spoonfuls tomato paste
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo, sliced
  • 1.5 tsp ground cumin
  • salt/pepper
  • cooking spray
  • hamburger buns or bread of choice, toasted

First saute up the onions & peppers in cooking spray for a few minutes…

Add the ground beef, cumin, S&P cooking until done…

Then add the garlic, chipotle in adobo, tomato sauce and tomato paste and lower the heat, covering to let the flavors combine while the rest of the meal is prepared…

Served up “bun-style” for him and “thin bagel open-faced” style for her 😀

 

To go with my slop slop sloppy joes I had a sweet potato and topped it just like I did on Sunday, because it was freaking delicious and I couldn’t stop thinking about it all week…

Half baked sweet potato topped with cilantro green olive salsa & sour cream, so good, so good.

I also whipped up a tex-mex salad topped with tomato, cucumber, tomato, olives, onion and corn…

The Man had his veg too, don’t worry… corn, “butter style” 😉

Perfect mid-week meal 🙂  This recipe is really great, I would highly recommend trying it for a spin on the ol’ classic!

Well I’m pretty excited that the week is half way over, not going to lie.  After being outta town last weekend I’m definitely looking forward to being home, relaxing & doing things around the house this weekend! (what, it’s only Wednesday haha?) 

And before I go, just a reminder that there are a few more days left to enter my giveaway!!  So check it out friends 🙂

I’ll leave you with this, taken at 8pm tonight…

… I love spring time 😉

10 responses to “I love springtime…

  1. I’d love to see how you plan your meals!! I plan meals, too, but have been so bored and had dinner-block’s lately with no idea what to make. Would love to see your tips!

  2. this looks delicious!
    ps – whole foods cooking demo on monday or tuesday? i went to sign up and blanked out!
    lookin forward to it!

  3. I plan our meals every week too, it’s the easier way to do it in my opinion.

  4. lowandbhold

    Mmmm, I love sloppy joes!

    I go back and forth on meal planning. I live alone so winging it ain’t really no thang, but when I want to cook big meals and have lots of leftovers I have to plan ahead.

    A meal planning post would be great!

  5. I noticed a direct correlation between when I started planning my meals and the amount of food I wasted. If I don’t plan my meals I throw out too much food that went bad. Now it’s rare that I waste food- which makes me feel better! I would love to see a post on how you plan your meals!

  6. Mmmm…Sloppy Joes cooking light style. Love it!

  7. haha I love the Sloppy Joe song!

    I LOVE to meal plan – it’s my fave part of the week LOL. I only cook 2 meals/week, usually (and eat the leftovers all week), so I’d love to see how you plan it all out! You seem v. organized, so I’m sure I could benefit from your tips. 🙂

  8. I love meal planning too. It’s so fun! I usually check the sales online at Whole Foods and try to choose the recipes off those ingredients and filling in the “holes” with whatever else sounds good (I usually do a chicken dinner, a veg dinner, a fish/seafood one, a meat one and then wing it for the rest of them).

  9. Pingback: Bank « CookinFanatic

  10. Pingback: Ever had a star fruit? « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

