Ever had a star fruit?

Hey friends!

Well The Man & I spent the day doing all sorts of domesticated outdoor yard “stuff” but I must say it was quite the glorious day to do so!  Sunny & just warm enough in the sunshine 😀

Instead of doing an in-ground garden due to lack of sunlight in the backyard where we need it, we decided to go for a potted garden this year instead…

I’m also happy to report that the herb garden is springin’ with life still (yay me, haven’t killed it yet haha!) 😛

What I’m not happy about, The Man finding a black widow while working in the yard!!!!!!  Let’s just say I freaked out, clearly.

All that yard work called for a delicious & refreshing snack too!

Ever had a starfruit?

Looks a lil’ something like this…

So why is it called a star fruit you ask?

Ta-da!

My mom used to have these for us when we were growing up and I forgot how much I adore them!

I can only describe them as a mixture of an apple, plum, pineapple and all things tropical 😛  Deelish, plus low in calories and high in Vitamin C, win.

After a hard working day we were ready for an easy and tasty dinner!

I also wanted one that we could work on in the kitchen together, bc I think it’s fun 😉

His & Hers Calzones + Greek Inspired Salad

Remember that pizza dough I made last week?  Well I froze half the batch and defrosted it overnight last night, ready to rumble?!

The “fillings” for the calzones were as follows:

  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • Newman’s own marinara
  • roasted red peppers
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • freshly grated Parmesan
  • feta cheese
  • fresh basil

First step was to saute the mushrooms & onions in a lil’ EVOO until they were tender.  I also added the garlic at the very end of cooking for some extra flava!  A quick twist of black pepper never hurt either 😉

Then it was “building time” (p.s. I love when we do pizza nights bc it gets us both in the kitchen with fresh, flavorful & healthy ingredients!)

First we split the dough in half then flattened it out nice n’ thin, topping with our own portions of marinara sauce and piling on the mushroom/onion/garlic mixture

 

Here’s where I started changing things up from Mr. Man… roasted red peppers were layered on top followed by the fresh basil, torn & rustic

Lastly was the cheese layer, shredded mozzarella and freshly grated Parm

The Man built his calzone similarly, except sans roasted red pepper and basil and plus like 10lbs more cheese, including feta too 😛

Then it was onto a baking sheet coated with cooking spray and into a 425F oven for 20 minutes.  I also sprayed some additional cooking spray on top and poked a few fork-holes in the calzones.

Check out the insides!

To go alongside the calzones was a Greek inspired salad

  • romaine
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • onion
  • roasted red peppers
  • feta
  • black pepper
  • oregano

Such a fabulous Sunday dinner to top off a wonderful weekend!  Now if only I didn’t have to go to work tomorrow 😛

Speaking of tomorrow, I’ll be posting my Meal Planning 101 post so you can see how I planned our meals for this week (including tonight’s calzones!) and also my grocery shopping adventures… !

And don’t forget, tonight is the last night to enter the ThriveNP performance crew giveaway 😀

Have a great Sunday my friends!

9 responses to “Ever had a star fruit?

  1. I literally just published a post discussing how much I want to try different fruits. Adding star-fruits to the list 🙂 thanks, boo!

  2. Black Widows in VA?? I had no idea they lived in that region. I would have freaked out and ran inside! We had a little tiny lizard in our hotel room this past week. Even though he was cute, I freaked out and made Mike catch him in a cup and release him, haha.

    I’ve never tried a starfruit. I’ll have to look for one at the grocery store!

  3. Nice! We are doing an in ground garden this year for the first time and I’m super excited. We’re starting small. Love your potted garden- what a great idea. I had a star fruit for the first time in Jamaica- a very unique flavor but I enjoyed it. Love your calzones- I’m making pizza pot pies tomorrow and I can’t wait.

  4. Don’t hate me, but I actually do not like star fruit. Maybe I just haven’t ever gotten a really good one??

    I ❤ calzones!!

  5. I’ve actually never had a starfruit, but whenever I see them I want one because they’re so pretty and fun looking! Good to know they’re just as yummy as their name suggests 🙂 Hope you have a great Monday!!

  6. we are growing things in pots too!!

    I had pizza last night, now I wish I had leftovers of it ; (

  7. The calzones look so yummy.

    We used to have a star fruit tree in our back yard in Honduras. So good!

  8. Whoa whoa….you lost me at black widow?? ew ew ew! I need a Man to kill spiders at mi casa. 🙂

    I’ve never had a starfruit…but they look so pretty! I will definitely try one – I am a lover of all fruits.

  9. OH YUM… those calzones sound awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

