Fresh & Fast Fajitas

And the winner of the ThrivNP giveaway is…

Congrats Jessica!

Email me your name, address and shirt size so I can pass it along to the fabulous friends at Thrive and get your performance crew on its merry way 🙂

Well as you may have read on my Meal Planning 101 post earlier today, tonight’s dinner menu was a Mexican fiesta in our house 🙂

P.S. Thanks for all your positive feedback on the post, I’m really glad that I had the chance to share some of my tips with all of you!

His & Her’s style, since I’m really trying to cut down on my meat consumption these days.  And maybe close to completely after something I watched last night… something that has been dubbed “the vegan-maker”… and something I can’t seem to get out of my mind.

At the end of this post I have linked to the trailer of a documentary called Earthlings that Katie posted about yesterday.  The reason for it being at the end of the post is that it is definitely not for the faint of heart… please view only at your own risk and I’ll just say that I warned you…

Okay back to dinner why don’t we?

Black Bean Fajitas <— for her

Chicken Fajitas <— for him

As I mentioned in my meal planning post, coming up with meals that are easy to make both non-veg & veg friendly is something that I’ve started doing more & more often.  That way The Man is happy with his protein source and so am I, but I’m not doing all sorts of extra work in the kitchen since the meals share common ingredients!

I started by making a quick fajita marinade for the chicken using the following:

I also let the black beans “marinate” in this sauce too (2 tblsp, the rest was used for the chicken)! 

I prepared these from dried black beans like so just a couple weeks back, stashed them in the freezer and after an overnight defrost they were ready for usin’!

Then it was time for the veggies, green peppers and onions all sliced up and cooked over medium heat in 1 tblsp EVOO until tender.

I also seasoned these with a sprinkle of black pepper, chili powder, cumin and ground coriander to taste.

To serve we have whole wheat tortillas, shredded cheese, salsa, sour cream, fresh lime & cilantro from the garden!

Time to build zee fajitas 😛

Chicken, peppers & onions for him —  Black beans, peppers & onions for her

Topping time!  Salsa, sour cream, fresh lime juice and cilantro before wrappin’ it up

Plus some corn w/ salsa on the side…

Added a squeeze of fresh lime juice & some cilantro too which made this just a fabulous side dish 😀

This meal not only fresh & delicious, but super easy especially bc The Man got in the kitchen to help me out!  Defintely wasn’t complaining since I didn’t wrap up my ExerciseTV work out til almost 7:30pm… but dinner was on the table by 8, win!

Jillian Michaels Yoga MeltDown was tonight’s exercise of choice btw, it was just what I needed to stretch out, get in some cardio plus do some pretty intense toning using my own body weight… did I mention I love this routine?

Alright everyone, I gots to run, hope you have a great night and be on the lookout for some more fun giveaways in the near future 😉

As referenced above, here is the link Earthlings.

All I can say is that this movie trailer brought me to tears (don’t know if I can stomach the whole movie…ever)  No words.  And has seriously made me reconsider my meat eating practices.  For right now our lil’ fam will be eating only local & naturally raised meats, from the farmer’s market or a locally supplied store.  And I will do my best to continue incorporating veg friendly meals into our weekly menu, keeping the meat eating to a minimum without making The Man cranky.

7 responses to “Fresh & Fast Fajitas

  1. Great din din! Yes, the earthlings trailer made me cry too. I can’t bring myself to watch the whole movie. Whats shown in that trailer is just one of the multiple reasons I chose to go veg(although I think everyone should eat however they want/need to)! Congrats to the t shirt winner

  2. Your black bean fajitas look delish.

    I just watched the Earthlings trailer and I definitely see why it’s been dubbed the vegan-maker. It’s so awful!

  3. Your fajitas look so good! They are definitely going to be some inspiration for one of my dinners this week. 🙂

  4. Love fajitas. I could eat them all the time. Yum!

  5. thehealthyjunky

    Fajitas look great! Earthlings not so much, I could not even watch the whole thing. Good thing I try and practice semi-vegetarian/vegan. I just love seafood to much.
    I think I am going to post this video on my blog for my readers to see. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I’m actually SCARED to watch the Earthlings trailer…I HATE violence of any kind, especially towards helpless people/animals, which is the reason I’m a vegetarian and try to eat as few other animal products as possible. Loving the black bean fajitas for that reason!!

  7. Pingback: New Food Finds « The Healthy Junky

Leave a Reply

