Indian Lentil Sweet Potato Adventure

Hey everyone! 

I’m so glad that ya’ll are loving the CSN Stores Cuisinart Smart Stick Hand Blender giveaway :D  Remember, you have until Monday to enter to win one of your very own!

Well if you remember from my Meal Planning 101 post, tonight’s dinner plan (which was switched with Wednesday) was for an Indian Chicken dish… did I mention that I like to pick a night during the week where I know I’ll have time to “experiment” in the kitchen and create a unique recipe of my own?

Yep, usually Thursdays too (it’s my “end of the week treat” if you will) and tonight was one of those nights! :)

Although I kinda changed the plans a bit, call me spontaneous?

I decided to do totally seperate his & her’s dinners since I was really in the mood to experiment with an Indian inspired lentil dish

And homeboy don’t do lentils….

So said homeboy got breakfast for dinner, but we’ll get to that in a second alright ;)

First up, Cookinfanatic gets creative on some Indian inspired foods!

 

  • 1.5 cups lentils (1 c. brown and 1/2 c.red)
  • 1 sweet potato, peeled & chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 6 cups water
  • 1/2 tblsp virgin coconut oil

First I cooked up the onion in the coconut oil for about 5 minutes, adding the garlic towards the very end.  Then went in all of the spices listed above and the ginger for about 2 minutes, get ready to be in smell heaven!

I stirred in the lentils (which I had rinsed/sorted) and water and brought to a boil, reduced and cooked for about 20  minutes.  Then I added the potatoes were and the cooking continued for about 30-40 minutes until the potato was tender and the lentils were done!

 

To serve, I topped with this fabulous mint chutney that was purchased during our trip to the Indian grocery

THIS WAS AMAZING!!!  First of all, if you kind find this mint chutney I highly suggest you buy 190 boxes of it, asap. Bc I will be once my stash runs out ;)  Secondly, I adored the lentil/sweet potato combo with all the complex spices goin’ on… fabuloussssssssssss :D

To go with my main dish I made a fresh garden salad, incorporating some fresh herbs from our garden!

  • romaine
  • tomato
  • carrot (using a peeler I made swirls!)
  • cucumber
  • fresh parsley, basil & lemon basil
  • black pepper
  • raspberry vinaigrette

I adored everything about this meal, and I’m so pumped that I have leftovers out the wazoo for this weekend! :P

The Man had his own lil’ feast, breakfast style.

Scrambled Eggs w/ Mushrooms, Onions, Garlic, Swiss Cheese & Fresh Chives

Plus some bacon for good measure ;)

I sauteed up an onion in 1 tblsp butter, adding the mushrooms about 5 minutes in and cooking until they were tender.  The garlic was added about 1 minute before these were done.

Added in 3 eggs and some S&P, finishing off with fresh chives from the garden and voila!

Waffles w/ Nutella and Syrup

And guess what, everyone was a happy camper! :D

Now it’s time for some educational television (righttt) and the realization that it’s already Friday?!?!  Booyah!  What a week, I can’t believe how fast it flew… no complaints here ;)

Have a great night friends!

7 responses to “Indian Lentil Sweet Potato Adventure

  1. That salad looks so beautiful – I’ve got to work on my salad presentation :-D.

  2. Everything looks so good.

    Your Man is lucky, mine gets whatever I cook. haha

  3. I loooove sauteed mushrooms! If I could get away with those being my veggies everyday, I’d be set.

  4. Isn’t it fun to get in the kitchen and be creative?? I love it.

    The lentil dish looks fab. I think you must have Indian in your heritage! :)

    Happy Friday.

  5. I’ve had coconut oil sitting in my pantry not sure what to do with it. I am going to have to scan your blog for some good recipes!

  6. that waffle!! looks so good!

    sauteed mushrooms are my new favorite way to eat them! i love mushrooms in general, but sauteed with some onions, they become SO good!

  7. We had Indian spiced lentils last night for dinner and they were amazing! I forgot how much I enjoy them!

    Waffle looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

