A night out & morning market adventures!

Hello everyone! 

Well I have been having a blast since I saw you last, not gonna lie that this weekend has really stepped up it’s game and I’m lovin’ it 😀

Last night after a quick dinner at home that included this beauty…

… we met up with friends over at a bar down the street called Bar Louie.  I had a glass of Sauv Blanc and The Man a Blue Moon fresh w/ orange slices (summer love!)

Pre-Vino?

Post-Vino?

What can I say, homegirl likes her wine 😉

After cocktails we headed over to The Funny Bone Comedy Club to see Charlie Murphy!  Yes, that would be brother to Eddie Murphy!  Pretty cool, no?

Upon waiting in line to get in I spotted this…

… which I thought sounded pretty darn deelish.  But more to come on that in a second 😉 

We also got the munchies and splurged on some coconut shrimp

I do not lie when I say that these are in the top of all coconut shrimp I’ve ever had.  You know how the coconut flavor can get lost sometimes in this dish normally?  Nope, not in this case.  Sweet and pronounced coconut dipped into a sweet & sour chutney makes for pure heaven.  Trust.

The show was pretty good, some of the humor wasn’t exactly up my alley but overall it was a good show!

We got home pretty late but that didn’t stop me from picking up Fanatic Mom early (9am?) this morning and hitting up the first farmer’s market!  Even though it was raining, I was determined to get there 😛

     

 

         

I ended up picking up some grass fed local ground beef, natural cheddar cheese, gourmet cake pops, a tomato plant and this fabulous soy candle 🙂

Red Currant & Goji Berry – amazing 🙂

I can’t wait until the fresh produce really ramps up!  The offerings today were spring standbys, a few strawberries, greens and herbs.

After that adventure Mom and I were ready for more, so we made a trip to a new-to-us Latino Market! This one was fabulous and had so much fun stuff.

Every Goya (love) product known to man, fresh veggies & fruits, dried whole fishies?! 😛

 

Lotsa dried chiles…

And whole dried shrimpies too…?

I walked away with some great finds!

  • ancho chiles
  • tomatillos
  • Goya cilantro cooking base
  • fresh corn tortillas
  • mango nectar

I think I have some great ideas for our Cinco de Mayo party next weekend!! 

Plus I’m giving the ancho chile/roasted tomatillo sauce a whirl tomorrow that we learned at the Whole Foods cooking demo and if it turns out well it’s goin’ on the menu!

A quick trip to the Indian grocery was also in order, hey why not? 😉

  • coconut chutney (the mint was so good & my boss recommended this one too!)
  • ataulfo mango (only the most succulent fruit on Earth, for real)
  • pitted dates
  • flat bread (amazing stuff)

Busy morning!  But so. much. fun. 🙂

And now it looks like the rain is clearing out for a while so I’m off to do whatever it is I feel like!  Maybe a workout (that shouldn’t be a “maybe” haha ah well)…  love the weekend 😉

See you back for a cooking adventure with some of the fabulous market finds!

What’s your favorite type of cuisine to experiment with cooking at home?? 

P.S. Don’t forget that you have until Monday to enter my Cuisinart Smart Stick Hand Blender giveaway :P

12 responses to “A night out & morning market adventures!

  1. What a great night! Love the pre/post vino pictures hahahha. ❤ the farmers market. Thats cool that they sell candles at yours. I wish we had a latino market nearby (maybe we do and I just don't know about it??)- Mexican is definitely my favorite type of cuisine to experiment with. Hope the rest of your weekend is just as wonderful

  2. Looks like you made the best of your morning, rain or shine! 🙂 I really need to find out if we have the different ethnic markets in the MSP. I’m sure we do, I just have no idea about them!

    I don’t have one favorite. Can I pick all?

  3. MMMMMmmmmmm, cake pops sounds good!! 🙂

    Our favorite cuisine to cook at home is most def mexican!! 🙂

  4. Love those pictures of you- so fun! And your top is really pretty, kind of goddess-like…it goes well with your hair 🙂

    My favorite cuisine to experiment with is probably vegan, just because there’s a serious lack of vegan restaurants outside of NYC!

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  5. Oh my goodness- it looks like you and your mom had quite a morning of fun. I need to check out both the Latino and Indian Market you went to – your goods look awesome. I spy a couple tomatillos in there- can’t wait to see what you do with those little guys.

    So far my favorite cuisine to prepare at home has been Thai, Vietnamese, Japanese, and Indian. I’m all over the place.

    PS – Just so you know, I am drinking a 5 oz pour of Pinot Noir as I type this. 🙂

  6. YAY for farmers markets!!
    When I lived in Denver there was a Bar Louie. I loved that place!!

  7. Pingback: Eating Local « CookinFanatic

  8. I love catching up on sleep. I sleep 10 hours last night which never ever happens! Must have been tired! Your dessert looks awesome!

  9. Pingback: Muy Delicioso! « CookinFanatic

  10. Pingback: Outta Time « CookinFanatic

  11. Pingback: Cuban Picadillo « CookinFanatic

  12. Pingback: Candy Valley Cake Pop Giveaway! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

