Eating Local

Good morning friends!

Well I got a glorious 9 hours of sleep which never happens so I am a happy camper this morning 😀

Too bad it’s raining, but that’s okay because it fits in perfectly with my morning plans in the kitchen, but more to come on that later 😉

After rounding out our grocery shopping yesterday, The Man finally came home from work and we had a lovely local dinner & watched Avatar from the comforts of home.  I’m in love with that movie, and it looks amazing in blue ray!

Speaking of things I love, check out what I found at Whole Foods today?!?!?

Remember my trip up north with my JMU girls and our visit to the Warwick Winery in New York? 

steph

Oh yes, we had this there, and I loved it!  I was so excited to find it at a store here in Richmond, this will be purchased again oh yes 😛

For dinner I decided to use one of my purchases from the Farmer’s Market today…

Grass fed ground beef from a family owned & operated farm about an hour south of where we live.  Doing our best to support local products and also ensure that we are eating meat that we can feel good about.

To make the burgers I used the following ingredients:

  • 1/2 package (1/2lb) ground beef
  • 1/4 onion, chopped small
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tblsp fresh Italian parsley, chopped
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tsp San-J soy sauce (the best!)
  • 2 tblsp oats (unpictured)
  • fresh black pepper
  • cheddar to melt on top

Make the patties by mixing together all ingredients (except cheese) and forming into flat patties.  This made 3.

Then heat up a skilled over medium-high heat, spray with cooking spray, and get the burgers cookin’!

Flip after they brown on one side, continue to cook over medium-high heat for another minute or 2.  Turn heat down a bit, cover and let completely cook through.

Served with melted cheese and some ketchup & mustard.  These burgers are so flavorful they don’t need much extra 🙂

So delicious!  Who says burgers have to go on the grill to taste good?

To go with we had some side salads

  • mixed greens
  • fresh herbs:  basil, parsley, lemon basil (loving this in my salads!)
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • onion
  • black olives
  • black pepper

And let’s not forget dessert, which included a purchase from earlier in the day as well!

Candy Valley gourment cake pops!

Chomp!

Holy yum this was good!  The Man and I both agreed that this was some of the moistest and most flavorful cake we have ever had.  I adored this cake pop, good think we still have one more in our ration 😉

Well my friends, I have some fun things planned on this rainy day agenda…

One including some purchases from yesterday indeed!

A lil’ recipe we learned at the Whole Foods cooking demo 🙂

In fact, I saw chef Jessee yesterday at Whole Foods and he gave me all the tricks to make sure this recipe turns out nicely… fingers crossed!

Time to get cookin’

And maybe exercisin’, it’s about that time 😛

Have a great day!  And remember, this is the last day to enter my Cuisinart Smart Stick Hand Blender giveaway!

8 responses to “Eating Local

  1. Oh that cider looks fantastic! (and thats a super cute pic of you!) 🙂

  2. a cake pop? get the heck out of town. nommmmm.

    I can’t remember the last time I had a good burg. Can’t wait for BBQ season!

  3. Tis’ the grilling season and I couldn’t be happier! Our propane is out, so we need to get on that ASAP!

    And those cake pops? I think they would steal my heart if I tried one!

  4. Love cider and the cake pops look delicious. Have a great Sunday!

  5. Oh my gosh…I just watched Food Inc. last night and am VERY jealous of that beef. I’m wracking my brain trying to think of where to get “safe” meat?? And those cake pops….OMG.

    Thank you so much for the sweet comment on my blog, too. You are so sweet and thoughtful, and we really appreciate the thoughts and prayers. 🙂 have a great weekend, girlie!

  6. We got Avatar in Blue Ray DVD cannot wait to watch!

    The Winery looked like fun!

  7. Pingback: Tofu Homerun! « CookinFanatic

  8. daksha desai

    i feel next year i must visit your market.
    i m proud mother of keya desai wingfield
    who made this cake pops.
    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

