Tofu Homerun!

Hey friends! 

Well I made it back from the dentist in 1 piece, 2 fillings later… the dentist, hygienist & I talk food/blogs too since they know about my love for cooking and I really enjoy it!  Well, not the filling part, but the talking about food part 😉

And I’m so glad that ya’ll loved the homemade ancho chile sauce & tomatillo adventure from yesterday as much as I did, it made for some lovely lunch leftovers today too I might add!

On tonight’s menu was a little adventure with tofu

Nasoya Organic Cubed Super Firm Tofu to be specific.

After seeing IGE prepare tofu this way I have been wanting to try this method with a recipe of my own.  Perfect night to do so considering post dentist “soft” foods are definitely on the agenda 😉

I prepared a marinade using the following ingredients

  • 1 tblsp virgin coconut oil
  • 2 tblsp San-J soy sauce
  • 1 tsp tamarind concentrate
  • 1.5 tblsp agave nectar
  • 1 tsp ginger paste
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Put the marinade in the microwave for just 10 seconds to melt up the coconut oil and blend flavors.

I wish you friends could just take a lil’ whiff of this sauce… holy yum!  I had to do the “finger test” to taste haha – and oh yea, this hit the spot 😀 

Let this do it’s thing in the fridge for about 10 minutes or so!

Sweet coconut, salty soy, sour tamarind, tangy ginger & garlic… I mean if that’s not a playground for the taste buds then I don’t know what is?!

Then baked these at 400F for about 30 minutes until they were ‘crispy’ & perfect.

The smell of this cooking was enough to make me drool, I don’t know how to describe this flavor blend but it was FABULOUSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

I also sauteed up some summer squash with olive oil, garlic, onion & basil

Served with some brown rice this was a perfectly rounded meal that hit the spot 🙂

VERDICT?  Loved it!  This marinade was phenomenal, will be doing this again oh yes.  This was definitely a tofu homerun!

Did you know that I never thought I liked tofu until experimenting with it lately?  I really am learning the different ways to prepare it and I think I am hooked 😀  This is by far my fave way to eat it so far, for sure!

The Man had a leftover local burger w/ tater tots since I wasn’t sure that tofu was gonna cut it…

…. howeverrrrrr he eyed the tofu after arriving home and even took not 1, but 2 “tastes” 😉  His words, “this stuff really isn’t bad”

I am still in shock 🙂

Speaking of local foods, we watched Food, Inc. yesterday and must tell you that I am in love with this movie.  I think that every American should be required to watch this as it really sheds the light on the reality of how our country is eating. 

I felt like much of it I had been exposed to thanks to this wonderful food & blogging community, but I think it was a real eye opener for The Man.  The film really reaffirmed my goals to eat local, eat fresh and consume foods that are not concocted in a lab.  I was so excited that he really supported these goals and now really understands why I am so passionate about them! 🙂

I also found myself telling my hygienist about the movie, which she had never heard of before.  She was very interested honestly in the film & I hope will watch it!  Just think, if even 1 person changes their eating / shopping habits but then they get another person to do the same, it’s like the concept of “pay it forward” where so many people could eventually be affected! 😀

Okay okay enough of my blah blah blahing, it’s time to announce the winner of the Cuisinart Smart Stick Hand Blender!

Congrats Yasmin!

Email me over your shipping information so that the folks at CSN can send your blender on it’s way!

Alright everyone, I”m outta here… off to the new job spot tomorrow (5 minute commute whatup!) so am excited to see what’s in store for me….

Plus I think I’ve found the perfect cocktail for our Cinco de Mayo party, so I must go do some “taste testing” if you will, hey, quality control is important! 😉

I see some mango, coconut & mint goin’ on in there….

See ya then & enjoy your night!

Have you seen Food Inc.?  Have you told your family/friends/acquaintances about the film?

 

17 responses to “Tofu Homerun!

  1. I hope you share that cocktail. 😉

  2. I love cooking with tofu, but haven’t found a marinade I really, really like. I will definitely have to give this a try! Looks great!!

    I haven’t seen food inc yet, but want to! Maybe some time this summer I’ll finally get my hands on it.

  3. Ooh that cocktail sounds delish!

  4. cookeatburn

    Question about that tofu marinade – did coconut end up tasting pretty distinct? My man doesn’t like coconut but if the ginger/tamrind flavors were stronger I might be giving this a shot… 🙂

  5. I agree, you must share the cocktail recipe!

    I haven’t seen Food Inc., but have heard that it is a must. I am hoping to see it in the next few weeks. 🙂

  6. The tofu sounds good – I’m glad you found a yummy way to prepare it!

    And the mango coconut cocktail sounds delish – perfect for cinco de mayo.

  7. I made tofu tonight but for my lunches this week…it took all I had not to eat it all up even though I’d already eaten dinner! It’s amazing how good it is, with the right marinade. Yours sounds amazing – okay, I think I might give this coconut oil a try!

    Agree 100% about Food, Inc. – I think it’s a must see! Scary, but very important to know what we are all eating. Next step on my agenda is to find a place here that sells grass fed beef. 🙂

  8. Yummy looking tofu recipe!! I think it gets such a bad rap, but prepared the right way it’s absolutely delicious!

    Food, Inc. totally changed the way my parents eat, which I couldn’t be happier about. I like that the message of the movie isn’t “vegetarian,” it just reveals the facts about slaughterhouses/processed foods. It makes it accesible to a much wider audience!

    Have a great Tuesday girl!!

  9. I can never find the pre-cubed tofu. Looks great!!!

  10. Oohh that marinade sounds fantastic!!! So versatile too.

  11. I have been cooking tofu similar to this recipe from chow, and it makes for a nice textural change, but may also enhance your marinade.

    http://www.chow.com/videos/show/chow-tips/12082/how-to-roast-tofu?tag=video-thumbs;cl_12082

  12. thehealthyjunky

    Oh I really wished I liked tofu! I should give it another try. I just have a hard time with the texture. It looks great on your plate though!

  13. Yes we have seen Food Inc, the family has not,but we hope to watch it with them soon. I agree everyone needs to see it, and take whatever the message they wish…I hope it at least shows people we need to change the way our food is made!

  14. Pingback: No milk? No problem! « CookinFanatic

  15. I’m going to pretend that I’m not a healthy living blogger and say that those tator tots look AMAZING!!!

  16. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Par-tay!! « CookinFanatic

  17. Pingback: Bratwurst and Tofu? « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

