Cuban Picadillo

Hey friends!  Well we’ve made it to Thursday (what, it’s Thursday already, what a week?!) 😛

Anywho, last night’s dinner was super delicious & also fun bc The Man got in the kitchen and really helped me out!

On the menu?

Cuban Picadillo

“Fanatic Style”

Ever had it?

After purchasing some local ground beef at the farmer’s market last week, I was looking for fun & new recipes to try and stumbled across this one.

What is picadillo? A traditional dish in many Latin American countries made with ground meat, tomatoes and other ingredients that vary by region.  The Cuban version usually includes ingredients such as peppers, onion, garlic, cumin, oregano, olives, raisins and olive oil.

With the salty addition of green olives plus the sweetness of plump raisins, let’s just say that this recipe had me at hello 😀

So The Man & I proceeded with mixing up our own version of this dish!

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1 lb local grass fed ground beef
  • 2/3 can green olives, drained & sliced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1 small package raisins, soaked in water for about 20 min to plump up
  • salt & pepper
  • approx. 1 tblsp cumin & coriander

1.  Saute onion in olive oil.  Add garlic towards end, plus spices and S&P to taste.   Holy smell, deelish 😛

2. Add in ground beef, cooking through until close to done.

3, Then comes the tomatoes, olives, tomato paste and raisins.  Let’s all be friends!

Then turn down the temp to med-low and cover to let finish cooking through.

Served unconventionally atop a bed of egg noodles…

We adored this dish!  The saltiness of the olives paired with a sweet bite of raisin here and there, plus the heartiness of the grass fed beef really made this dish unique.

We both mmmmmm’ed and yummmm’ed through the whole thing, loved it 😀

Oh yea, we also had some side salads to go with, per usual, his & hers…

… which featured this farmer’s market buy!

This cheese is spectacular!  I can’t wait to try a new flavor next time around too.

Such a fast and easy meal, plus I love spending time together in the kitchen.  It was just what I needed after yesterday’s long work day and it fully rejuvenated me to my core!

Good thing…. because it’s time to tackle another day 😉

After work we have a bazillion and one errands to run for the Cinco de Mayo party this weekend (menu is planned, sneak peak tomorrow perhaps????) so we’ll be busy bees tonight!  Hoping I can squeeze in a workout too, but we’ll see.

Until later my friends, enjoy your day!

11 responses to “Cuban Picadillo

  1. That looks delicious! I can’t wait to hear about the party.

  2. Very nice! Love when Josh gets in the kitchen with me 🙂 Raisins are such an interesting addition! Both Josh and I love a lot of spice in our food- I might have to make this for him. Can’t wait to see the details of your cinco de mayo party (whoop whoop mexican!)

  3. That looks sooo yummmmy. 🙂

  4. Mmmm, looks great! Definitely glad you didn’t have road kill for dinner 😉

  5. YUM!!!!!! Looks delicious.

  6. Oh, I love parties. Dinner looks lovely as usual, nice recipe.

  7. I don’t think I’ve never had Cuban food. It looks great – love the raisins in there!!

  8. Love the addition of raisins!! I would have never thought to add that, but sounds good! Yay for local grass fed beef ; )

  9. Sounds great! My brother would be all over this- he loves BEEF and SPICE! Speaking of which, props on the local, grass-fed purchase! Even though I’m a vegetarian, I have zero qualms about eating meat as long as it’s ethically raised and treated 🙂 You’re proof that it’s possible to be an omnivore and still care about your health and animals!!

  10. I’ve never heard of picadillo – but it sounds delish (and fun to say, I might add?). I’m on a mission (and you’re wishin’ someone could change your lonely condition – LOL sorry, had to break out in song, love “Bust a Move”) to find grass fed beef! After watching Food Inc. I just don’t feel “right” eating the meat I used to.

    I think it’s so neat you and the Man cook together. Quality time, delicious meals, love it all!

  11. thehealthyjunky

    mmm that sounds good. I wish I had this for dinner instead of the smoprcaboard of foods I ate.

Leave a Reply

