Plaintain Heaven

Happy Monday friends!

Well tonight’s dinner continued on with the Mexican theme from the Cinco de Mayo party (did you catch the recap yet?!)…

P.S.  Let’s just say that this week will be ‘Cinco de Mayo week’ in our house thanks to some of the leftovers I have crafted into new recipe ideas 🙂

First up on the menu:  Plaintains

Ever had ’em? 

Not I.

These puppies have been ripening on our counter for a few weeks now and were finally ready to eat this week!  If you didn’t know, plaintains go through different ripening stages from green to yellow to black and the taste continues to sweeten through each phase (black being sweetest).

I stumbled across this recipe for baked plaintains.  With flavors of cumin, chile powder and fresh cilantro you know that this was something that totally caught my eye!

I used 2 tblsp veg oil, about 1 tsp cumin & chile powder plus about 1 tblsp chopped fresh cilantro.

Before 20 minutes in a 350F oven

To go with the plaintains I cooked up some local sweet potatoes from my adventure with the Farm to Family bus!  Have you checked out that recap too?  Love the concept, can’t wait to go back for more 😀

Topped with mango salsa & sour cream, obviously we all know that’s one of my fave flava combos!

Last but not least were some gorgeous local, natural chicken breasts I got from Ellwood Thompsons.

I marinated them (about 30 minutes) in a combo of these flavors:

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tblsp fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tblsp chile powder
  • 1 chipotle chili in adobo
  • juice of 1.5 limes
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 tblsp EVOO (unpictured)
  • 1 tblsp water

Then cooked them stove top over medium until done.

Let’s take a look at those plaintains all finished, shall we?

That’s it, I officially am declaring plaintains to be one of my new favorite foods!!!!

Make this, and make it now.  So freaking outta control good these were, salty/spicy/sweet all together in one lil’ bite… my mouth was in heaven 😀

The chicken marinade was fabulous as well, I will definitely use this combo of flavors again. 

Rounded out with the sweetest & most delicious sweet potato ever (’cause it was local? I’m a believer), this dinner was not only seriously fanatastic but also the perfect way to use up items we already had on hand!

Alright and I’m off… tonight is our fave TV night by far and it has been made even better with a new Real Housewives of New Jersey!

I’ll take it 😉

Have a lovely Monday friends.

16 responses to “Plaintain Heaven

  1. Andrew has fried plantains for us a few times and they are AMAZING!!!!! We love ’em!! 🙂

  2. Plantains are one of my favorite things ever.

  3. Plantains are so delicious. I ate a bundle when we were in Jamaica- they made my tummy dance 🙂 Your sweet tato looks so good…I’m having one tonight- cannot wait. I dvr-d real housewives, can’t wait to catch up

  4. cookeatburn

    Hmm… I’ve done regular old salsa on a sweet potato, but I bet with mango salsa it would be even yummier! And those plantains? MMMMMMMM. 🙂

  5. Those plantains look amazing. I have only had them once or twice before and it was at Whole Foods.

  6. LOVE plantains! I’ve only had them a couple of times, but really….so so good!

  7. I can’t believe I’ve never had a plantain. Maybe just because I don’t really know what to do with them… I’ll have to try that 🙂

  8. I’ve never tried making my own plantains, but they look amazing! The best ones I’ve had were in Honduras – so delicious!

  9. I LOVE fried platains but they are terrible for you. Your recipe looks like a much healthier alternative!

  10. OMG Loooove plantains. Found your blog through Caitlin’s. Love it 🙂

  11. I have a slightly stupid question for you, but what the heck is the difference between a plantain and a banana? is there a difference? am I just an idiot? Don’t answer that last question.

    anyhoo – your plantains look bomb and I want 5 million in my belly!

  12. I’ve never had plantains but they sound AWESOME!! Especially with a delicious sweet potato- you really can’t go wrong. I’m loving your Mexican food kick 🙂

  13. thehealthyjunky

    I have had plantains, but have never made them myself! They look delicious! Mexican for a week sounds awesome. I LOVE Mexican foods!

  14. I love love love plantains! Took me a while to figure out how the ripen!

  15. Pingback: BBQ Portobello Mushrooms | Feed The Sink

  16. Pingback: Plaintains. Life Changing. « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

