Farmer’s Market in the kitchen

Hey everyone!  Well I’ll just get right to it, since I know we’ve all had a busy week and are ready for the weekend 🙂

Remember all those fabulous farmer’s market finds from yesterday’s after work adventure?  Well tonight was the night to bring them to “life” in the kitchen!

Farmer’s Market find #1:

Fresh black pepper pasta

Holy heaven in a pasta bundle!  This vendor had many different types of fresh pasta bundles for sale, including squid ink which is just so gorgeous but I think I may have to ease into that one 😉

I’m thinkin’ it may be gluten-free too, but I’ll have to follow up on that one.  Update:  they do offer gluten-free options.

For dinner I really wanted to make a pasta dish with a sauce that wouldn’t weigh this pasta down or take away from it’s fresh pepper-ey-ness..

So I came up with some mini-meatballs w/ fresh herbs and a quick throw together tomato sauce!

  • 1/2 lb grass fed local ground beef, doesn’t get any better
  • 1/4 cup bread crumb
  • fresh fennel (herb)
  • 1 egg
  • S&P

To make the mini meatballs I just mixed all the ingredients together and made lil’ 1 inch rounds…

 

Then just added to a hot pan with some cooking spray to brown up and cook most of the way through.

In the meantime I got the sauce started by adding 2 cloves minced garlic to 1 tblsp olive oil for about a minute, then simply a can of Italian tomatoes.

Once the meatballs had browned up I then added them to the warmed sauce, layering on top and bringing to a low simmer (covered) to finish cooking!

I let this simmer away while the rest of dinner was prepared, so easy 😛

Farmer’s Market find #2:

I think this is some sort of baby bok choy, but I can’t remember for the exact name for the life of me?!  I’ll have to ask them when I’m there on Saturday (the beauty of getting produce right from the farmer, no?) 🙂

Washed, chopped and sauteed with a lil’ minced garlic, olive oil and salt & pepper…

Loved this stuff!  The baby bok choy is much softer than your traditional “bok choy” in my opinion.  The texture and flavor were sooooooooo gooooooooood…  good thing I’ll be back at the farmer’s market again on Saturday! 😛

The Man stated upon being served his pasta dinner:  “This has the makings to be one of the best pasta bowls I’ve ever had!”

Verdict?  Outta control good.  This fresh pasta had the most amazing flavor & texture…  the fresh flavors of the meatballs and simple tomato/garlic sauce was perfect topped with some freshly grated Parm!  Loved this dinner 😀

And get excited friends, bc I have some fun things coming up veryyyyy soon that have to do with a fabulous new product that I know you have seen on the blog before!!!! 😉

 

I don’t know that I’ve ever been so happy to say this, but seriously, TGIAF!!!

I am exhausted and in much need of some tv snuggle time with my loves.  Lata gatas.

Enjoy your Thursday night!

9 responses to “Farmer’s Market in the kitchen

  1. Great job on the pasta dish!I totally want to buy some grass fed beef to make for the man. Galaxy granola is so fantastic. I just ran out of my older supply, can’t wait for a new one!

  2. lowandbhold

    I would kill for that pasta. Your dinner looks AMAZING!

  3. Love seeing what you do with all your farmers market finds 🙂 Baby bok choy is one of our favorites!

  4. Wow girl, fresh pasta?! JEALOUS over here! That sounds fabulous!
    Love love baby bok choy! It’s amazing in stir frys!

  5. Something about fresh local products makes food so much better. I’ve never cooked with bok choy. Love the mini meatballs!

  6. cookeatburn

    Black pepper pasta? OMGoodness I need it now! That really does look like some amazing spaghetti!

  7. Nice farmers’ market finds lady! I love baby bok choy – like you said, the texture is softer and all around better. 🙂

    TGIF – I’m excited to visit my farmers’ market tomorrow.

    P

  8. that pasta sounds awesome! I just emailed the company 🙂 That’s one thing I haven’t found here – a local pasta company.

  9. I’ve never had Bok Choy! I’d love to try it – it’s so fun to say (clearly I’m 9 years old).

    I’m jealous of that granola! All of the flavors sound delicious, and I love how much “lighter” it seems than regular granola.

    Happy Friday, girl!

Leave a Reply

