Chilly Rainy Night Dinner

Hola!  Glad all of you friends are enjoying the Galaxy Granola Giveaway and if you haven’t checked it out, go for it 😛

Well the dinner plan tonight was to include some local bone-in pork chops from Abundant Life Farm, purchased at the farmer’s market this past weekend.

I bought these last year as well and must say that they were superb, so I was looking forward to having them again!

And since today has been a cool & somewhat rainy day I decided that I’d fall back on some “cool weather” flavors for tonight’s meal.

Enter:

Stand-in pic from last time around

Cranberry chutney, apples & onion.  You may have seen this before a few months ago 😉

It was just so good it had to be done again!  But I think I changed things up just a bit this time around…

Saute 1 onion & 1 apple (sliced thin) plus some S&P  in 1 tblsp coconut oil until tender & glossy (about 8 minutes over medium)

Remove from pan and add seasoned (S&P) pork chops to pan, crank up temp to med-high to get a nice sear on each side (about 3 minutes each).

Then add apple/onion mixture back to pan, spoon in 3/4 jar of chutney, turn down to medium-low and cover for another 5 minutes or so until cooked through.

To go with the pork I sauteed up a quick veggie blend of squash and onions seasoned w/ S&P in 1 tsp EVOO, adding fresh basil & thyme towards the end.

Perfect way to end the day 🙂

Now it’s time to catch up on some American Idol, we ditched it for a while but interest is back now that it’s down to the final four!

Besides that, it’s a chilly rainy night here and you’ll find me on the couch snuggled up and cozy 😉

Have a great night friends!

6 responses to “Chilly Rainy Night Dinner

  1. Great meal! You always put such great dishes together. I am watching Idol now too- whose your fav?

  2. Great looking dinner!! I am not a pork chop fan….but this looks delish!!

    I hope you are enjoying your idol 😉

    XXOO

  3. My uncle loves pork chop + apples, so whenever I see it I think of him! He’d love this, and I’m all over that yummy looking squash side dish 🙂 Happy hump day girl!!

  4. savoringsarah

    Oh dang I bet that pork was outta control tasty. I am always amazed at the difference in taste, texture, etc between mass produced meat vs locally raised. I seriously cannot stomach the standard grocery store fare anymore!

  5. Holy yum,lady! Your meal looks fantastic!

    I didn’t start watching this season of Idol from the beginning and I have a hard time jumping in mid-season. I heard last nights performances were great though. 🙂

  6. love the looks of your local pork! your sides are amazing as well, looks like a fantastically balanced meal!

Leave a Reply

